We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aoba Japanese Restaurant

Aoba Japanese Restaurant
20921 Davenport Dr, Sterling, VA 20165-6156
703-430-1234
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 209 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great place for a meal. I'm not a sushi person, but they have plenty of selection for those of us who prefer their food cooked. My husband tells me their sushi is fabulous and I can attest to their excellent preparation of teriyaki entrees! Friendly and quick service with good atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Our favorite sushi spot in the area (and beyond, really...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Since moving into the NoVa area, we've been on the hunt for reasonable, fresh sushi and so far, Aoba is a solid hit. You can find cheaper and you can find more extravagant but for us, we never have to wait and the fish and rolls are delicious. Service is impeccable as well - the servers and the chefs remember (and greet) all their locals...

We haven't ventured into DC for Nobu-esque dining, but compared to the numerous strip-mall establishments from here to Alexandria we've tried, we're happy with Aoba...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Loudoun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have followed the owner/sushi chef, Jay, of this restaurant from his now closed Naruto in Ashburn to Aoba. I am a frequent traveler to Japan and can say that Jay provides the best sushi and value that I have had in Loudoun.

The fish is always fresh. Sushi is never cheap, but Jay cuts the largest pieces for the nigiri sushi, which makes Aoba a good value. In addition to the usual stuff, he usually has some kind of toro and madai (Japanese red snapper). Weekends he has a great selection of interesting items (e.g., live scallop). The unagi and anago (eel) are better than anything I have had outside Japan (including pricier sushi places in DC).

The staff is very friendly also. They also do a brisk take-out business. My wife and I have an annual catered holiday party for about 100 people. In addition to the catered food, the last couple of years I have had Jay make a couple of trays of sushi. The first year it was gone in about five minutes, so I ordered more this past year; it didn't last very long either.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carrollton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Aoba has some of the best sushi around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My first visit here was in July 2011. My husband and I were moving in nearby. We were able to walk in at 730 pm and get seated. Unfortunately, they are between 2 larger restaurants in a strip mall. We chose to come here because it was quiet and relaxed. The service here was great. You are greeted immediately, and sat ASAP.
It is the only place I've ever seen that has DEEP FRIED SUSHI! If you go, TRY IT! I know, that's so "American" of me, but trust me, it's a good savory meal.
The prices are consistent with the area. We can get 4 sushi rolls an appetizer, and each roll comes with Miso Soup - still pay between 40-50. Coming from the DC area, this same meal would be much more expensive closer to the city.
Try it. you'll fall in love.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“More than Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I enjoy sushi occasionally, but it's not a favorite with me.

Having Yakitori, ( grilled chicken threaded on a skewer ), reminds me of the stands outside the train stations when I lived in Japan several years ago. It's a great appetizer.

And Aoba did a wonderful job with the Shrimp and Vegetable Tempura. Presentation is important in any cuisine, and the tower of crisp, lightly battered shrimp looked like a Teepee crowned with an onion ring. The taste fulfilled the promise.

The entree was accompanied by soup, salad, and a bit of seasoned tofu.

I chose a large bottle of Japanese beer, Kirin Ichiban, my favorite.

"Ichiban" means "Number One". The service was as great as the food and Aoba was Number One for me.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aoba Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Aoba Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aoba Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.