We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over-rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked - CLOSED

Hooked
RT 7 & Cascades Pkwy, Sterling, VA 20164
(703) 421-0404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 7 & Cascades Parkway
D.C.
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

i read good reviews of Hooked. Been there twice --- both times were a let down. over priced drinks. food okay not great. service good. location horrible. spend your money somewhere else. if want seafood, drive extra 20 mins to Passion Fish in Reston, or 40 mins to Black Salt.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    20
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Gnats everywhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had cocktails, ordered a bottle of wine, had some sushi and apps but ultimately had to leave bc the gnats were quite disgusting. We moved table hoping that would help but the gnats seemed to be everwhere. I think the issue was there was a banquet going on outside and management let the doors open, terrible idea. When we informed them we'd be paying our bill and not enjoying the full dinner bc of the plethora of gnats they did nothing but offer an apology, and by "they" I mean our waitress, I guess she was too scared to tell management.

The sad part is the sushi was pretty darn good! I had toro, tuna, octopus and escolar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Getting better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Food has always been good, but the service has been so terrible that we stopped going for a long time. They seem to have been responding to negative comments about their service when we tried it again recently.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not as good as reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice hostess met us, but waiter was unfriendly, and slow to bring water, and brought salad after entree. Decent happy hour and drinks. The recommended dishes on the menu were mostly deep fried tempura. The crispy shrimp was unbelievably greasy. You had to remove the coating to eat. Both the calamari and crispy shrimp came with mayonaise based sauces, which really made it more rich. Why not marinara or asian sauce with calamari, and a chili lemongrass with shrimp. Caesar salad was very good. Desserts were disappointing as well. Cheesecake was brown on the edges and clearly old. Cookies a la mode were not a la mode. 2 cookies on one plate and a ball of ice cream on another. Why call it a la mode. The specialty rolls were hit or miss. The PGA roll was very good but couldn't taste the tempura flakes, which would have given it a nice crunch. Thee tuna draped on top was very warm, which seemed unusual.
An attractive dining area, but definitely not worth going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro Area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Freshest, Most Inventive and Tasty Sushi Rolls in NOVA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love sushi; I'm always on the hunt for a great spot that has high-quality sushi rolls and sashimi. I first tried Hooked in the winter of 2011 and loved it immediately.

The fish is flown in daily, so very fresh. Rolls and sashimi come out proper temperature: not too cold, not warm. The rolls are both copious in filling and size as well as inventive: two of my favorites were the Inner Harbor (cucumber, avocado topped with jumbo lump crab and old bay mustard sauce) and Waikiki Roll (coconut shrimp, cucumber and avocado with sliced mango on top. served with a citrus marmalade) until I had to go gluten-free. Jalapeno popper roll ( tempura shrimp and avocado topped with spicy tuna, jalapeño slice and spicy aioli) was also excellent (but again not GF). There are however numerous others that more than fit the bill.

This past week a friend and I were super hungry and went a bit overboard (see pictures below to see how much two skinny girls ate) and ordered 3 different types of traditional rolls (spicy yellowtail, alaska, california) as well as Sunrise (spicy shrimp and crab, topped with salmon, avocado and thinly sliced lemons, scallions and red tobiko), PGA (spicy tuna, tempura flakes, strips of tuna and avocado on top), and Volcano Roll (tuna, cucumber, cream cheese topped with avocado and a warm, baked seafood dynamite).

All of the rolls were delicious, but I have to say, the volcano roll was truly exceptional. It came out a little after the others and at first bite, my eyes crossed in heavenly surprise. It was a true explosion of flavors! My friend chuckled and exclaimed, 'that good, eh?" and then she took one. Her reaction was just as dramatic. Those rolls did not last long on the artfully-arranged plate.

We stuffed ourselves and had to still bring rolls home.

Service has always been excellent at both bar and in restaurant. They have awesome happy hour specials that change daily. The dirty fries are amazing-just be sure to not be on a first date because unless you're warding off vampires, they're pretty garlicky (in a yummy way). Their tacos (fish and chicken) are excellent as is the coconut shrimp.

The decor is ultra-modern and trendy. They use Dyson hand dryers in the bathrooms (which is honestly pretty cool). Great fire-pit and outdoor area.

Make sure you call-ahead for a table (not sure if they take reservations); the place is hopping in a good way!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.