We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked

Hooked
RT 7 & Cascades Pkwy, Sterling, VA 20164
(703) 421-0404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 204 restaurants in Sterling
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 7 & Cascades Parkway
New jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not as good as reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice hostess met us, but waiter was unfriendly, and slow to bring water, and brought salad after entree. Decent happy hour and drinks. The recommended dishes on the menu were mostly deep fried tempura. The crispy shrimp was unbelievably greasy. You had to remove the coating to eat. Both the calamari and crispy shrimp came with mayonaise based sauces, which really made it more rich. Why not marinara or asian sauce with calamari, and a chili lemongrass with shrimp. Caesar salad was very good. Desserts were disappointing as well. Cheesecake was brown on the edges and clearly old. Cookies a la mode were not a la mode. 2 cookies on one plate and a ball of ice cream on another. Why call it a la mode. The specialty rolls were hit or miss. The PGA roll was very good but couldn't taste the tempura flakes, which would have given it a nice crunch. Thee tuna draped on top was very warm, which seemed unusual.
An attractive dining area, but definitely not worth going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    30
    22
    20
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro Area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Freshest, Most Inventive and Tasty Sushi Rolls in NOVA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love sushi; I'm always on the hunt for a great spot that has high-quality sushi rolls and sashimi. I first tried Hooked in the winter of 2011 and loved it immediately.

The fish is flown in daily, so very fresh. Rolls and sashimi come out proper temperature: not too cold, not warm. The rolls are both copious in filling and size as well as inventive: two of my favorites were the Inner Harbor (cucumber, avocado topped with jumbo lump crab and old bay mustard sauce) and Waikiki Roll (coconut shrimp, cucumber and avocado with sliced mango on top. served with a citrus marmalade) until I had to go gluten-free. Jalapeno popper roll ( tempura shrimp and avocado topped with spicy tuna, jalapeño slice and spicy aioli) was also excellent (but again not GF). There are however numerous others that more than fit the bill.

This past week a friend and I were super hungry and went a bit overboard (see pictures below to see how much two skinny girls ate) and ordered 3 different types of traditional rolls (spicy yellowtail, alaska, california) as well as Sunrise (spicy shrimp and crab, topped with salmon, avocado and thinly sliced lemons, scallions and red tobiko), PGA (spicy tuna, tempura flakes, strips of tuna and avocado on top), and Volcano Roll (tuna, cucumber, cream cheese topped with avocado and a warm, baked seafood dynamite).

All of the rolls were delicious, but I have to say, the volcano roll was truly exceptional. It came out a little after the others and at first bite, my eyes crossed in heavenly surprise. It was a true explosion of flavors! My friend chuckled and exclaimed, 'that good, eh?" and then she took one. Her reaction was just as dramatic. Those rolls did not last long on the artfully-arranged plate.

We stuffed ourselves and had to still bring rolls home.

Service has always been excellent at both bar and in restaurant. They have awesome happy hour specials that change daily. The dirty fries are amazing-just be sure to not be on a first date because unless you're warding off vampires, they're pretty garlicky (in a yummy way). Their tacos (fish and chicken) are excellent as is the coconut shrimp.

The decor is ultra-modern and trendy. They use Dyson hand dryers in the bathrooms (which is honestly pretty cool). Great fire-pit and outdoor area.

Make sure you call-ahead for a table (not sure if they take reservations); the place is hopping in a good way!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great sushi, seafood and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the place for excellent sushi and seafood. The food is consistently excellent and is one of our favorites in the area. They also always have great staff. Keaga served us this time. He was very helpful and knowledgeable about menu items and tastes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood selection, super preparation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We're frequent customers and are never disappointed, but this visit was especially remarkable....

I've been a sashimi fan for years; the cost usually seems unfair, but I splurge on occasion. I decided before arriving for our umpteenth visit to Hooked that I was going to "splurge." I was pleased to read the details of the entrée - all sashimi, lots of it, and under $22. It --- was --- great! At least three thick, large, pieces each of multiple choices (chosen by the chef based on availability) were served with the usual accompaniments.
The service has reached a new level (Keegan is a new hire and knows his craft well) and though busy on a Friday evening, we never felt like we "waited" for service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“CALAMARI WAS EXCELLENT!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We started with a mojito and it was not the best we have had. Now the calamari was really good and would definitely order it again. I ordered the fish tacos as I wasn't that hungry. The tortillas were not very tasty, but the fish was nice. My wife had the Inner Harbor roll and she really liked it.

This was our second time to Hooked and will come back, just wont order the fish tacos again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

 
Gainesville, Prince William County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.