We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strip all sushi artistry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked - CLOSED

Hooked
RT 7 & Cascades Pkwy, Sterling, VA 20164
(703) 421-0404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 7 & Cascades Parkway
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Strip all sushi artistry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A pleasant surprise to find fresh, creatively prepared sashimi and unique rolls in this location. Was very glad we tried it. Mediocre service in a modern dining area.
I see people complaining about price and value in their reviews but for the sushi there the prices are average. In fact we noticed the rolls had been American sized and seemed 15% larger than average!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    20
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great sushi!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

An upscale seafood restaurant. We ate here when is was located in its original tiny location and came just for the sushi. So fresh. So good. High quality. Not cheap, but you do get what you pay for. We go for special occasions. Service is very prompt and pleasant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

i like to keep my reviews as positive as possible but this one will be tough. Let me start by saying that I had not heard good things about Hooked from friends who had been there but decided to try it anyway. A good fish restaurant is hard for me to resist. Comments such as "very expensive for what you get" and "average service with OK surroundings" should have clued me in. Our dinning experience was very average and if you take into consideration the higher cost of the meals, it was below average in my view. The saving grace was the outside dinning area. We had a lovely night with an outside fire pit and water feature. In this particular case, I should have listened to my friends. A final few words... this place has a lot of potential.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon, virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fab Sushi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing sushi bar dinner last weekend. First, I understand the reviews about the food. After four dinners in the dining room, there is a common undercurrent of marginal. At least it's not BAD food, just, well, meh.

The sushi bar has of course fast service. This sushi is truly the freshest and tastiest I've ever had! A warm sake that tasted like heaven and a cold yummy smooth sake paired perfectly.

This restaurant has the best contemporary decor of all I've seen in Northern Virginia. The colors, elements, and perfect lighting and trendy accents play up the flowing layout and high ceiling. I can't wait to go back to the s.b. and then hang out on the patio for the live music.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Food was fair, nothing great. Expensive. Interior is very nice. It is a shame that their cooking is out done by the atmosphere. Good spot for drinks...you may want to eat somewhere else though.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.