We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Family Drive-In

The Family Drive-In
5890 Valley Pike (US Rt. 11 South), Stephens City, VA 22655
(540) 665-6982
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Luray, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Family night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My boys LOVE this place! They thought it was so cool that we could sit outside & watch a movie on the back of our truck. We will be going back many times in the future :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't let this piece of Americana Disappear!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Although we have not had the pleasure of catching a movie here yet this season, we did take our kids to see the Planet of the Apes film last year before they closed for the season and really enjoyed the whole experience. The snack bar took me right back to my childhood and the sense of community - with all the trucks and vans full of families and young people - was wonderful. The picture quality is not the best early in the evening when it isn't completely dark yet, and the sound is not what you might be used to from indoor theaters, but go for the greater experience and you will have fun! As the name suggests, it is a family atmosphere. I have read about the possibility that they may have to close in the future if they cannot afford the equipment needed to make the switch to new film format, but I hope that this does not shut them down, as that would be a shame.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What fun! You can't get this experience in many places anymore. I last went to the drive-in 25 years ago. My wife and I finally took our 5 year old to The Family Drive-In and had a blast. Didn't realize at the time that the entrance price included a double-feature. The admission price was very reasonable - especially for 2 movies. Get there early though; it seems to fill up fairly quickly. I cannot comment about the concessions as we had dinner right before the movie and did not buy anything. They play two movies at opposite ends at the same time. Overall, it is just a great "old-time" experience and is very much worth the trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old-timey Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Family drive-In is great fun! The show pretty current movies on a regular basis (movies usually change weekly). For half the price of your neighborhood multiplex you get 2! first run movies. Bring a blanket to stay warm.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“old fashion fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

concession food not good but we enjoyed ourself. the movie was a current one and we could see the screen very well. we didnt stay for second feature because of rain but we would go back again

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Family Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to The Family Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Family Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Family Drive-In to your Saves list