We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a beautiful mountain retreat certain to relax body, mind, and spirit with impeccable service & superb amenities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful mountain retreat certain to relax body, mind, and spirit with impeccable service & superb amenities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I spent a wonderful autumn weekend in the Shenandoahs at The Inn at Vaucluse Springs. We loved the historical aspects of the inn and its surroundings, the spring and outdoor features are nature at its most beautiful, the food was outstanding, and the owners and staff offer just the right combination of friendly interaction and respect for their guests' need for quiet space. Overall, this is one of the very best B&B's we've stayed at, and highly recommend it to those in need of a restful, peaceful refuge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
426
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The room was attractive and restful. We enjoyed the afternoon lemonade and cookies.
Breakfast was amazing--wonderful food and thoughtful service. Everyone was very kind and friendly.
The common areas were very inviting, and attractively decorated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My wife and I made our first trip to the Inn at Vaucluse Spring in 1998 and have been going back ever since. Every time, the experience has been wonderful. With a number of different rooms available in different buildings, we have not stayed in all of them yet but have seen all of them and each is its own unique experience. Everyone is pampered from the moment of check-in to departure. In the food department, they continue to raise the bar from one that was set very high during our first stay. We just experienced their five-course meal on Saturday night and I would rate it up with some of the finest meals I have had around the world. We will continue to be "regulars."

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

So as you can read, "Amazing" comes to mind when writing about our stay at Vaucluse Springs.

We stayed in the main house, upstairs which was a great spot when taking advantage of the awesome porch and rocking chairs in the backyard. The room itself was nice and very spacious. Bathroom is a bit small and a two-person jacuzzi would have been nice but the bed was comfortable (Full Size).

But really this review is about the food. Chef Adam is an incredible talent who will be doing some great things in his career so if you have the chance to take advantage of his skills in the kitchen at a traditional B+B - do it!

For $60, you get a 5-course meal that is straight out of a 5-star restaurant. This is a creative menu with great flavor profile. The braised pork belly was delicious. The crabcake was meaty and every sauce that accompanied every course was intensely flavored that paired perfectly.

Oh and did I mention the fresh-baked pretzels with guinness butter?

The best part is that Adam also makes breakfast in the morning so you are in for another treat. Even his fruit salads were done with a twist. And of course, fresh-baked muffins.

So when booking, make sure you stay on a Saturday night so you can experience dinner and with $18 corkage bring your own special wine although their wine list was nice and affordable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We've stayed at the Inn twice now and are looking at it as a location for our wedding and reception. The innkeepers, Barry and Neil, are so warm and welcoming and both have a wonderful sense of humor. Each room is different and cozy, and there is a room for every budget (without compromising quality). The food is absolutely amazing - the Chef, Adam, is excellent. Each staff member we came in contact with was pleasant and went out of their way to help us. The property is well maintained and the Inn is perfect for a quiet, weekend getaway. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I were married at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring this past June. We could not have imagined a more tranquil and stunning location for our wedding reception – nor could we have imagined more caring, welcoming and wonderful innkeepers than Barry and Neil. Whether for a quiet weekend away – or for a larger celebration – the Inn at Vaucluse Spring is truly a gem…

The Inn at Vaucluse Spring is just over an hour’s drive from DC – but it feels worlds away from the hustle of city life. We first visited the Inn in the winter of 2009, and talked with Barry about the possibility of holding our wedding at Vaucluse Spring. We immediately felt a strong connection to the place – the historic buildings are at once impressive, but also warm and inviting. And Barry made us feel instantly at home.

Vaucluse Spring is unique in that the guest rooms are spread out in a number of different structures, each with its own unique personality and style – providing visitors with plenty of space and privacy. For our wedding, it provided a village atmosphere for our family and friends to all stay together for a weekend away. The grounds (including Neil’s beautiful gardens) are also spectacular, and perfectly maintained – as is the wonderful pool.

And of the utmost importance to us – the food! Each morning at breakfast, Neil and her staff provide the most amazing breakfasts – featuring local, fresh ingredients (many straight from Neil’s gardens). Gorgeous fruit, the most wonderful baked breads and muffins, eggs with fantastic hot sauce (and on our wedding weekend, the most amazing bacon!). Barry and Neil also do great dinners – showcasing great local Virginia wines (like the award-winners from Linden Vineyards).

All our wedding guests continue to rave about how beautiful our wedding was – and we owe so much of that to the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. It made our celebration really magical, and one we'll never forget. And while the beauty and delightful aesthetic of the Inn is remarkable -- it is the innkeepers that make Vaucluse a truly special place and guarantee your experience will be as close to perfect as can be expected. We look forward to spending many, many more weekends sitting on the Manor House porch looking out at the Shenandoah in the years to come!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We recently stayed at the Vaucluse Inn and had a wonderfully relaxing, peaceful and rejuvenating stay. The grounds are impeccable as are the rooms, cottages and common areas. The food and hospitality is unsurpassed. We talked, napped, dreamed and laughed until we cried. It's truly a bit of heaven in Stephens City, VA and I will forever cherish the memories of my stay.

I arrived there with my highschool sweetheart and realized during my stay that, after decades apart, he has been my only one true love. That is the magic of the Vaucluse Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.