We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year's Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We have stayed at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring four times; three for the New Year's Eve get-togethers (including our last stay December 30th-January 1). It is hard to say where I should begin. Every thing about The Inn is super, from the owners, to the staff,to the rooms,to the food and atmosphere. I could write several pages about how enjoyable it is to stay here. The owners see to one's every need and provide a warm, relaxing and entertaining experience. The food coming from the chefs in the kitchen is all one could ask for and the staff service is the finest I have seen any where. They are warm, friendly, yet professional and seem to really enjoy being there. We stayed in The Randolph Room, located on the 2nd story of the Main House and enjoyed it very much. We have also stayed downstairs in the winter kitchen area (Barton Room) and in the Chumley Suite at the Chumley House. Whether there is just the one couple or a group, The Inn has accomodations to fit every one's needs. If the owners will allow us back, we will return this coming New Year's Eve!

  • Liked — Every thing was superb
  • Disliked — No bowling alley
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
416
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in early January. The inn and grounds are beautiful. Historic sites and the city of Winchester are within close driving distance. The room was comfortable with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Food at breakfast was excellent and ambiance was fantastic. We were able to sit in front of the fireplace with a newspaper and good coffee. We loved every minute of our stay.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We enjoyed every facet of our stay at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. We stayed in the Cabin per the advice of the Innkeeper and we were happy we took the advice. Our goal was to get away and relax and the location was perfectly suited to allow us that time. No TVs or other electronics to distract - just a fireplace, books, and charming atmosphere.

We had two nights worth of wonderful meals with a very pleasant conversation with Michelle our hostess/server. The breakfasts were a nice balance of different tastes that all pleased the pallate.

We'll be back!

  • Liked — It's quiet and unhurried
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stay at inns and B&B's quite often, primarily using the Select Registry a a starting point and guide. We had one in Vermont that we had always considered the best from service and comfort view, but the Inn at Vaucluse Spring has now topped that. The room we had was delightful (we also peaked at several others and liked those as well), large and airy with very high ceilings and a fireplace. The owners Barry and Neil we very welcoming and gracious and clearly made one feel at home. The grounds are well kept up. We also had dinner there Friday and Saturday, the only two days they serve dinner, and the food and service were both excellent, along with the wine list. Overall, we would highly recommend the Inn.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — poor wifi
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetotravel11111
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We decided to run off and elope on New Years Day this year and wanted to get away for the night to some place "off the beaten track". The Inn at Vaucluse Spring was the perfect place. Everything from the room to the food to the staff turned out to be above and beyond our expectations. When I made the reservation, Neil helped me out by suggesting places to eat on New Years Day (when many restaurants are closed). It turns out the staff at the Inn made dinner that night which we thoroughly enjoyed (delicious!). Our room was beautiful-- it had our own private patio, jacuzzi tub, and gas fireplace (the Margaret Room). Everyone at the Inn is so relaxed and my now husband and I cannot wait to return for years to come. Thank you, Neil and Barry (the Innkeepers)!

  • Liked — The atmosphere-- very calm and relaxing
  • Disliked — Having to leave after only one night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

This is the only Bed and Breakfast Inn (B&B) to win our hearts for a second and a third visit. For 27 years we've enjoyed staying at a countless number of B&Bs in search of the perfect getaway. Our search continues but we can honestly say that The Inn at Vaucluse Spring is as close to perfect as we have found. When we want to leave nothing to chance we depend on Neil and Barry to think of everything. This last visit we mentioned our parents would be lost without a TV and we thought we might want to play cards to pass the time. When we arrived, a card table with chairs was in the Winter Kitchen outside our rooms, in front of a beautiful fire. It's this attention to detail that sets them apart. Their southern hospitality plus gourmet meals, exquisite decor, and incredible mountain views keep calling us back. We will continue our search for perfection but till then The Inn at Vaucluse Spring is the next best thing.

Jim and Candy Grueff
Rockville, MD

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

My wife and I just stayed at the Cabin on the Pond, a beautiful house on the property, for our 6-mo. wedding anniversary. Wow! We had stayed at Vaucluse before (and loved it!), but this cabin was incredible. Authentic, beautiful, serene. Wonderful for letting the cares of the world slip by. Sipping wine by the fireplace, sitting in the rockers on the porch, it was superb. The breakfast was outstanding, very professionally done. And the innkeepers were warm, friendly, and attended to every detail. I don't know what else to say positively... it was just a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list