We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush Beauty and Serenity at this B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lush Beauty and Serenity at this B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the aroma of baked cookies! And Neil – one half of the best B&B owners ever! We sat on the back porch in rockers and just ‘listened’ to the quiet and took in the beauty of the lush grounds while we waited no more than 5 minutes for the key to our weekend Shangri-la. We stayed in The Mill House for the weekend. Our house came complete with a stream and small waterfall. The Mill House has everything. This house invites you to try your hand at sketching. Don’t pass up the chance to leave your Renoir, Jones or Andersen!
We had dinner at Vaucluse prepared by Chef Adam (and his A(Adam) team). The meal was delicious. From the soup to dessert, every bite was delicious. Please do not pass the opportunity to enjoy a dinner prepared by this Chef (we are hoping he won’t leave soon)! Oh and don’t forget to kiss the chef (on the way to your comfortable room). Barry (the other ½ of the B&B owner(s) is charming, witty and has a way with his guests! The V (Vaucluse)-team is awesome! There is Angela and John (who will make sure and ensure that you have everything you need for breakfast(s) and dinner(s). They are as professional as they are fun. The V-Team is the most relaxed, welcoming, fun, and dedicated team you ever want to know and meet.
From sun-down to sun-up this B&B knows how to take care of you, in the best way(s) possible. We will go back soon. A wonderful Virginia find! Try this B&B Inn at Vaucluse, you won’t be sorry. A truly memorable B&B.

Room Tip: Any room/house on this property would be outstanding. The V-team WANT you to come back and go out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
428
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GREENVILLE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful B & B experience. It began with driving onto the grounds, continued with greeting and welcoming from Neil and Barry. The accommodations exceeded our expectations, and the morning breakfasts' were a culinary delight. My only regret is that we did not make plans to have dinner at the inn on one or both nights; we had an opportunity to see the menu from Saturday nights 5 course dinner, we won't make the same mistake the next time we return. We stayed in the Chumley suite which was perfect, and also had the opportunity to view other accommodations and every one was perfectly appointed.
Truly should be rated #1 in all of Shenandoah Valley if not the state of Virginia.

Mel and Sue from Greenville, NC

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are so many great reviews for this inn! Not surprising, this is one more. My wife and I chose to stay at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring for our 3rd anniversary. The inn offered us comfort, relaxation, and a chance to enjoy a truly romantic time together. Barry and Neil have provided everything you need. The accommodations are wonderful, the grounds are picturesque, and the whole place has an extremely inviting and special quality. The best thing - the meal! We had the most amazing meal on Saturday night. The multiple course experience was one of the best of my life. Stay here - you won't regret it! Just book now!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Neil welcomed us back in time to her lovely inn. Stayed in the main house - just like being a plantation owner. High ceilings, wooden floors and rockers on the porch. Ian, the chef, served up hearty breakfasts and showed a deft touch at dinner with a divine carrot and ginger soup and sublime salmon. Barry sent on our way with an exhortation to visit the air and space museum if we had time to spare at Dulles airport - good tip, great museum.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are spacious with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As others have written, The Inn at Vaucluse Spring is a true get-away B&B retreat. Although just a few minutes from the I-81/I-66 highway interchange, you'd think you'd removed yourself completely from the "DC lifestyle." Barry and Neil met us at the door on arrival with a "welcome home" greeting and it only got better from there. We were a last minute booking and rather than having the routine "room that wouldn't sell" a traveler normally gets, to be honest, we think there isn't a bad choice--only options. Every guest was very pleased & the return clientele paints a quick picture this is a relationship for the proprietors, not merely a stay for their guests. The staff is spectacular & we got to know them throughout the day & the Saturday night dinner. Do yourself a big favor & book the exceptional dinner at Vaucluse Spring. The 6-course Saturday dinner served by their superb staff alone would make you come back. They keep it very private yet as "fun" as you care to make it. The owners & staff go out of their way to tend to your every need while giving you as much space & privacy as you care for. Every room is immaculately decorated & don't let the "historic" part let you think it is rustic On the contrary, Barry & Neil have produced a first-class B&B with just enough of the old charm coming through. The guests mingle freely and in short order, you've made friends with the owners, the staff and those staying. As we departed we agreed there wasn't a single thing they missed in catering to their guests. Simply put, we'll be back as soon as we can find a space on our calendar! Well done Vaucluse Spring!

Room Tip: It's just a matter of being in the main house or in one of the nearby cabins. We found staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All the pleasures of a great inn can be found at Vaucluse Spring. Barry greeted us when we arrived, and we were moved into our room within minutes. Friendly guests later directed us to Neil's fabulous chocolate cookies and iced tea while we were debating where to eat dinner.
The Jones room was marvelous--fireplace, view, comfortable chairs--and the bathroom was to die for! After a DC hotel bathroom where there was no room to put our clothes down, the Jacuzzi tub, separate room with toilet, huge sink area, and dresser (yes, in the BATHROOM!) almost made me weep with delight.

Breakfast was overwhelming--After the first two courses, a fabulous muffin and what tasted to me like a fruit crisp, I was full and could only eat part of my corn omelette! The second morning we had to leave early and went with continental breakfast--beautifully arranged fruit and a fantastic scone with peach preserves.

I was a little worried initially that we would hear other guests coming and going at night, but I heard other people only once, and both rooms appeared to be in use.

Barry warned us that the Wi-Fi might be sketchy, but to our surprise, it was better than what we have at home, both in the lobby and in our room!

This inn reminded me why, pre-kid, I used to stay at bed and breakfasts every chance I got. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The Jones room was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our first time at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring was for a wedding 11 years ago and we returned back last week for a 2 day getaway . First, Neil was so welcoming when we arrived and even offered us cookies right out of the oven. She spent time orienting us to the area and to options for hiking in Shenandoah. Then we had the 5 course dinner with Chef Adam which was beyond amazing and very romantic as we were the only ones in the dining room. Breakfasts were equally amazing.

Overall, the experience was homey without being intrusive and just right for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.