We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for the Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5 stars for the Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

We have now stayed here during leaf peeping season for 4 years in a row and we are booked for next year. We stay at either the mill or the cabin. It is always wonderful. No detail is overlooked! The hosts are wonderful folks and the wait staff is always friendly and efficient.

We stay on Friday/Saturday because of the dinners that Neil prepares. It is a light , informal supper on Fridays and a sort of dressy caual affair on Saturday. These feasts are outstanding! Two veggies that I dislike intensely are beets and sweet potatoes. She served both in a side dish and I actually ate the stuff and enjoyed it! To say that I was impressed is understating it.

This place is our favorite decompression place. It will be yours too.

  • Liked — Food and rooms
  • Disliked — There is nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    26
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
437
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My wife and I spend last weekend at the inn and we couldn't have been happier. We've done a lot of travel, both domestically and internationally, and this inn is a good as they get. I slept like a log and it was only the thought of missing the inn's delightful breakfast that finally got me out of bed. Your hunt for the perfect in should stop here. Call them now to book.

  • Liked — The grounds, accommodations, views, staff and food.
  • Disliked — WiFi connectivity was a little slow.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

My wife and I have traveled the US and Europe for 30 years and prefer to stay in B&Bs whenever we can. In 1996 we stayed at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring for the first time. Since then we have returned whenever we are in Virginia or Washington DC. The property has continued to expand but the atmosphere continues to be historic and romantic. The hosts, the Meyers are two of the most wonderful people we have very met and we always look forward to seeing them again. The manor house has been restored and is probably more beautiful than it was in 1800. The other accommodations are of equal beauty. Then when you step outside you will be at peace with the huge spring that is on the property. It is all wonderful. Barry G Stearns

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Beautiful Bed and Breakfast outside of Winchester, Va. The rooms in the upstairs of the Inn which is from the early 1800's have been totally redone with private baths and gorgeous furniture and fireplaces. I sat on the porch and listened to tree leaves and birds. The breakfasts are lovely and so filling that we didn't have to eat lunch. I only wish we would have been staying on the weekend so that we could have had dinner there. Lots to do in the area or just stay there and read.

  • Liked — beautiful
  • Disliked — no dinner on premises except on weekends
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

There could not have been a more perfect location for our wedding than The Inn at Vaucluse Spring. The rolling hills, quiet breeze, and the babble of the small waterfall at the Millhouse are just about the most perfect conditions for an emotional celebration. Neil and Barry were astounding in their hospitality, every guest commented that they arrived and immediately felt comfortable and at home. Guests wondered the property just staring at the beauty and serenity. We spent the whole weekend with our closest family and friends and to say that it was idyllic would be a vast understatement. We left for our honeymoon feeling as if we had just spent the weekend in some fairyland where everything is as it should be, the weather is perfection, smiles are on everyone’s faces, and laughter fills the spaces between warm greeting and salutation. I would just like to say, Thank you Neil and Barry for a wedding that will live long in the memories of all who attended.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I floated home on a cloud after staying at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring this past weekend (October 11-13th) feeling pampered and relaxed. Everything, from the beautiful room to the sumptuous breakfasts, was just perfect. We were especially impressed by the outstanding service. Michelle, a staff member, was particularly observant and thoughtful with my husband, who often can be a rather picky eater . She even offered to make him plain scrambled eggs when she noticed that he had not finished his plate of heavenly quiche, unlike everyone else, including myself, who had scraped their dish of quiche completely clean! She certainly did not have to offer him anything else, but this small gesture went a long way with him (and he pronounced the plain eggs "the best I've ever tasted").

We had a dreamy weekend sleeping in a ridiculously comfortable bed, spotting a family of deer during a walk on the 100 + acre property, chatting to the friendly and funny inn keepers, cozying up to the double sided fire place, and indulging in the little treats (cider and cookies- yum!) left out during the daily tea time. We are already talking about when we will be back.

  • Liked — the property, food, room, and the service (especially Michelle!)
  • Disliked — everything was delightful
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverson pa.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

If you are looking for walks by a natural spring and delicious meals Vaucluse Inn is the place.The grounds are stunning and the owners and staff are warm and friendly.This was our first time at Vaucluse Inn,but it won`t be our last.

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.