We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 40th Wedding Anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect 40th Wedding Anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

On the drive back home from our four day stay at the Cabin at the Inn, my wife Linda turned to me and said simply, "Perfect". And it was. The Inn, which includes the historic manor house and a number of other out-buildings, is perfectly maintained. The grounds are beautiful. Perfectly maintained gardens are everywhere - especially the numerous herb gardens used for their impeccable meals. Even the huge pasture where the herd of cattle graze has a wonderfully maintained path that takes you to the top of the hill where you can look down on the Inn and then back down to the natural spring. A falcon greeted me at the same time each morning on my walks. It was perfectly quiet and that's why we chose the Cabin with its covered front porch and rocking chairs. We did the 5 course dinner Saturday night for our anniversary. After a wonderful three hour experience, including a trip to the back porch to see the super full moon rising, it felt like we knew everyone in the Inn as friend, especially Neil and Barry, your hosts. So welcoming, and they know how to run an Inn. Between the delicious farm to table breakfasts and our gourmet dinner on Saturday night, we could not have been more satisfied. Wow! On our last day, I had the best breakfast I have ever had in all my years. Even though you are out in the middle of "quiet", you are close - a nice easy drive to - the National Park, great wineries (Linden and Glen Manor are great), Winchester (do the Museum of the Shenandoah) and Front Royal. Like I said, "perfect". The Inn at Vaucluse Spring has a warm and friendly atmosphere, the comfortable Cabin was perfect for our needs, and we look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: The cabin - the front porch is wonderful. You are by yourself, but next to the manor house, pool ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Wow! Thank you for such high praise! We will have to work doubly hard to live up to your words. Thank you for choosing Vaucluse to celebrate such an awesome occasion. Happy Anniversary and many happy returns (of anniversaries and to Vaucluse too). Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    26
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
437
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We are local and did not stay, but had a wonderful dinner on a Friday evening. From our initial phone call through the entire evening, Barry was delightful and accommodating. Their chef adapted the menu to make vegan options for me. Their setting is absolutely beautiful- the home is beautifully restored. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Inn and as we had a friend in from out of town we booked the Mill House for the three of us. It was divine. This was our first time in the Mill House and we loved the space it offered and the setting next to the spring. When having drinks by the spring one evening, our friend remarked he felt as if he were in Giverny, France. As if we needed any added bonus to what the Inn at Vaucluse offers the weather was superb.

We chose to dine Friday night and dinner was, as always, excellent with the most delectible salmon dish. It was also memorable as it made a convert out of one of our party who usually does not eat fish.

Barry and Neil made the entire stay so relaxing (as they always do). They are consummate Innkeepers. We are fortunate to be local (in nearby DC) and we count it as our fortune to have such a wonderful place as the Inn at Vaucluse Spring in order to have a nice weekend away from home.

Having stayed at the Manor twice, plus the Gallery and now the Mill House, we look forward to our next stay being in the cabin which we know to be a favorite of many. But no matter where you stay at the Inn, you cannot go wrong. It's all excellent and first rate!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Drinks and conversation beside the spring on a summer evening, watching the sun go down over the water-- one of the most memorable perks of staying at the Mill House Studio! We're so glad you got to experience this with your friend, and are sure you will really enjoy a stay in the Cabin on the Pond on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our fifth trip to Vaucluse!! This time we stayed in the Chumley House. Very private and enjoyed the pool close by.
We went to Valerie Hill Winery and had a wonderful time......music and a barbque!
Canoed down the Shenadoah River....than went to Rappahannock Winery....joined the wine club....and again enjoyed a cheese tray and nice music.
Also, fit in the Roma Resturant......I love the Mousaka!
Everytime we visit we find a new adventure.....lots of history at this great Inn.....and wonderful Inn keepers and staff!!
PS. Watch out for that fox....he's always along the driveway!

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I know I have written about The Inn before but I have to again. My wife and I stayed in a new "room" this time, the Cabin. It has now become our favorite room of all. The interior is wonderful and the porch and view is beyond my ability to describe. The staff, as always was friendly and couldn't do enough for you. And Chef Adam, again words cannot adequately describe what he produces from the Vaucluse kitchen. You need to go and experience his culinary delights. Finally, Barry and Neil, the owners of the Inn, make you feel like family from the moment you walk in. We have been going for years, and hope to be going for many years more.

Room Tip: All the rooms are worth the trip, but the Cabin is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The sound of the water cascading over the stone wall next the Mill House is just part of the pervasive peace and proximity to nature, that Vaucluse offers. When we drive through its gates, my husband always says, “We’re almost home honey, home to Brigadoon.”
We curl around the gravel path, past five homes, each with its own character, layout and approach to charm, something that imbues every aspect of Vaucluse. When you reach the graceful brick Manor House, you are welcomed by Barry or Neil, the inn’s owners, into a sanctum of warmth, golden light, floor to ceiling windows, and stately rooms that invite you to read, enjoy Neil’s homemade cookies, (served at “tea” from 3-5p.m.), enjoy the fires when it is crisp outside and to wonder at the richness of the colors that surround you.
When we return to the Millhouse, Bob naps and I walk the path parallel to the fence. The cows roam, looking for tall grass and then fall into painterly poses against the bounder strewn slopes. I startle a baby fox, crouched practicing its hunting manoeuvers, who races across the street.
My walk ends in circle eights around the pond and clearing, seeing the minnows leap skyward from the water’s edge and the hill bordering the pond, imbedded with trees and boulders, leading up to the Chumley house, typically filled with families, groups of friends or wedding parties seeking to share time and fun events together.
Dinner and breakfast at Vaucluse are wonderful experiences. Even without the pleasures of exploring the surrounding towns, (Winchester, Shepardstown, Middleburg and Sperryville), the immersion in nature and the delight of savoring exquisite food served in the subtle, calm, beauty of the Manor House, would be more than enough to warrant a stay.
Adam, the chef, brings excitement to carrot soup and makes a mushroom cannolini that almost brought me to public moaning. A pork medallion, suffused with oils, was the best I’d ever had. Every dish was a delectable gift. Neil is in charge of breakfasts, each one beginning with a delicious muffin, scone or cake, followed by a jewel of a fruit presentation, and closing with an egg offering which make me begin to think that a person could create a constantly changing, sumptuous diet based on eggs alone.
The last day always comes too soon. We pull out onto the super highways and gladiator driving, missing Vaucluse already, but knowing that during each visit we are enriched by its beauty, peace and delightful experiences for the senses and the soul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The "Brigadoon of Virginia" -- we love it!! It's just how we feel about it, the many mornings of driving through the grounds shrouded in mists coming off the spring. It truly is magic and we love being able to share it with all our wonderful guests. Thank you so much for your thoughtful description of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Turning into the drive, we knew we had reached a unique destination to which no website could do justice. The impression of the Manor House was so warm and inviting that we changed our earlier booking to stay there and enjoyed thoroughly our accommodation in the Strother Room. Dinner that evening was more than memorable as Chef Adam and Corey prepared and served a five course tasting menu with paired wines that will not soon be forgotten. Breakfast was equally special, as was Neil's visit with each of her guests at table - she made all feel welcome and comfortable. While my wife and I were journeying from TX to NY and had only planned the one night at Vaucluse we were very tempted to alter the schedule and stay another day...we are already planning our next stay!.

Room Tip: Manor House second floor accommodations are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.