We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A specatular weekend at the Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A specatular weekend at the Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Inn and as we had a friend in from out of town we booked the Mill House for the three of us. It was divine. This was our first time in the Mill House and we loved the space it offered and the setting next to the spring. When having drinks by the spring one evening, our friend remarked he felt as if he were in Giverny, France. As if we needed any added bonus to what the Inn at Vaucluse offers the weather was superb.

We chose to dine Friday night and dinner was, as always, excellent with the most delectible salmon dish. It was also memorable as it made a convert out of one of our party who usually does not eat fish.

Barry and Neil made the entire stay so relaxing (as they always do). They are consummate Innkeepers. We are fortunate to be local (in nearby DC) and we count it as our fortune to have such a wonderful place as the Inn at Vaucluse Spring in order to have a nice weekend away from home.

Having stayed at the Manor twice, plus the Gallery and now the Mill House, we look forward to our next stay being in the cabin which we know to be a favorite of many. But no matter where you stay at the Inn, you cannot go wrong. It's all excellent and first rate!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Drinks and conversation beside the spring on a summer evening, watching the sun go down over the water-- one of the most memorable perks of staying at the Mill House Studio! We're so glad you got to experience this with your friend, and are sure you will really enjoy a stay in the Cabin on the Pond on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
472
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our fifth trip to Vaucluse!! This time we stayed in the Chumley House. Very private and enjoyed the pool close by.
We went to Valerie Hill Winery and had a wonderful time......music and a barbque!
Canoed down the Shenadoah River....than went to Rappahannock Winery....joined the wine club....and again enjoyed a cheese tray and nice music.
Also, fit in the Roma Resturant......I love the Mousaka!
Everytime we visit we find a new adventure.....lots of history at this great Inn.....and wonderful Inn keepers and staff!!
PS. Watch out for that fox....he's always along the driveway!

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I know I have written about The Inn before but I have to again. My wife and I stayed in a new "room" this time, the Cabin. It has now become our favorite room of all. The interior is wonderful and the porch and view is beyond my ability to describe. The staff, as always was friendly and couldn't do enough for you. And Chef Adam, again words cannot adequately describe what he produces from the Vaucluse kitchen. You need to go and experience his culinary delights. Finally, Barry and Neil, the owners of the Inn, make you feel like family from the moment you walk in. We have been going for years, and hope to be going for many years more.

Room Tip: All the rooms are worth the trip, but the Cabin is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The sound of the water cascading over the stone wall next the Mill House is just part of the pervasive peace and proximity to nature, that Vaucluse offers. When we drive through its gates, my husband always says, “We’re almost home honey, home to Brigadoon.”
We curl around the gravel path, past five homes, each with its own character, layout and approach to charm, something that imbues every aspect of Vaucluse. When you reach the graceful brick Manor House, you are welcomed by Barry or Neil, the inn’s owners, into a sanctum of warmth, golden light, floor to ceiling windows, and stately rooms that invite you to read, enjoy Neil’s homemade cookies, (served at “tea” from 3-5p.m.), enjoy the fires when it is crisp outside and to wonder at the richness of the colors that surround you.
When we return to the Millhouse, Bob naps and I walk the path parallel to the fence. The cows roam, looking for tall grass and then fall into painterly poses against the bounder strewn slopes. I startle a baby fox, crouched practicing its hunting manoeuvers, who races across the street.
My walk ends in circle eights around the pond and clearing, seeing the minnows leap skyward from the water’s edge and the hill bordering the pond, imbedded with trees and boulders, leading up to the Chumley house, typically filled with families, groups of friends or wedding parties seeking to share time and fun events together.
Dinner and breakfast at Vaucluse are wonderful experiences. Even without the pleasures of exploring the surrounding towns, (Winchester, Shepardstown, Middleburg and Sperryville), the immersion in nature and the delight of savoring exquisite food served in the subtle, calm, beauty of the Manor House, would be more than enough to warrant a stay.
Adam, the chef, brings excitement to carrot soup and makes a mushroom cannolini that almost brought me to public moaning. A pork medallion, suffused with oils, was the best I’d ever had. Every dish was a delectable gift. Neil is in charge of breakfasts, each one beginning with a delicious muffin, scone or cake, followed by a jewel of a fruit presentation, and closing with an egg offering which make me begin to think that a person could create a constantly changing, sumptuous diet based on eggs alone.
The last day always comes too soon. We pull out onto the super highways and gladiator driving, missing Vaucluse already, but knowing that during each visit we are enriched by its beauty, peace and delightful experiences for the senses and the soul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The "Brigadoon of Virginia" -- we love it!! It's just how we feel about it, the many mornings of driving through the grounds shrouded in mists coming off the spring. It truly is magic and we love being able to share it with all our wonderful guests. Thank you so much for your thoughtful description of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Turning into the drive, we knew we had reached a unique destination to which no website could do justice. The impression of the Manor House was so warm and inviting that we changed our earlier booking to stay there and enjoyed thoroughly our accommodation in the Strother Room. Dinner that evening was more than memorable as Chef Adam and Corey prepared and served a five course tasting menu with paired wines that will not soon be forgotten. Breakfast was equally special, as was Neil's visit with each of her guests at table - she made all feel welcome and comfortable. While my wife and I were journeying from TX to NY and had only planned the one night at Vaucluse we were very tempted to alter the schedule and stay another day...we are already planning our next stay!.

Room Tip: Manor House second floor accommodations are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We enjoyed a one night stay in June, 2014. The innkeepers were warm, friendly and helpful. The location is just beautiful! I can't think of a better place to escape the city. The food was amazing!! We truly enjoyed the personalized service of "Dinner With The Chef" . The breakfast was equally delicious. Thank you, Barry and Neil, for you hospitality and support of the local community. As a local educator, I truly appreciate your generosity.

Room Tip: Check out the website. The inn offers a variety of different rooms located at various spots througho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We are senior citizens (well over 70) and experienced travelers. We spent two nights here mid-June 2014 on our 50th Wedding Anniversary road trip in Northern Virginia. Our chosen room reportedly had AC problems, so we were bumped up to the cabin nearest the main house. It was cozy and totally quiet. We had a rich breakfast next morning, but it was in the evening (Thursday) that the five-star chef du cuisine put on a show: amazing cooking, four courses, all original, complex, and about as delicious as it gets. Perfect portions, nothing overdone, and nothing in the least ordinary. The following morning's breakfast was also completely satisfying. The premises are a kind of estate, and its buildings and landscaping are kept up to a fare-thee-well. Neil and Barry host and manage a great and beautiful place, and everything is done to be helpful and useful to the guest (such as, e.g., maps and area guides). We've come here before, and our impression of excellence remains happily unchanged.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any rooms that are not desirable, but we've have only stayed in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.5 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.