We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Vaucluse Spring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inn at Vaucluse Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We loved the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. The accommodations and the setting are wonderful, with the rooms elegant as well as comfortable and relaxing. The range of buildings and rooms is extremely impressive for a comparatively small place. The Saturday night dinner was delightful -- delicious, creative and perfectly sized portions. A perfect wedding anniversary. We plan on coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Chumley home are very nice -- get the one with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
428
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were "first timer's" at the Inn and our intent was to spend a memorable weekend with friends. Our expectations were far exceeded. Both Neil and Barry could not have been more hospitable, the rustic ambience soothing, and the staff simply outstanding. Special kudos to Chef Adam for his exquisite, gourmet meals.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Such a lovely two night stay at this beautiful in. The Inn is outfitted with beautiful paintings and furniture that provide a very intimate experience for the guests. The staff is outstanding, and the Inn owners are warm, humble and terrific at making you feel welcomed. My husband and I had dinner our second night at the Inn. We have had some very special chefs cook for us (a White House Chef, an Ambassadors Chef), this dinner was the most memorable of the three. Chef Adam provided a mix of flavors, a light touch with intense variation of flavors, really just a treat! The room offerings are varied and it is worth it to look at what is offered to maximize your experience! Enjoy!

Room Tip: -if you want convenience stay in the main house. Top floor is more expensive but quiet and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for two nights, December 30th and 31th and had a wonderful time while there! There are a number of options for rooms in about six different buildings and all with lovely furnishings. We stayed in the Thornton Room, located in the Winter Kitchen, which shares a comfortable sitting area with two other rooms. We ate dinner there both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed them (as we did the two breakfasts both mornings).

Neil and Barry are quite the hosts and make you feel right at home the minute you walk in. The two of them make a stay at The Vaucluse a memorable experience. I would recommend staying there more than one night to fully enjoy this Inn and the dinners. They can provide you with information on wine tours, battle sites of The War Between the States, other historic sites, hiking, horseback riding, golf, bowling, etc. but you may prefer just sitting by a fire, reading a book or sitting on one of the porches enjoying the scenery.

I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms in the winter kitchen are below the main floor so you can hear noise, music etc. in those thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Have stayed here a few times, and every experience has been pleasant! Been in the Stephens Room (Chumley), the Hite Suite (Chumley), and the Mill House - the latter is the most spectacular, if you can ever save up enough to afford it. Every meal has been delicious, and every night has been restful and refreshing. If we could just stow away our cats, it'd feel like our own private vacation home!

Staff members are kind and efficient. The owners are as engaging or as hands-off as you wish, and since my wife & I are b&b hermits, the arrangement works well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Fun to walk around the grounds at night, when most are asleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

With two young children we don't often have the chance to get away for the weekend, so on the rare occasions we do, we like to make it special. Valentine's weekend at the Inn at Vaucluse is the one annual trip we do everything in our power to take. If my math is correct we will be taking our 5th trip there again in 2014.

Our 2013 Valentine's day trip was equally wonderful to the previous trips we've taken. Neil and Barry are always friendly and gracious hosts and make every effort to make the stay enjoyable. This trip we stayed in the Gallery which is lovely and quiet. It has both a wood burning and gas fireplace. I had every intention of using the wood fireplace, but ended up being lazy and just using the gas one upstairs. Chef Adam always has wonderful and creative meals which usually surprise us without being too over the top. The wine selections always pair very well with the food and we really love that they carry some of the local Virginia wines, which we've come to be particularly fond of.

Needless to say we are counting the days until our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Charming overall experience. Food is fabulous - dinners and breakfasts - gracious and attentive service. Everyone is so nice. Enjoyed the many beautiful views and hikes around the area, including several long walks on the property. Relaxing atmosphere and beautifully appointed spaces throughout. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.