We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn and great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Inn and great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for two nights, December 30th and 31th and had a wonderful time while there! There are a number of options for rooms in about six different buildings and all with lovely furnishings. We stayed in the Thornton Room, located in the Winter Kitchen, which shares a comfortable sitting area with two other rooms. We ate dinner there both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed them (as we did the two breakfasts both mornings).

Neil and Barry are quite the hosts and make you feel right at home the minute you walk in. The two of them make a stay at The Vaucluse a memorable experience. I would recommend staying there more than one night to fully enjoy this Inn and the dinners. They can provide you with information on wine tours, battle sites of The War Between the States, other historic sites, hiking, horseback riding, golf, bowling, etc. but you may prefer just sitting by a fire, reading a book or sitting on one of the porches enjoying the scenery.

I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Rooms in the winter kitchen are below the main floor so you can hear noise, music etc. in those thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    26
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
437
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Have stayed here a few times, and every experience has been pleasant! Been in the Stephens Room (Chumley), the Hite Suite (Chumley), and the Mill House - the latter is the most spectacular, if you can ever save up enough to afford it. Every meal has been delicious, and every night has been restful and refreshing. If we could just stow away our cats, it'd feel like our own private vacation home!

Staff members are kind and efficient. The owners are as engaging or as hands-off as you wish, and since my wife & I are b&b hermits, the arrangement works well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Fun to walk around the grounds at night, when most are asleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

With two young children we don't often have the chance to get away for the weekend, so on the rare occasions we do, we like to make it special. Valentine's weekend at the Inn at Vaucluse is the one annual trip we do everything in our power to take. If my math is correct we will be taking our 5th trip there again in 2014.

Our 2013 Valentine's day trip was equally wonderful to the previous trips we've taken. Neil and Barry are always friendly and gracious hosts and make every effort to make the stay enjoyable. This trip we stayed in the Gallery which is lovely and quiet. It has both a wood burning and gas fireplace. I had every intention of using the wood fireplace, but ended up being lazy and just using the gas one upstairs. Chef Adam always has wonderful and creative meals which usually surprise us without being too over the top. The wine selections always pair very well with the food and we really love that they carry some of the local Virginia wines, which we've come to be particularly fond of.

Needless to say we are counting the days until our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Charming overall experience. Food is fabulous - dinners and breakfasts - gracious and attentive service. Everyone is so nice. Enjoyed the many beautiful views and hikes around the area, including several long walks on the property. Relaxing atmosphere and beautifully appointed spaces throughout. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Va
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The cottage was very nice and beautiful setting. It was great for a wedding. The living room with fireplace was cozy and bedroom was perfect. Dinner at the main house was a perfect ending to a perfect day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring before and always enjoyed the food, the ambience, and the lovely rooms. And so we chose it again for a birthday celebration. It was the right choice in every way. The Jones Room is particularly lovely with views of the snowy fields and mountains beyond from several large windows. On this cold and snowy weekend, we especially appreciated the two fireplaces (easy to use gas flame) and the two-person jacuzzi. On Saturday night, we ate at the Inn with others celebrating a more important event (a wedding). The food, always special and varied, was particularly wonderful this evening. The service at Vaucluse is special because we see the same excellent staff at breakfast and dinner, which adds to the family feeling of the place. This is a small inn with several beautiful buildings each offering a different experience, some grander than others, but all comfortable and special. The location, about 25 minutes south of Winchester and less than 90 minutes from DC, is extremely convenient and provides access to a wide range of activities, depending on the season and your interests. Wine, antiques, civil war battlefields, hiking, farm markets and more. The Inn's owners, Neil and Barry, provide advice and suggestions on all topics and hand-drawn maps to the nearby destinations. This review makes us sound easy to please. We aren't. It's just that the Inn at Vaucluse Spring hit all the right notes for a perfect birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website and consider the price point that suits you. All the rooms are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This inn embodies perfection of a kind it is difficult to believe in. The manor house, where we stayed in a magnificent room with a large fireplace, is elegant and stunningly restored. The owners are welcoming and greeted us like old friends. The dining room was fully booked for the evening so we didn't get to try the food but the breakfast the next morning included a delicious dish made just for me to accommodate a dietary requirement. On a cold night I sat in a comfy chair by the fireplace reading a book I found in the room on the civil war in the Shenandoah Valley. Most of the historical action took place right around the Inn house. What a beautiful place. Magical, a really beautiful experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to sign up for the meals on Friday and Saturday evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Wow, thank you for such kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and are really sorry we couldn't get you in for dinner on short notice. We offer a rather specialized dining experience, and request that for weekend stays our guests let us know by the Wednesday before hand if they would like to have dinner with us during their stay. Sometimes we can accommodate folks with less notice and we certainly want to because we think dining at the inn is something not to be missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.