We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and relaxing 2013 Valentine's day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic and relaxing 2013 Valentine's day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

With two young children we don't often have the chance to get away for the weekend, so on the rare occasions we do, we like to make it special. Valentine's weekend at the Inn at Vaucluse is the one annual trip we do everything in our power to take. If my math is correct we will be taking our 5th trip there again in 2014.

Our 2013 Valentine's day trip was equally wonderful to the previous trips we've taken. Neil and Barry are always friendly and gracious hosts and make every effort to make the stay enjoyable. This trip we stayed in the Gallery which is lovely and quiet. It has both a wood burning and gas fireplace. I had every intention of using the wood fireplace, but ended up being lazy and just using the gas one upstairs. Chef Adam always has wonderful and creative meals which usually surprise us without being too over the top. The wine selections always pair very well with the food and we really love that they carry some of the local Virginia wines, which we've come to be particularly fond of.

Needless to say we are counting the days until our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    26
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
447
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Charming overall experience. Food is fabulous - dinners and breakfasts - gracious and attentive service. Everyone is so nice. Enjoyed the many beautiful views and hikes around the area, including several long walks on the property. Relaxing atmosphere and beautifully appointed spaces throughout. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Va
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The cottage was very nice and beautiful setting. It was great for a wedding. The living room with fireplace was cozy and bedroom was perfect. Dinner at the main house was a perfect ending to a perfect day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring before and always enjoyed the food, the ambience, and the lovely rooms. And so we chose it again for a birthday celebration. It was the right choice in every way. The Jones Room is particularly lovely with views of the snowy fields and mountains beyond from several large windows. On this cold and snowy weekend, we especially appreciated the two fireplaces (easy to use gas flame) and the two-person jacuzzi. On Saturday night, we ate at the Inn with others celebrating a more important event (a wedding). The food, always special and varied, was particularly wonderful this evening. The service at Vaucluse is special because we see the same excellent staff at breakfast and dinner, which adds to the family feeling of the place. This is a small inn with several beautiful buildings each offering a different experience, some grander than others, but all comfortable and special. The location, about 25 minutes south of Winchester and less than 90 minutes from DC, is extremely convenient and provides access to a wide range of activities, depending on the season and your interests. Wine, antiques, civil war battlefields, hiking, farm markets and more. The Inn's owners, Neil and Barry, provide advice and suggestions on all topics and hand-drawn maps to the nearby destinations. This review makes us sound easy to please. We aren't. It's just that the Inn at Vaucluse Spring hit all the right notes for a perfect birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website and consider the price point that suits you. All the rooms are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This inn embodies perfection of a kind it is difficult to believe in. The manor house, where we stayed in a magnificent room with a large fireplace, is elegant and stunningly restored. The owners are welcoming and greeted us like old friends. The dining room was fully booked for the evening so we didn't get to try the food but the breakfast the next morning included a delicious dish made just for me to accommodate a dietary requirement. On a cold night I sat in a comfy chair by the fireplace reading a book I found in the room on the civil war in the Shenandoah Valley. Most of the historical action took place right around the Inn house. What a beautiful place. Magical, a really beautiful experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to sign up for the meals on Friday and Saturday evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Wow, thank you for such kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and are really sorry we couldn't get you in for dinner on short notice. We offer a rather specialized dining experience, and request that for weekend stays our guests let us know by the Wednesday before hand if they would like to have dinner with us during their stay. Sometimes we can accommodate folks with less notice and we certainly want to because we think dining at the inn is something not to be missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Inn on the recommendation of a co-worker. It really lives up to the superlatives of its reviews. It is convenient to Shenandoah National Park (where we hiked). It is elegant and homey at once, and owners Barry and Neil were so welcoming. We stayed in the Strother Room in the Manor House. Aside from having to kill a couple of flies, it was just lovely. The gas fireplace was nice on a cold morning. We had dinner at the Inn as well. A social half-hour beforehand allowed us to meet the other guests. Dinner was an excellent gourmet meal, with each course well paced and just enough to eat. I wish they had told us wine cost extra, though. Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious--though after a heavy meal the night before a bit hard to pack in!

Room Tip: The Manor House rooms are in the same building as the dining room. There are other, more secluded ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our first time back here in a number of years. We came in late on Friday evening and just as Neil and Barry said, our keys and welcome packet were waiting for us in the entry way of the main house. We stayed in the Hite Suite in the Chumley Homeplace and enjoyed the cozy environment and fireplace. We took advantage of the dinner on Saturday and they were very accommodating of our dietary needs and restrictions and all the servers and staff were super friendly and nice. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts on both Saturday and Sunday as well. The location is fantastic and it was the perfect fall getaway for a special occasion. We very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back in the future!

Room Tip: Hite suite is better for shorter people as the ceiling slants down
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.