We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Escape to the VA Countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Escape to the VA Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've just returned from the most wonderful weekend at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring. This is my second visit and I highly recommend the Inn to anyone looking for a warm and inviting Inn in the charming the Virginia Countryside. The Innkeepers, Neil & Barry, warmly welcomed us to the Inn as if we were old family friends. The rooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated, and thoughtfully appointed. The meals were heavenly! Each meal was creatively prepared with seasonal and locally grown ingredients, and special food needs and requests were cheerfully accommodated. I will definitely be a return guest at the Inn! I cannot wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
427
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nazareth, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Quite honestly, as good as it gets. So many have written such effusive praise and, yet, none have managed to overstate the excellence of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring.

We will not be redundant. We will simply say "Thank you so very much, Neil and Barry, Chef Adam, Angela and every single member of your staff, for an absolutely perfect anniversary weekend. We cannot wait to return!"

Mike and Carolyn

Room Tip: We chose the Mill House Studio. Private, romantic, rustic, with a king bed that will dare you to le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. My parents had been to The Inn several times and thought it would be a great anniversary gift to us. They were correct, we had a wonderful time. The atmoshpere was very relaxing and the owners (Barry and Neil) were terrific hosts. Though we were not able to take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway (due to the Government shut-down), we were able to visit several different wineries and get back to the Inn in-time for a wonderful dinner. I would recomend the Inn at Vaucluse Spring and hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to the inn. The location was beautiful and easy to fine with GPS. We stayed in the Barton room which was very nice. Host and staff were very helpful and we enjoyed sitting on the porch and relaxing with good local VA wine. We were going to the Waterford for the weekend and this was a very good location. Down town Winchester was lovely with its downtown car free zone it reminded of of being in europe. They only problem was it was a little difficult entering and exiting tub for shower, nothing to grab as you enter or exited.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Perfectly restored and beautifully maintained B&B for special occasions, or just to relax, just 1.5 hours from Washington DC. Great dinner in a very special ambiance. Last but not least - wonderful hosts. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Don't miss the Valerie Inn winery just couple of miles away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife has already placed a review but just wanted to say that we stayed here for 2 weeks in 2011 and a fabulous holiday. Owners and the chef are amazing and what a lovely part of the world. Thank you from our hearts for a truly fabulous time. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: We had a lovely house all to ourselves in the grounds.... Amazing highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

the attention to detail is astounding...down to being certain that the staff wears shoes that dont make noise on the beautiful hard wood floors.
everyone is out of site before you know they've even been there.
though, if you need them they appear from nowhere. usually with whatever you're looking for, on a tray for you...before you have a chance to ask for it.
barry sees to it that each guest has everything they need at all times, without hovering.
the house is immaculate. everyone is friendly, tentative, and informative. very helpful. very casual in such a regal setting.
the accommodations are exquisite. the food is beyond words. a culinary adventure awaits at every meal. adam's dishes are beautiful for all the senses.
the inn at vaucluse spring was exactly half way between us, in north carolina, and my brother, in upstate ny. so we met there for a nice weekend.
what we got was WAY BEYOND nice.
we'll be back again...and again...and again. as we understand, most of the other guests that were there have been.
thank you to barry, neal, angela, cory, and the rest of the staff for making a small family reunion a truly beautiful experience.

Room Tip: we have only stayed in the winter kitchen (the basement of the manor house), which has three bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.