We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virgina best kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Virgina best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Perfectly restored and beautifully maintained B&B for special occasions, or just to relax, just 1.5 hours from Washington DC. Great dinner in a very special ambiance. Last but not least - wonderful hosts. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Don't miss the Valerie Inn winery just couple of miles away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
418
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife has already placed a review but just wanted to say that we stayed here for 2 weeks in 2011 and a fabulous holiday. Owners and the chef are amazing and what a lovely part of the world. Thank you from our hearts for a truly fabulous time. Hope to see you again.

Room Tip: We had a lovely house all to ourselves in the grounds.... Amazing highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

the attention to detail is astounding...down to being certain that the staff wears shoes that dont make noise on the beautiful hard wood floors.
everyone is out of site before you know they've even been there.
though, if you need them they appear from nowhere. usually with whatever you're looking for, on a tray for you...before you have a chance to ask for it.
barry sees to it that each guest has everything they need at all times, without hovering.
the house is immaculate. everyone is friendly, tentative, and informative. very helpful. very casual in such a regal setting.
the accommodations are exquisite. the food is beyond words. a culinary adventure awaits at every meal. adam's dishes are beautiful for all the senses.
the inn at vaucluse spring was exactly half way between us, in north carolina, and my brother, in upstate ny. so we met there for a nice weekend.
what we got was WAY BEYOND nice.
we'll be back again...and again...and again. as we understand, most of the other guests that were there have been.
thank you to barry, neal, angela, cory, and the rest of the staff for making a small family reunion a truly beautiful experience.

Room Tip: we have only stayed in the winter kitchen (the basement of the manor house), which has three bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at Inn at Vaucluse Spring a few times and chose it for our wedding weekend. While we did our ceremony in Shenandoah National Park, our wedding party (about 17) stayed here, and they hosted our wedding dinner. We LOVED it. Again.

The property is stunning, unique, and sophisticated. Each cabin has its own feel but fits into the overall personality of the inn. We used Chumley House as our base of operations and did our rehearsal dinner there. And our wedding dinner was exceptional -- local foods, great combinations. They gave us a room to ourselves and the service was fantastic -- attentive but also invisible when we were doing our toasts, etc. Everyone just raved, and they were very accommodating to people with allergies, etc. The photos we did on the big porch out back were also lovely.

Two big thumbs up. We hope to come back for our anniversary. Big thanks to Neil for her care of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary at a country inn or b and b in Virginia. We knew we would be driving 800+ miles from St. Louis and wanted a peaceful place to stay where we could have dinners there. We chose The Inn at Vaucluse Spring based on previous enjoyable visits there. We were so glad we chose The Inn! We had a lovely room (Strother) on the second floor of The Main House and could not have been more pleased. The room was comfortably furnished and provided a nice view of the surrounding countryside. The breakfasts both days were well prepared, tasty and served by the wonderful staff of The Inn. Both dinner meals were also very enjoyable. The main attraction of the Friday evening meal was the pan-seared red snapper. My wife had not had red snapper before but she (and I) thoroughly enjoyed the fish and the way it was prepared. Saturday night was a five course meal preceded by a gathering of guests at 6:30pm for beverages served by the staff and assisted by one of the owners. The highlight of this dinner was a beef tenderloin. I also sampled a white wine Friday and a red on Saturday. Both went well with the entrée served.

Our stay was most relaxing and enjoyable! The owners, Barry and Neil, are such delightful people; they alone are a reason to return to The Inn. Barry's humor is second to none and he is as well-mannered as he is interesting to talk to. Neil and her staff used to prepare the evening dinners but now there is a chef that is carrying on the fine dining tradition.

I cannot say enough about the staff (well I could but it would take a long time at the keyboard) at The Inn, especially Angela and Cory. They are both a delight and asset to The Inn's many pluses.

I highly recommend staying at The Inn for any celebration or function!

Room Tip: There are about fifteen rooms at The Inn in six buildings. There are six rooms in The manor house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed to get away for the weekend and found The Inn at Vaucluse Spring. We have been to too many B&B's that dont live up to our expectations. This is not the case with Vaucluse Spring. Everything about our experience exuded relaxation and comfort. The grounds are beautifully kept and serene. The room was very well appointed without being "froufrou". The food was outstanding! There is a main house as well as more private 'cabins'. The back porch is wide with rocking chairs looking out at trees and sunshine with your morning coffee or a star filled sky with your glass of wine. Need I say more? Will we be coming back.....absolutely! Thanks Neil and Barry medicine the Dr. ordered!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is our third or fourth visit to Valcluse. It is a welcome stopover on a long drive to northern Pennsylvania from Virginia. This time we chose a different room (Stother) and loved it just as much as the Jones room. The most special part of the stay was having a superb dinner, paired with amazing wines chosen by Barry. This Thursday "Dinner with the chef" was pure pleasure. Adam is an artist, and his enthusiasm shines through with each course. His highlights describing technique, ingredients and ability to accommodate gluten-free are the hallmarks of a great chef.
The time we spend visiting with Barry and Neil is also a treasured part of our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are large, tastefully decorated, quiet and have gorgeous views. We'd li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
Family-friendly...
Show More
10.1 mi away
The George Washington Hotel
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
7.5 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
9.0 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#11 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list