We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Dr. Ordered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what the Dr. Ordered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed to get away for the weekend and found The Inn at Vaucluse Spring. We have been to too many B&B's that dont live up to our expectations. This is not the case with Vaucluse Spring. Everything about our experience exuded relaxation and comfort. The grounds are beautifully kept and serene. The room was very well appointed without being "froufrou". The food was outstanding! There is a main house as well as more private 'cabins'. The back porch is wide with rocking chairs looking out at trees and sunshine with your morning coffee or a star filled sky with your glass of wine. Need I say more? Will we be coming back.....absolutely! Thanks Neil and Barry medicine the Dr. ordered!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
416
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is our third or fourth visit to Valcluse. It is a welcome stopover on a long drive to northern Pennsylvania from Virginia. This time we chose a different room (Stother) and loved it just as much as the Jones room. The most special part of the stay was having a superb dinner, paired with amazing wines chosen by Barry. This Thursday "Dinner with the chef" was pure pleasure. Adam is an artist, and his enthusiasm shines through with each course. His highlights describing technique, ingredients and ability to accommodate gluten-free are the hallmarks of a great chef.
The time we spend visiting with Barry and Neil is also a treasured part of our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are large, tastefully decorated, quiet and have gorgeous views. We'd li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found our stay at the Vaucluse Inn to be a delightful experience in every way. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the porch of the manor house with a glass of tea and homemade cookies or coffee in the morning enjoying the views.
A swim in the pool on a hot day and sitting by the Mill Pond with a glass of wine before dinner made it romantic and restful after the days journey. I loved having a gas fireplace in our suite to enjoy at bedtime while reading.
We did not eat dinner at the Inn but the three course breakfast was delicious. We wished we had more time to enjoy the many interesting places to visit in the area but we were just passing through on our way home to Florida.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chumley suite of the log cabin which was comfortable and quiet as the other suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I are based in the UK and came to visit Shenandoah for the first time this past weekend. We stayed in Gabriel’s Room, one side of a duplex next to the main house of the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. The property is beautiful – a large countryside/farm environment amenable to walking and with very nicely kept areas of benches under trees and charming corners. The grounds really are peaceful. Our room was larger than we imagined and very high quality – really lovely. The main house is also beautiful and very historic. It has several lovely sitting rooms and also a large back porch with rocking chairs. The food was a highlight – breakfast was included for us and consisted of a three course local feast of fruit, fresh baked goods, and delicious and creative egg dishes. We also stayed for dinner Saturday night – we highly recommend this! Close to Skyline Drive and easy to visit mountains and wineyards nearby. We visited Linden vineyards and could not recommend it more highly. All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It would be hard to top our stay at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. This lovely stone manor house has been beautifully restored by Innkeepers Neil and Barry and it is delightful to enjoy the results of their careful efforts. They make their guests feel welcome without being intrustive. The food is nicely served,delicious, and creative without being too precious. We give top marks to the excellent staff and chef. Our room was immaculate, lovely, and well stocked. We have stayed in many top tier B&Bs all over the country and this one ranks up there with the best of them. Go! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Strother room in the main house with a beautiful view of the grounds and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Mrs and I spent a romantic weekend here in late summer 2013 and I must say that the reviews prior to mine do not lie. The charm of this place is hard to put into words, you really have to experience it first hand. The pictures do make an attempt at capturing some of the tranquility of the Inn but alas its an experience that must be felt by your senses.

The food is equal to that of any five star restaurant. Service is outstanding. The rooms and accommodations are just fantastic; the floors are clean enough to eat off of, all of your needs are thought of and addressed, and the staff are very attentive to address any concern, or convenience to make your stay optimal.

We had a great time, and even though you don't get that "personal" feeling from the owners that you'd get at a smaller B&B (The Inn can host 34 guests in total) the charm and intimacy is exactly the same.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house on the lower level are flanked by the original fireplace from the 1700's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This was the 3rd time we visited the inn. Every time is spectacular! The people are friendly, the rooms are amazing, the food is incredible. Today we had lemon wild blueberry scones, fresh peaches and then an egg omlet filled with fresh corn, basil and cheese with a yellow tomato purée.

If you are going to go vineyard hopping this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list