We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant Country Estate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Elegant Country Estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found our stay at the Vaucluse Inn to be a delightful experience in every way. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the porch of the manor house with a glass of tea and homemade cookies or coffee in the morning enjoying the views.
A swim in the pool on a hot day and sitting by the Mill Pond with a glass of wine before dinner made it romantic and restful after the days journey. I loved having a gas fireplace in our suite to enjoy at bedtime while reading.
We did not eat dinner at the Inn but the three course breakfast was delicious. We wished we had more time to enjoy the many interesting places to visit in the area but we were just passing through on our way home to Florida.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chumley suite of the log cabin which was comfortable and quiet as the other suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
416
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oxford UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I are based in the UK and came to visit Shenandoah for the first time this past weekend. We stayed in Gabriel’s Room, one side of a duplex next to the main house of the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. The property is beautiful – a large countryside/farm environment amenable to walking and with very nicely kept areas of benches under trees and charming corners. The grounds really are peaceful. Our room was larger than we imagined and very high quality – really lovely. The main house is also beautiful and very historic. It has several lovely sitting rooms and also a large back porch with rocking chairs. The food was a highlight – breakfast was included for us and consisted of a three course local feast of fruit, fresh baked goods, and delicious and creative egg dishes. We also stayed for dinner Saturday night – we highly recommend this! Close to Skyline Drive and easy to visit mountains and wineyards nearby. We visited Linden vineyards and could not recommend it more highly. All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It would be hard to top our stay at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. This lovely stone manor house has been beautifully restored by Innkeepers Neil and Barry and it is delightful to enjoy the results of their careful efforts. They make their guests feel welcome without being intrustive. The food is nicely served,delicious, and creative without being too precious. We give top marks to the excellent staff and chef. Our room was immaculate, lovely, and well stocked. We have stayed in many top tier B&Bs all over the country and this one ranks up there with the best of them. Go! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Strother room in the main house with a beautiful view of the grounds and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Mrs and I spent a romantic weekend here in late summer 2013 and I must say that the reviews prior to mine do not lie. The charm of this place is hard to put into words, you really have to experience it first hand. The pictures do make an attempt at capturing some of the tranquility of the Inn but alas its an experience that must be felt by your senses.

The food is equal to that of any five star restaurant. Service is outstanding. The rooms and accommodations are just fantastic; the floors are clean enough to eat off of, all of your needs are thought of and addressed, and the staff are very attentive to address any concern, or convenience to make your stay optimal.

We had a great time, and even though you don't get that "personal" feeling from the owners that you'd get at a smaller B&B (The Inn can host 34 guests in total) the charm and intimacy is exactly the same.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house on the lower level are flanked by the original fireplace from the 1700's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This was the 3rd time we visited the inn. Every time is spectacular! The people are friendly, the rooms are amazing, the food is incredible. Today we had lemon wild blueberry scones, fresh peaches and then an egg omlet filled with fresh corn, basil and cheese with a yellow tomato purée.

If you are going to go vineyard hopping this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just spent our 40th wedding anniversary at the Inn. We stayed Friday and Saturday nights with dinner both nights at the Inn. The food was excellent and the setting is incredible. The innkeepers go out of their way to make your stay great! Is a definite "go again"!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an anniversary weekend stay at Inn at Vaucluse Spring, June 21-23. We had read the positive reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this property and had to stay there. We were not disappointed- every review was absolutely true. We stayed in The Cabin which was awesome. We had dinner both Friday night and Saturday night (a wine pairing dinner with Glen Manor Winery). Both were fantastic and fun. We enjoyed a bike ride on Saturday through the rolling Virginia countryside and afterwards, relaxed by the pool. Neil and Barry are gracious and generous hosts and their staff is top notch. We recommend this B & B with the highest "thumbs up" possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list