We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home again with good friends.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairfax Station, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home again with good friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have been coming here for at least eight years and obviously we love it here. As lovely as the place truly is, it is the warmth and friendship of the owners Neil and Barry, chief Adam and the staff that bring us back. The setting is lovely and relaxing the rooms and inn are even more so. Every detail is taken care. Dinner is always fantastic and chief Adam always out does himself. The food is delicious and totally thought out with all the shuttle favors infused into the foods and sauces. Very inventive mixtures of flavor and texture. As Adam explains each course you can see the joy and enthusiasm in his face and voice. Barry and Neil make our visit. We always have good conversation and lots and lots of laughter. It is always a happy visit with them. For a special New Years this is our place of choice for at least eight years now. Wonderful food and guests bring their own iPod and speakers to dance into the evening. We love this place that makes you feel at home in an elegant relaxed first class place.

Room Tip: Each room and location has it's own charm abd feel but all great. Don't discount the the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    26
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
430
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned (April 11th) from our ninth stay at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. Each one gets better. Neil & Barry are the ideal hosts who look after every need, regardless if you are a first timer or a regular like us. The accomodations are super comfortable, and the setting is just country enough to keep us coming back year after year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly, NJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Inn after our last visit before moving to Texas. It was like coming home again. Barry and Neil greeted us upon our arrival and the journey got even better. We stayed in the Mill house; wonderful accommodations just down the drive from the main house. Downstairs in like an efficiency apartment, but more homey, with a gas fireplace, refrigerator and sink. The sofa faced the warmth of the fireplace and the bedroom and bath were upstairs. The king-sized bed was awesome and the view of the spring out the bedroom window is breath-taking. The walk up and down the drive to and from breakfast helps work out arthritis stiffness and work off the very filling breakfasts. Friday and Saturday night suppers, prepared by chef Adam are second to none. We decided to have supper at the Inn again Tuesday night because chef Adam offers suppers Tuesday thru Saturday to guests at the Inn and those just looking for an extraordinary meal. The wait staff and housekeepers make sure you're spoiled. The only downside is having to leave again. However, we know the way back home. We'll be back, Neil and Barry-our extended family.

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific. Browse the Inn's website for your options
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A wonderful place to stay on all fronts: room (we stayed in the Gallery separate building with wonderful fireplaces especially for colder temps), exceptional food (dinner available on the weekend and breakfast), social time before dinner with appetizers and drink, beautiful grounds with plenty of places to hike over acreage, and innkeepers genuinely interested in the comforts of their guests and in meeting them in general. There are plenty of other rooms/separate buildings of comparable quality too, and we intend to return, for all the Inn at Vaucluse Spring has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Vaucluse for years so we are well aware of the beautiful grounds and rooms, the gracious and accommodating staff and the wonderful dinners on Friday and Saturday. This past wekend we were there for the first (annual, I hope!) Scotch Whiskey dinner. We were treated to a pre-dinner sampling of two different single malt scotches, and at the table there was a "flight" of 3 additional kinds to taste. The meal was capped with an 18 year old single malt scotch that was so smooth! However, the crowning achievement of the night was the dinner, at which Chef Adam served 5 courses, with scotch incorporated into each course. He is a genius in the kitchen and it showed with this dinner. Just when you thought it couldn't get any better, an additional course came out that melted in your mouth. Innkeepers Barry and Neil had Rick Wassamund, who has a whiskey distillery in nearby Sperryville, at the dinner. He was our "expert" and told us about the different kinds of scotch, including his own, and gave us the short course on how to really taste and enjoy scotch. I hope the Inn will do this again because I thought of at least 2 other couples we know who would have loved this experience!

Room Tip: We had never stayed in the Mill before. We did this weekend and it was lovely. It's a 2 story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend a weekend at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring celebrating our first wding anniversary. Barry and Neil, our hosts, were friendly, accomodating, and great conversationlists. We stayed in both Margaret's room and Gabriel's room in the Cottage on the Hill, a small cottage a brief short walk from the Main building. Both rooms were spacious, comfortable, and extremely clean. The beds were comfortable and the jacuzzi was great to unwind after a long day touring the Shenandoah countryside. Following Neil's recommendations, and a handy map, we toured several local vinyards and wineries. We ate at the Inn on Friday and Saturday. The food and service both nights was outstanding. Chef Adam is truly exceptional. The meals were colorful, healthy, and tastful. They also offer a three course breakfast with home-made pastries, a fruit selection, and a main course. We drove Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park on a clear, crisp, day. We are already planning to return to the Inn at Vaucluse Spring. It was an exceptional experience throughout.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Inn surpassed my expectations in every way. Shortly after arriving, we enjoyed a delicious Friday night dinner - casual, yet gourmet and full of fresh, healthy ingredients. The main building is well decorated, relaxing, and warm. The room we stayed in (Gabriel) was immaculate, relaxing and cozy. The innkeepers were friendly, hospitable and made us feel welcome. The location is not near many restaurants, so dining there Friday and Saturday nights was perfect. The Saturday night dinner was many courses and delicious. Care and skill went into each course. It was a wonderful weekend at a reasonable value, given the quality of the Inn and dining. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gabriel room - great location, spacious and immaculate room. Cozy fireplace and jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.