We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Inn for romantic getaway in the country.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Inn for romantic getaway in the country.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Inn surpassed my expectations in every way. Shortly after arriving, we enjoyed a delicious Friday night dinner - casual, yet gourmet and full of fresh, healthy ingredients. The main building is well decorated, relaxing, and warm. The room we stayed in (Gabriel) was immaculate, relaxing and cozy. The innkeepers were friendly, hospitable and made us feel welcome. The location is not near many restaurants, so dining there Friday and Saturday nights was perfect. The Saturday night dinner was many courses and delicious. Care and skill went into each course. It was a wonderful weekend at a reasonable value, given the quality of the Inn and dining. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gabriel room - great location, spacious and immaculate room. Cozy fireplace and jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    24
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
418
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I came here for our anniversary 14 years ago & have been coming back around Valentine's Day ever since. What's not to love? The rooms are clean, cozy, spacious, & private. The food is outstanding including the dining staff. Neil & Barry treat you like family & are extremely accomodating.
As you drive up the gravel road to the property, ignore the towing/junk lot on your left. Just keep on going - peace, serenity & tranquility awaits beyond the property line. I promise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Va
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is the best B&B we have stayed at, anywhere in the world! The sleeping rooms are great and have attached baths - most with jac tubs. the common areas are great in both the Manor House and Chumley house (great fireplace in common area). We went with eleven people for my wife's birthday and everyone was happy and satisfied. The Saturday dinner is fantastic and will fill the entire evening with five courses of excellence. Barry and Neil (owners) were great hosts and greeted us upon arrival and spoke with many of us during dinner. They worked with my daughter to arrange the rooms and dinner for six adults and five children that ranged in age from 6 to 14. The beauty of the inn is that it may accommodate a group such as ours, as well as provide a romantic stay for a couple. The location is excellent! It is convenient for outdoors activities such as hiking and boating. There is a Plantation a few minutes south and a wine vineyard a few minutes north of the inn. The Wayside theater is only a few minutes away for excellent shows and there are many places to eat within a short distance of the inn. This place is excellent both in the warm weather (pool) and the winter (great fireplaces everywhere). It is not cheap unless you consider value and not only price.

Room Tip: Any room is good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I met many repeat guests during our stay over MLK weekend. It's easy to see why folks continue to come back. The 5-course Saturday night dinner is excellent, Barry is a tremendous host, and the Manor House and surrounding buildings have tons of character. Each of the rooms in the Manor House are comfortable, and their rehab of the 200 year old house is well done, maintaining the historic feel of the home while providing some modern-day comforts (gas fireplaces, wifi). We met many other couples on our visit, and everyone was friendly. The repeat guests suggested coming back and trying out the various guest houses on the property, as each one provides a new experience.

Room Tip: The Jones room was nice, has a two-person jacuzzi tub and a fireplace in the bedroom and bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Amazing B&B. Careful attention to excellence in every regard.

Chef Adam is superb. Neil and Barry are great hosts and make the experience even more special.

If you're the active outdoorsy type, do the Signal Knob circuit hike (10.5 mi, 2000 vert feet). It's very close and gives an amazing view up the Shenandoah Valley.

Room Tip: Gabriel Room was great, but I imagine they _all_ are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stay at Vaucluse every summer for a weekend, but thought we'd take advantage of Barry & Neil's wintertime offer of a one-night stay. The grounds, but not the roads, were covered with snow--a setting that contributed to a serene feeling of being in a winter-wonderland. Neil was cooking this weekend and the meals were heart-and-stomach-warming wonderful. The other guests were into the spirit of cozy as well, and we enjoyed some great conversation in front of the fireplace. Wish we had stayed the entire weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at the Inn to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. As first-timers, we had few expectations, leaving our three teenagers in charge at home (another first) and aiming for the Shenandoah Valley. Upon arrival, Neil greeted us in a low key, yet familiar way that made us feel as if we were long-time guests. Neil informed us that dinner was at 7:00, but that it was a tradition for guests to have a bit of social time just before at 6:30. Neither of us were really in the mood for that, and it was of course optional, but we overcame our need to hibernate and showed up to enjoy some excellent mulled wine and chat with fellow guests.

The first three couples we met had been to the Inn several times over the past decade or more. One couple from the Philadelphia area drove 4 hours to come to the Inn. I asked them why they came here when there were certainly nice places much closer to where they live. He looked at me earnestly and said" "I can't seem to relax anywhere else like I can here." Another couple had brought with them old friends, to introduce them to the Inn at Vaclause Spring.

I thought to myself: "You can't buy this kind of advertising." What is going on here? A secret society? Funny hats after hours? Code signs?

Barry then appeared and proposed a series of toasts. Our group gathered around, while Barry welcomed old guests and new, and made a series of brief eloquent toasts, honoring the season, our country and those who serve in its defense. Barry was straight out of a Currier and Ives print that might = be called - "The Inn Keeper." l looked at the circle of faces, at Barry, all with glasses raised high, and a genuine warmth, a community of guests in place and time grounded the moment.

Neil had informed us when we made our reservation by phone that she would be cooking the night we were there because Adam, the regular chef was off. She said the theme would be "comfort food," and mentioned a beef stew with corn bread. After enjoying Neil's creation, I can only say this was not comfort food. Cracker Barrel is comfort food. Neil's offering was high cuisine, delightful, comforting yes, but very nuanced. She is a gifted, sophisticated chef.

We had hoped for the log cabin but this was booked. We ended up in the Gallery, and found it very comfortable. A fireplace upstairs, a fireplace downstairs. No TV - a Godsend to the video addicted. Quiet. A roaring fire, wind in the eves, mid-winter ink out the evening window. Yes, tranquil.

We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list