We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how about some TLC?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“how about some TLC?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Inn is a nice place, but our room was unfortunately stink-bug invested when we visited. They were all over the room, and we woke up at night, with stink-bugs all over our pillows. The Inn Keeper was very apologetic about it, but honestly, the worst could have been avoided if they had checked the room before our arrival. Stink bugs are slow and easy to catch.

The room was nice but this experience kind of spoiled it all. And honestly our room and the building we were in was a bit dated. Time to update!

The 3 course dinner was good but besides dessert not very filling. And breakfast was a bit pretentious. A lot of courses and yet we did not even get some juice and had to ask for a coffee refill.

The place seems to be popular, so I don't want to spoil it, but we were disappointed and left after one night. That was us though!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
These good folks visited us on one of those unseasonably warm sunny October days when the stink bugs seem to come out of nowhere. For anyone who does not know, the stink bugs at issue are an invasive species accidentally introduced from China into Pennsylvania. They do not bite, but they do give off an odor when squashed. For guests who are travelling from outside the “stinkbug belt”, which apparently includes New York City, their first encounter can be a bit unnerving. Regrettably, control is not as easy as just checking the rooms before guests arrive. Our housekeeping staff checks all rooms on the day of arrival to ensure that everything is ready, including removing stink bugs. But as anyone knows who lives in an area where they are a nuisance, when stink bugs are active, they can materialize quickly and relentlessly. Our apologies once again… we do still remember our own first encounter with these pests and certainly sympathize… but aside from diligently removing them one at a time, which we continue to do, there is not much else that can be done. The good news is that after these Indian Summer days are past, so will the worst of these pesky stink bugs.

We were dismayed to hear that the four-course dinner was not filling. We try to walk the fine line of portion size in a multi-course meal between too much and too little and sincerely regret our guests’ feeling we were on the “too little” side. We strive for “just right”, but human beings being what we are, our ideas of “just right” don’t always coincide.

The lapses in service at breakfast as far as failure to offer juice or a coffee refill were certainly an error on our part, and for that we do apologize. We have impressed on our servers the need to be more attentive and appreciate very much your letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    25
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
426
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I began searching for a B&B for our 40th wedding anniversary a bit late and was dismayed to learn (or to remember!) that October is the new June and the majority of properties we considered were booked for weddings. We selected the Inn at Vaucluse Springs based almost exclusively on the fact that they had availability and boy - were we pleasantly surprised!! The property is absolutely stunning, Barry and Neil could not have been more welcoming and the food was incredible! Chef even made us a special little dessert for our anniversary! I am already planning when to return...when it's hot and we can go for a swim and then sit on the porch with a class of lemonade or when it's cold and we can come in from playing in the snow to sit in front of one of the 16 working fireplaces and read a good book?! I think we'll do both!

Room Tip: We stayed in Strother and thought it the best room in the manor house! If we take our whole family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington,MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The rooms are comfortable, the gourmet breakfasts are delicious and the Saturday night 6 course dinner was very special. With no televisions to distract this was truly a peaceful and quiet place to spend romantic evenings with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Don't miss the dinner at this place, what a treat! We stayed in the Cabin, very private, clean, comfortable. All attention from Neil, Barry, chef Adam was great. The 5-course dinners (we stayed 2 nights) were excellent, beautifully presented, and appealed to many tastes. No need to go elsewhere to eat if you are staying here! Breakfast - 3 courses- also great. The location was convenient to Washington DC area for a 1-1/2 hour drive for a getaway from northern VA. The property is secluded and private in a nice country setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having toured around Virginia for 10 days, we were looking for somewhere to spend a couple of peaceful days before our flight back to Scotland. This gem in the quiet countryside fitted the bill perfectly. Surroundings, facilities ,food - everthing was perfect. But the Inn's crowning glory is its two hosts, Neil and Barry, who treat everyone as best friends in their home, even the Scots.
If it wasn't so far away, we would be there every month, just to taste the 11yr old malt.
A public thank you to two nice people for the many happy memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Two years ago, my husband and I (and 6 of our good friends) met up at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring for a wonderful weekend to celebrate his 40th birthday. Last weekend it was my turn to celebrate my big day. The weekend was SO MUCH FUN. Neil and Barry are so welcoming and nice - and fun! The food was FABULOUS! It's a beautiful Inn that feels comfortable and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful experience. This was our first bed and breakfast and it made a lasting impression with memories we'll forever cherish! We also enjoyed the close by drive in theater, downtown Winchester and the Orchard. The breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere was beautiful.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Chumley House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.