We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, serenity, graciousness and flexibility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
329 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Beauty, serenity, graciousness and flexibility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Inn at Vaucluse Spring, near Winchester Virginia, is a lovely property, consisting of several buildings and offering a range of accommodations all of which are comfortable and charming. Many have a working fireplace and jacuzzi tub. They serve an excellent breakfast, included in the price of the room, and they offer gourmet dinners on Friday and Saturday nights. The grounds are very well-maintained and offer space for walking and enjoying nature, as well as a swimming pool for summer use. I am particularly appreciative of their willingness to alter their regular breakfast and dinner menus to accommodate my dietary concerns with equally delicious alternatives. They also grow herbs and greens for the meals, including the best watercress I ever ate anywhere.
We stay at many b and b's and inns, and this is one of the best.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, just decide which features you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
478
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have returned to the Inn time and time again. The beauty and tranquility of the property, the warm and accomodating staff, plus excellent dining experiences draw us back. Add to that their amazing ability to handle specific dietary restrictions beyond compare and you have everything wrapped up in one package.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

One of the loveliest B & Bs I have ever stayed at. In the picturesque northern Shenandoah Valley, nestled on many rolling country acres, the Inn at Vaucluse Spring is a culinary delight for both breakfast and optional dinners. The inn keepers are both very welcoming, helpful, and fun to talk with. The whole experience combines elegance and informal relaxation. They have many repeat, dedicated patrons. Near historic Winchester, many Civil War sites, and Virginia vineyards. Treat yourself to a treasure!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in desperate need of a quiet getaway that was far from the hustle and bustle of DC but close enough that we wouldn't spend half our time off getting there and home. We found it at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring.

It was clear that great care was taken to make each room unique and special. We stayed in the cottage and enjoyed the fact that it was close enough to the manor that meals were just a quick stroll, but still felt like our own little private getaway. The grounds were beautiful, and we loved milling around the property, checking out the other buildings, sitting by the spring, and taking off for a short hike into the countryside.

Inn Keepers Neil and Barry were simply wonderful, making us feel like old friends with welcome refreshments, the Saturday night social gathering, and kind words in passing to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

The meals were an indulgence to die for. We'd initially only reserved for Friday night's dinner, but after that meal we realized that missing the incredible Saturday night extravaganza would be something we'd regret for a long long time. It was easily one of the best meals we've had in our lives, and, compared to equivalent meals in restaurants in any major city, a bargain.

The rest of the staff at the inn, especially the hostesses/servers during the meals, were also fantastic--seemed so happy to be working at the inn and made us feel right at home.

I can't say enough about this special place. We were going to explore the surrounding areas and did somewhat, hitting a couple vineyards on the way home and taking a short trip to Winchester, but really we were most happy reading in front of the fire and enjoying the inn. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We loved the cottage and would recommend it for anyone with accessibility issues. We also peeked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Even though we live locally, this was our first visit to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring. We have stayed at numerous locations in the US, Mexico and the Caribbean, but this quiet location in the ridges of Virginia wins the prize for relaxation. Barry, Neil and their staff have the perfect scenario for a peaceful get away. During our stay, we received about 1" of snow which made the grounds and vegetation even more beautiful. Anything that you need during your visit is available for you. The presentation and quality of the included breakfast is outstanding. All of the staff were very professional as well as friendly. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. I would recommend that you select the room based on where you want to be wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have visited the Inn at Vaucluse Spring several times in past years, and it has always been a delight. The hosts are warm and welcoming; the historic manor house has been restored in a loving, meticulous and elegant way, and the other buildings have unique charm, as well. Barry and Neil are unfailingly welcoming and attentive to each detail of our stay. Breakfasts have always been a delight, and this last visit we were able for the first time to enjoy chef Adam's spectacular skill in a five-course dinner. Amazing! Each of my visits to Vaucluse Spring has become an indelible memory that has me looking forward to the next occasion.

Room Tip: The three rooms upstairs the Manor House, while more expensive, are wonderfully elegant and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I have been to many of Virginia’s finest inns, and I can honestly say that we’ve never had a better inn experience than at Vaucluse Spring. We stayed in a room in the Chumley Homeplace, and since we were the only guests that night (a Thursday in January), we had the entire house to ourselves: lovely bedroom with gas fireplace, spacious bathroom, plus a kitchen stocked with cold drinks and coffee available, and the main floor keeping room, where we enjoyed a cozy wood fire. We had an extraordinary private chef dinner created and personally served by Chef Adam (48 hrs. notice recommended), which included classic dishes with creative twists, as well as a few marvels of modern cuisine. The 3-course breakfast was delicious, as well. Innkeepers Barry and Neil welcomed us warmly (with hot chocolate and cookies), and made sure everything for our stay was just right. We will return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.5 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.