We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was our 7th stay at the inn, the first with snow (the spring was beautiful) and I am running out of superlatives. Just come here for a weekend, eat at the inn (you'll love it), and enjoy the hospitality of Neil, Barry, Michelle and Kelly. You'll be back.

Room Tip: Our favorites are the log cabin and the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    26
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
437
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is an amazing Inn. We are always impressed with the magnificent gounds, the impeccable appointments and the gracious hosts. This is a place that you will remember, as we have for many years. However, this 5-Star Inn has become even better with the addition of Chef Adam. His food and its presentation are breath-taking. You will enjoy his Friday night dinner, but you will never have better food than his six course Saturday night dinner. This is not simply great food this is a dining experience. Everything is made in his kitchen using herbs that he has grown or are from the gounds. The mixture of flavors is grandly unique because Chef Adam creates his own menu. Each course is assembled with amazing beauty and delicious combinations of textures, smells and flavors. Imagine eating incredible food you cannot get anywhere else and you can begin to understand why this is Inn is such a treasure. We will now visit the Inn every year because of Chef Adam's wonderful talent.

Room Tip: I like the the outlying cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring, well-rested and well-fed.

The Inn at Vaucluse Spring combines everything we look for in a vacation: a peaceful and beautiful setting, tasty breakfasts and close (very close) access to gourmet dining, comfortable furnishings, and close proximity to many outdoor activities. The Innkeepers, Neil and Barry, along with their wonderful staff, are extremely friendly and welcoming (and funny, to boot!).

There were some nice touches at the Inn that we really appreciated -- cookies and cider in the afternoons, having our room cleaned while we were eating breakfast, complimentary bottled water, access to plenty of materials describing activities nearby.

We opted to have dinner both Friday and Saturday nights at the Inn. The food was absolutely fabulous. The chef has the ability to put a great, unexpected twist on food. I must admit that I will always prefer my Caesar Salad grilled from now on!

We found there to be ample things to do nearby during our 3-night visit. Skyline Drive is about 20 minutes away, so we were able to spend every day leaf-peeping and hiking the trails there. After all that exercise, we really appreciated being able to enjoy a tasty dinner at the Inn.

We stayed in Gabriel's Room in the Cottage on the Hill, which had a jacuzzi tub and a nice little back porch area with chairs in the back. The bed was very comfortable, and it was so nice to be able to sleep in absolute silence. The Cottage on the Hill is right next to the Manor House, which means we had a very short, convenient walk there for breakfasts and dinners. I believe most of the other guests who weren't staying in the Manor House had to drive up for meals.

One thing we wished we had done is explore the grounds of the Inn more. There were so many pretty things to see, and so little time to see it!

If you enjoy a quiet getaway in a beautiful setting with great food, this is the place!

Room Tip: If you'd prefer a little more privacy than the Manor House, the two rooms in the Cottage on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is one of the best Inns we have ever stayed at. The location is idyllic, with streams, waterfalls, ponds, picturesque buildings, and pleasant walking paths. Breakfast is a three-course affair in the main manor house with truly excellent food. On weekends, five-course Prix fixe dinners are offered in the elegant dining rooms. We arrived mid-week, and asked about dinner. The chef, Adam, was still there preparing the next morning's breakfast. Remarkably, he offered to stay late and prepare us dinner with "whatever he had in the fridge." The result was outstanding! We could not have had a more enjoyable meal in any five-star restaurant. Adam planned, prepared, and served each of the five courses personally to us in the candle-lit main dining room. We could not have had more attention even if we were reviewers from Gourmet magazine!

With regard to accommodations, any of the rooms are good, but we found that the out-buildings are quaint and private. The Chumley House was excellent with two large sitting rooms, kitchen, powder room, screened porch, and a view of the mill pond. The wood-burning fireplace in the common room can be used by guests on cool evenings. Of the two upstairs rooms in this building, we liked the Chumley Suite the best since it faces the pond.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good, but we found that the out-buildings are quaint and private. The Chumley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was my second visit to the Inn. Amazingly in talking to other guests, we find that so many of the guests come back to Vacluse multiple times. Vacluse is in the Vlirginia countryside in a lovely, tranquil setting. The inn has multiple guest houses on the property adding privacy and seclusion if that is desired. This time we came with another couple and stayed upstairs in the two suites in the Chumley House. It was absolutely delightful, and we had use of the entire downstairs too, kitchen, living room, sun room, and porch.

The inn is comfortable and clean furnished simply, not fussy or overdone. The gourmet breakfasts and dinners are outstanding. A major factor that differentiates Vacluse from similiar places is the staff and owners Neil and Barry Myers. The entire staff is extremely competent, very friendly, and they all go out of their way to be helpful to the guests.

Staying at the inn is special. During our stay we found the guests to be in all age groups from their early 20s perhaps to their 80s. Wifi is available in the Manor House. Whether you just want to relax by your fireplace or get out and shop, or hike, or bike, or go to museums and historic sites, caverns, or Skyline drive, you will find something to peak your interest. My advice, don't think twice about this,
go to the Inn at Vacluse Spring.

Room Tip: The Chumley Homeplace upstairs suites were great for two couples on the trip together plus we had us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

As a recent 21- year- old, I was excited to have a trip away somewhere with lots of beautiful vineyards and landscape. The Inn at Vaucluse Spring offered an amazing get away free of the normal distractions that get in the way of a vacation. Barry and Michelle were so helpful in showing us around and telling my boyfriend and I where we could find what we were looking for (vineyards, caverns, shows, etc.). The whole area has so many things to do that it is impossible to not find something that interests you. We stayed in the Barton room (one of the Winter Kitchen rooms) and it exceeded our expectations. The room was beautifu and bed was very comfortable. We had the five course meal at the Inn on Saturday night and it was delicious and romantic. I can not wait to go back again for my next trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed for one night instead of the usual two , but when we arrived there, we tried to stay an additional night and they were booked up.
Lovely ,quiet rooms and a very peaceful setting. The Spring was gorgeous and we were very content to sit quetly and drink it all in.
Close to WInchester and an easy drive of about 1.5 hours from Maryland.
We plan to stay again.The food was delicious and the service very friendly and prompt.

Room Tip: Gabriel's Room had a gas fireplace and large whirlpool tub. It was an easy walk to the main Hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.