We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vaucluse Inn Continues to Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Save
You added The Inn at Vaucluse Spring to your Saves list
231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vaucluse Inn Continues to Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

When you arrive at Vaucluse Springs you can feel the serenity drop on you like a soft blanket. Sitting on the porch, meeting other guests, interactiing with our gracious hosts and their wonderful staff--it's all just delightful. And the food! Oh where to begin on that? The meals were better than ever--it just doesn't seem possible. This was our 11th year and the delight goes on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
473
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We picked this bed and breakfast on a whim, and were very happy with the experience. We did not have dinner at the inn, but the breakfasts were amazing. The staff were kind and helpful, and they had great space to relax, go for a swim, play board games, or read a book. They provided a lot of information about nearby hikes, attractions, and things to do.
I highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was a great weekend getaway--it felt worlds away from the city, but was still very convenient to get to, and very convenient to vineyards and hiking in the Shenandoah National Park. The innkeepers were very nice (but, as noted, very keen to let people enjoy their vacation without undue interference) and the buildings and grounds are beautiful. I join all the recommendations to have dinner at the Inn--the food was delicious and the perfect way to end the day. A very refreshing trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Our family celebrated our parents 60th wedding Anniversary the accommodations at the Chumley House were perfect for this gathering, pool just a few steps away -relaxation abounding. The meals and service were exceptional Saturday's 6 course dinner is not to be missed. Above all Neil and Barry as our hosts were gracious and so kind

A true delight to have stayed --can't wait to return

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Inn at Vaucluse is lovely. It's been a while but let me say how pleasantly surprised we were by everything. The Jones Room was a great place to hunker down in the winter. The fireplaces and the big bathtub were wonderful. I read for hours in the big comfy chairs.

Neil and Barry are great! They are both extremely personable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring for a 2 night weekend getaway within driving distance of where we live. We are SPG Gold members and typically choose Starwood hotels and resorts as our primary accommodations. We did not have positive experiences with bed and breakfast/inn accommodations in the past, so quite frankly, we were a little nervous about how the weekend would go.

We chose the Chumley Suite, which is on the top floor of the Chumley House. This building is the one where the pool is located, and is a short walk or drive from the main house. The main house is where you check in and out, and go for dining. At check in, we were met in the foyer of the main house by Neil, one of the owners. She greeted us, checked us in, confirmed our reservations for dinner there that evening (a Friday night) and showed us how to get to our room. What you have read here is true: you will not be given a room key. We knew this going in (Thanks, fellow TA users!). Surprisingly, we didn't mind not having it. You are able to lock the room from inside for privacy.

The room istelf was very spacious and impressively clean. The pictures on the Inn's website accurately depict it. Again, what you have read here is true: there is no TV or phone in the room. Just a small clock radio on the nightstand. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The towels were plush and inviting. Gilchrist and Soames toiletries were provided, and other items were available in the powder room on the first floor. Housekeeping tended to our room very well both evenings. The first floor of the Chumley House has a large, full kitchen. You can store items in their fridge (as long as you put your name on them), and it contained complementary water and soft drinks as well. It was nice to grab 2 bottles of water for our travels during the day, or take one up to your room at night. Coffee was also brewed every morning right in the kitchen, so you could go downstairs and help yourself to a nice mug of morning coffee without having to go all the way to the main house. There were so many nice places to sit and enjoy it as well - the sunroom of Chumley, the back porch of the Main House, or any of the rooms in both houses. Also, the property consists of 100 acres, with a natural spring. The pictures both on their website and here on TA accurately depict it. It is a very tranquil, quiet place that affords you a very peaceful night's sleep or opportunity to read, relax or reflect.

Now for the food - what you have read here is true again: very gourmet and simply amazing. If you have food allergies or certain dislikes, you can let them know in advance of your stay and they will accommodate you. Friday night they served a 3 course meal (that is separate from the breakfasts and comes at an additional charge). My husband does not eat seafood, and fish was the main course that evening. They prepared a separate main course just for him - braised short ribs over homemade pasta. The food was delicious and very well prepared. It was a meal on par with any fine dining restaurant in any major city, and at a fraction of that price. We also ordered a bottle of wine that we were able to cork and take back to our room. Breakfasts were also 3 courses: a fruit course (breakfast waldorf - apples, walnuts and a dollop of yogurt, strawberry rhubarb compote), a bread course (blueberry scones, glazed cherry almond bread) and the main course (frittata with sausage, raspberry croissant french toast with bacon). The meals were filling and delicious. The quality and caliber of food here is a reason to visit itself.

What we really enjoyed was the service. Again - we are used to Starwood's excellent service. The service here was very professional yet very personal. We had the same server Friday night and during both breakfasts Saturday and Sunday. That familiarity was really nice. Barry, the other owner, would make sure to stop and talk to each table of guests - making sure they were taken care of. And yet - for all the personal service, the Inn affords so much privacy and opportunity to peacefully relax, unplug and reconnect with your traveling companions. When we left Sunday morning, we were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our stay, and how relaxed we felt, and agreed we would certainly return if our travels take us back to that area.

I would highly recommend this Inn for visiting the Shenandoah Valley area. There are lots of wineries in the area, great golf, and the Shenandoah National Park. Take some time to explore their website and book a room - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed over a weekend (Fri-Sun) to celebrate our 40th birthdays. Upon arrival were met by Neal, offered refreshments and checked into our room - the Cabin. It is very private set up a little with a view of the pond. We really enjoyed the covered porch since it rained late in the afternoon and evening but we could sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine without getting wet. The best part were the meals prepared by their excellent Chef. Friday night was very good, breakfast was excellent, but the Saturday night 6 course meal was the best. The Chef did a wonderful job in explaining each course up front, then arrived in the dining room for Q&A after desert. Each course was over the top 5 star dining. Some people might not like that, but for us the gourmet meal was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.5 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#2 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.