We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical hotel, but halls & room smelled not-very-fresh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Town Run Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Colonial Beach, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Typical hotel, but halls & room smelled not-very-fresh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Checkin was smooth, clerk very helpful & efficient. The halls smelled like cigarette smoke, and the room smelled musty, which was annoying. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was typical for this type hotel - I do love those waffles -- and had hot eggs, plus cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. Next time I would look for a different hotel because of hall/room smell.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

On my way back from a horrible stay in New Jersey, I needed a good over night stay, so around 6 pm I hit a small town off of I-81 called Stephens City, Va, where I spotted this Comfort Inn. I went inside to a nicely appointed lobby where I inquired if they could put me up for the evening at a fair cost. These days I travel as a senior, an AARP member, a AAA member, and retired military, so I can generally count on some kind of discount. I was given a room on the second floor.. The room was very smartly appointed and if it had another 3 ft. it could have become a nice suite!! The night clerk informed me that if I displayed my room key to the cashier at the "Butcher Block Buffet" next door, that I would be given a 10% discount on my dinner, so I thought I'd give it a try. Wow, oh Wow, this place is great!!! They have just about every kind of food you could ever want and it's all good!! All-in-all, this worked out to be the best stop on I-81!!

Room Tip: You must try the Butcher Block Buffet across the parking lot, it's worth the small walk!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Overall we had a good experience. We just stayed the night to attend the Heritage Festival as a vendor. The breakfast was excellent, the room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The reason I can't rate this as excellent is because the hallways smell so bad of smoke. Everything looked clean, but the smoke smell was overwhelming. Thankfully we had a room at the end of the hotel and could enter through a side door so we didn't have to spend but 20 seconds in the halls, but that was bad enough.

Room Tip: Get a room on either end of the hotel. You will also want to request the first floor as there in no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were going to the nearby drive-in (that place is real winner, love it) and decided we didn't want to make a 2 hour drive at 1:30 in the morning so decided to stay here as it's only about 5 minutes from the theater. It was ok for the 8 or so hours we were there. However, there were several problems with our room (124), some of which were addressed, some were not. 1st, there were gigantic cobwebs in all of the corners. When we went to the front desk about it, they simply handed us a broom. 2nd, we had to place one of the sample toiletries in the drain so that it would stay open when showering. 3rd, when I was blowdrying my hair (using the hotel's blowdryer), a circuit tripped and we were left in total darkness until they figured out how to fix it. 4th, the "double" beds are super small, not much bigger than twin beds. The carpet could use a thorough cleaning or replacing, the bathroom as well. It was clear the grout hadn't been cleaned in years. The staff was very nice and overall helpful. They could use a more professional and polished appearance, though. The front desk staff were wearing "smocks" that could have come straight from the 70's, and they were wearing badges that said housekeeping. That's not their fault, of course, but a more uniform and updated, professional uniform would probably give a better impression. Overall, it wasn't a bad hotel, just some little stuff that could use attention. Their price point is rather high, given the conditions. I'd probably stay there again, if the price was better and more in-keeping with the condition or if they gave the place a much-needed renovation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The lack of an elevator was the only thing we had a complaint about. The room was spotless and the beds were super comfortable! It was nice to be able to open the window. The water pressure in the shower was awesome! Breakfast was ok, nothing special. We would stay again!

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stephens City is certainly not a popular destination. Upon learning we needed to travel there for a funeral, we booked the Comfort Inn. It was close to where we needed to be. I made a mistake when booking and had an additional room booked, the manager was very nice in understanding and cancelled the extra room with no problem at all. The staff was excellent, made you feel like part of the family. The rooms are clean and bright, you can open the windows on the first floor. Every accommodation we needed was met. The location was perfect for what we needed to do. The breakfast was your usual continental breakfast, fresh and well stocked. Would definitely return again when visiting in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special, nothing particularly negative. I would stay here again. Wifi worked well, friendly staff, clean, std. Comfort Inn breakfast. Offers discount at nearby restaurants. We stayed here because it was relatively close to Front Royal where we drove Skyline Parkway.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 167 Town Run Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.