We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Town Run Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No elevator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The lack of an elevator was the only thing we had a complaint about. The room was spotless and the beds were super comfortable! It was nice to be able to open the window. The water pressure in the shower was awesome! Breakfast was ok, nothing special. We would stay again!

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stephens City is certainly not a popular destination. Upon learning we needed to travel there for a funeral, we booked the Comfort Inn. It was close to where we needed to be. I made a mistake when booking and had an additional room booked, the manager was very nice in understanding and cancelled the extra room with no problem at all. The staff was excellent, made you feel like part of the family. The rooms are clean and bright, you can open the windows on the first floor. Every accommodation we needed was met. The location was perfect for what we needed to do. The breakfast was your usual continental breakfast, fresh and well stocked. Would definitely return again when visiting in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special, nothing particularly negative. I would stay here again. Wifi worked well, friendly staff, clean, std. Comfort Inn breakfast. Offers discount at nearby restaurants. We stayed here because it was relatively close to Front Royal where we drove Skyline Parkway.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

You can't get away from the smoke. The halls are smoky - no attempt at ventilation. There's people smoking right next to the lobby entry. Nonsmoking rooms are adjacent to smoking rooms - it's a joke, there's no attempt to accommodate nonsmokers at all. If smoke bothers you, stay away.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is an acceptable choice if you are looking for an economical place to stay and don't expect too much.

My wife and I did not find the bed all that comfortable, and that would be our primary issue. We had the foresight to request a room on the first floor, which was a good thing, as there is no elevator and my wife has difficulty climbing stairs.

The breakfast (included in room rate) was okay, certainly good enough for a quick bite before hitting the road, but nothing special.

The room was clean, and except for the bed, reasonably comfortable.

I found that the wifi connected without much fuss, but that every time I closed my iPad, the next time I opened it I had to log in all over again, which was a minor nuisance. The wifi seemed a bit slow at times.

I'd consider staying elsewhere if in the area again, but mostly hoping to find a more comfortable bed. The rest of the room was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room, unless you don't mind schlepping your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in the Stephens City/Front Royal, VA area for a Golf Tournament. We found The Comfort Inn right off of I-81 which was very clean, VERY reasonably priced and convenient to the golf course, shopping and many restaurants. Our room was very spacious, very clean, the beds were extremely comfortable (especially the pillows). The staff was very nice. The breakfast was surprisingly good. Parking was spacious and even though we were right off of I-81 we heard none of the traffic (and our room was on the front of the building). I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the end of the first floor next to the parking lot entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel since both of the major chain hotels were booked solid in nearby Front Royal. So we ended up here. There is no elevator to the second floor so elderly guests should be aware. We were in a non-smoking room but unfortunately a smoking room was right across the hall. You could smell cigarette smoke coming into our room - but we managed to keep it at bay by running our air conditioner. The breakfast was basic, but trouble was that there was only seating for about 10-12 people, so we ate ours standing up! It is ok to stay here if you have to, but I would suggest trying to get into the new Holiday Inn in Front Royal....it is brand new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 167 Town Run Lane, Stephens City, VA 22655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.