We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodation with an above average breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average accommodation with an above average breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Stephens City was a convenient place to stop on our return trip to New Jersey. The room was large and clean although nothing special, however the breakfast was better than most we encountered on our travels. The variety was surprising and the hot choices were fresh and plentiful. The desk staff were welcoming and friendly. The Italian restaurant around the corner was also surprisingly goog too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear pjrule,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am very happy that you have enjoyed or breakfast selection. However, please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
36
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Do not stop at this hotel. It should not be allowed to carry the HI logo. Lobby was nearly empty of furniture, dirty. The first room we were sent to reeked so much of smoke we ran out as soon as the door was opened. We always specify no smoking and it was on the reservation. Got keys to another room. AC never cooled room all nite. The whole hotel is filthy, including the room we ended up with. Not only did we find clothing left in the bathroom but when I opened the drawer under the phone we found empty packages of Chinese sex stimulants. Must have been a real party scene. We would have left if there had been another place to go. In addition, there are only fast food restaurants around and they too are filthy. Skip the entire exit ang keep driving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lydia L,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We welcome feedback as it assist us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests.

I am sorry to hear about your experience at our property. I hope you can believe me when I say that your experience is not the norm in our hotel. I humbly extend an apology for any shortcomings you had in your room and deeply regret the dissatisfaction you had with our level of cleanliness.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped in without a reservation while traveling along Hwy 81. The room was beautiful and very spacious. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast only because we'd stayed in another of this hotel chain in another city that had a full breakfast buffet. But this breakfast was adequate, just not spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We're pretty inexperienced at travel east of the Mississippi, but on our quest to visit National Parks across the country we found ourselves in Virginia.

We picked this Holiday Inn Express property because of the proximity to the park and its pretty high rankings on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed.

The property is located just off an intersection with the highway less than 30 minutes to the north visitor center of the park. The hotel is relatively new, very clean, and had the quietest air conditioning system I've ever heard. I wish I would have checked to see who manufactured it - they deserve a commendation.

The hotel sits back from the highway quite a ways, so the room was quiet. It was also comfortable, with a great bed and the typical Holiday Inn shower head and curved shower curtain that make the shower so comfortable.

The route via GPS to the park includes a nice jaunt on a country road that is very scenic, making for a nice excursion.

I'd recommend this hotel for travelers in the area.

Room Tip: I don't think there will be a bad room. The neighborhood is rural.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were tired, it was pouring rain, trucks hindering your view, stress....sound familiar? We stopped here and used a travel coupon for a bargain stay. Chris at the front desk was very courteous regarding coupon and didn't treat us like second class citizens, if you know what I mean. Room was nice, we got 316, which was smoking floor but just 1 floor up from front desk. Beautiful view. Beds were comfy, internet worked fine. Loved the pancakes in the morning instead of those waffles you see everywhere. Really nice stuff on buffet breakfast. Went to Butcher Block buffet, just walked over there, for dinner. Not a lot of selection like some of them, but the quality was better for the most part. They had great BBQ ribs, real mashed potatoes, other items pretty standard, but price at @ $9 each (sr rate) was good for what we had. Good place to stay overnight or even much longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of man
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed one night , Hotel very clean and staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel is easy to find and very covenient to Interstate, Only drawback for me were the early departure truckers who seemed to leave the engines running on tick over just below our window for what seemed like ages. we were on 2nd floor, this may have been a one off annoyance. Several eateries close to but check out the 'Butchers Block' Great buffet , hot tasty and plenty of choice at low price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel previously and loved it but our recent visit changed our opinion. First the internet in our room went down. We called the desk. They told us it is a bandwidth problem and we should call their internet provider. Isn't that their job? We called and he was unable to help us. As a result we had no internet access.
We had a non-smoking room. During the night a strong smell of fresh cigarette smoke came into our room on a regular basis. Not sure if it came from the hall or the adjoining room. It was so strong that it woke us up. Shouldn't a non-smoking room be smoke free?
We will not stay here again. Poor customer service and cigarette smoke have changed our minds regarding this hotel.
Gave it a 3 because it was clean and had a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Lakelorain,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. I am disappointed that this stay was not up to your previous stays.
On the issue with the internet, we pay a wireless internet support company to keep all of our guests connected and happy. They have requested that the front desk agent have the guest call them directly so they can speak to the person sitting in front of the laptop not some one who is relaying messages back and forth. I am sorry you had the issue and I will contact our internet support company as to why they could not get you connected and how can we prevent it from happening again.
We do our best to keep all the nonsmoking rooms smoke free. Sometimes a guest will smoke in a non smoking room and we are unaware of this until the guest checks out. It is our policy that if evidence of smoking is found then a cleaning charge in the amount of $200.00 is charged to the guest’s credit card for us to sanitize and ionize the room to remove the smoke particles.
Again we are sorry for the inconvenience this has caused and we do ask to give us another chance when back this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn
Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Winchester South to your Saves list