We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Friendly and Accomodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Winchester South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer Friendly and Accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is very customer friendly especially to business groups that need a place to hang out. The hotel let the large group of employees of IAC use the lobby, couches and tables and tv to all relax with each other and have dinner as a group. This could not have been done in the hotel rooms due to the amount of people. The staff is extremely friendly and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. This is a excellent establishment to stay if you are passing through or working in the area.

Thanks again,

John - IAC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
43
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thank you for everything . Chris check me in and did an awsome job.. very nice. Carol was very sweet also very helpful. We had a great stay and will tell our friends and we will come back in the future. Thank you for everything

Room Tip: chocolate in the room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed the first stay here on our return trip we stopped again the beds are very confortable the staff is awesome the breakfest was real good lots to choose from the rooms were very clean wifi is great we will stop here again on our trips North and South.Give it a try. thanks Chris .

Room Tip: choose Holiday Inn Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear RABSR,

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Happy Thanksgiving!

The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It had been a long day riding and we were extremely tired. The Holiday Inn Express was a welcomed stop. The front desk staff was very helpful, the weather was rainy and they allowed us to park our motorcycles under the cover and they said they would keep an eye on them through the night.

We checked in, had a couple beers in the bar area to unwind. They had cheap happy hour specials going on, After a couple drinks we headed back to the room. We found the room spotless and very comfortable. When we checked out in the morning we were considering having breakfast there but only had coffee ... I found a Waffle House down the road and I love WH breakfast, we don't have any where I live so when I get a chance we go. I am sure the rest at the Holiday Inn would have been just as good as the rest of our experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear IV-Man1,
We appreciate your business and your recent review of our services. We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with a welcoming atmosphere and shelter from the storm—your bike too. If you pass through our region in the future please do stop by and see us.
Take care,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We usually stay at the Holiday Inn in Front Royal but because we were late in making reservations during the height of the leaf peeping season, we ended up in Stephens City. We had an excellent room -- it was very nice and restful. Our breakfast was good although the only quibble I had was no non-sugar sweeteners (the night before -- there was plenty for our tea so it must have been the morning rush).

It was very crowded but there was no problem checking in, getting around, getting breakfast and checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear redhd59,

Thank you for your recent review. We are thankful that your travel plans included our hotel this time. We appreciate your business and are happy we were able to offer you an “excellent” room. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe travels,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The staff are this Hotel, from the front desk (Verunice and Chris) to the Housekeepers, they all made me feel like family in the mist of "Sandy". The Breakfast was wonderful. The hotel was very clean. I will go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Patsy978,

We are happy to hear we were able to host you during the wrath of “Sandy.” We are so thankful to hear that our team members took great care of you and that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope to see you in the future!

Take care,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
209 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
795 helpful votes 795 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The room was nice, in great chape, spacious and comfortable. It was clean as well. The front desk girl was neither particularly friendly nor very efficient. The assigned room did not match my reservation request, she also did not offer any upgrade options - for a platinum level PC membership. I needed to print my boarding passes for the flight next day, so I went down to use the "business center". The computer and the screen appear decades old, extremly slow and above all the internet connection wasn't working at all! I reported the problem to an older man who joined the young girl at the front desk. He was trying to solve the problem by calling their provider, but was not successful. In the end I used my ipad to check-in for my flight, then emailed the boarding passes to the front desk where they printed them for me. When they invested a lot of money into (a very nice) remodelling of the rooms, they could have spared a few more bucks for a new computer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Slo-Lju,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you found our rooms to be nice and comfortable, however, we apologize that we fell short for you in other areas. It is our mission to present a friendly atmosphere where everything works. Although we were able to get your boarding pass printed, we are sorry that the business center was not running efficiently during your stay. If you visit the area again please stop by and see us so that we may improve upon your experience.

Thank you,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.