We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal at the HIE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Winchester South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Deal at the HIE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express. When we first got to the room I was a bit concerned because it was directly across from the elevator and ice machine. I was happy to find during the night though that although the hotel was full there was very little noise from either inside or outside the hotel. I heard a few doors being slammed early in the morning, but other than that the room was quiet. The air conditioning worked well although because it had been so humid out it still felt a bit damp. The room included a refrigerator, and was a reasonable size and appeared to be clean. Breakfast was pretty standard for a Holiday Inn Express. Our rate for the night was very reasonable for the area so I felt we got a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear usroadman,

Thank you for the review and for selecting our property while visiting the area. We are happy to hear you found our rate to be value driven and that you had the opportunity to utilize our added amenities such as the microwave and refrigerator. We would love the opportunity to host you again should you return to the area.

Take care,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    39
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
41
43
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stopped on a trip to North Carolina before taking on Skyline Drive the next morning. Reasonable prices, friendly, and clean. Very bright and spacious breakfast area. I also recommend Roma Casual Italian and Greek, around the corner, for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear highway6161,

We are happy to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful Skyline Drive National Park. We love our bright and spacious breakfast nook and glad you did too. Roma Casual Italian is a local favorite that we are happy to partner with—glad you enjoyed!

Thank you for the review and the opportunity to host you in June.

Take care,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stopped here later at night after the first leg of a long drive. They had a room readily available, the price was reasonable. Every member of the staff was super friendly and helpful, I couldn't have been more impressed! Rooms were outfitted with everything we could have needed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Virginiakp2012,

We are so pleased to hear that you were impressed by our courteous staff and well-appointed guestrooms. We strive to build a happy team that is excited to serve guests like you!

Safe travels,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S (Stephens City) VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The night staff could use improvement, however Veronica and Vickie saved my opinion completely! They provided me with some of the best customer service I have ever had! I wish they worked for my company!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Bhambro,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to see our team members, Veronica and Vickie, provided you with top notch customer service! I apologize for your experience with our night staff during your stay. We have listened to your feedback and have implemented changes and training practices accordingly. We hope to exceed your expectations in this area during your next visit. Thank you!

Safe travels,
The team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S (Stephens City)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Looks like its been newly remodeled. Poor Internet service. Slow and sometimes couldn't get on at all. Breakfast bar not as good as other HIE I've stayed at in the past. Which is surprising because it's always been great at other HIE. If you need a rollaway expect to move furniture to make it fit. Never had that problem before was a bit annoying. Friendly staff. Outdoor pool, not heated. Nasty greasy looking stuff on the head board kinda grossed me out too. I wish housekeeping would wipe that down in between guest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supply, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back home. This was a quiet stay. Close to I-81 but the hotel is situated perpendicular to the highway so road noise is low. The room was clean and the staff pleasant. Complimentary breakfast was adequate but I missed fresh fruit. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained. The staff is exceptional .... very friendly and make every effort to ensure a pleasant stay. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.