We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher Block Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Butcher Block Buffet
131 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
540-869-4141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good for a buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I have eaten here,presentation was good on buffet,real mashed not instant food overall good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    38
    21
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Buffets can be sources of mass quantities of mediocre food but the Butcher Block has some great entrees such as beef brisket, ribs, macaroni and cheese, and a fresh, varied salad bar which brings many diners back again and again. Desserts were plentiful - especially enjoyed the bread pudding and apple cobbler.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Butcher Block has a stupendous buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My only complaint? I would get fat within a week, because the quantity and quality of food and the very reasonable price make this a must.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth stopping for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I were traveling home from South Carolina. It was getting late and we saw a sign with the name of the buffet. Without knowing anything about it we took a chance. The parking lot was crowded so that was a good indication. It was a Saturday night and we just walked up and paid. $21 and change for 2 with no drinks ( we get water). The staff was warm and friendly. The buffet had all good home cooked foods. Everything we tried was great, warm and well stocked. They had a smokehouse section with pulled pork, brisket of beef, turkey and roast beef, cut to order. I could not get over the tenderness and flavors of all the smoked items. They brought warm rolls that were wonderful too straight to the table.I wish I had more room to eat more, but knew I was going to be stuck in a car for hours so did not push my luck. They offer breakfast at 7.99 and I don't know what lunch costs. The baked goods were also delicious.
We will definitely be making this one of our stops while traveling. I wish they were a chain.
I don't think anyone would be disappointed. They offer a seafood buffet on Fridays I believe that is 16.99. If you want crab legs it is 39.99.
Stop by and enjoy great food. You won't be sorry

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whispering Pines, NC
2 reviews
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Good food choice, sometimes too crowded to get a group table

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Block Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Butcher Block Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher Block Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.