We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Sugar Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Tree Inn
Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Thoroughly delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010 via mobile

Although it has nearly been a year since my first stay at Sugar Tree Inn, I remember it to be such a pleasurable one. I hope to return someday to this beautiful setting overlooking the mountains and gazing off into the sunset.
I would highly recommend to family and friends if they venture that way.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    21
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
107
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We recently had our 4th stay at the Sugar Tree Inn.This is our first review and it is motivated by the most recent somewhat negitive review. I have worked in international Tourism for over 40 years and it is my view that if these people had a disappointment then they could not have made Jeff an/of Beckey aware of it as they(Jeff and Beckey) would have fixed it staightway if it was in anyway reasonable. Great spot,great food,great hospitality! Road in is a bit to get your attention but that is all. If you come to a "mountain inn" for all its charms you cannot expect a 4 lane interstate to the front door!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

A charming, rustic country inn with a friendly, helpful staff and wonderful food. Our room, overlooking trees ablaze in fall colors, had all the conveniences that one would expect in a well-run establishment. Our host and hostess, Jeff and Becky, were always available to make our stay pleasant and relaxing. A huge, inviting fireplace welcomed us in the lodge and a smaller version, in our room. A rocking chair, strategically placed in front of the hearth invited us to rest comfortably after a hard day of hiking. The bed was comfortable. Jeff did the cooking (excellent) and Becky's delicious baked oatmeal (sorry, no recipes given out) got us going in the morning. Eggs, sausage, toast, piping hot coffee, biscuits, grits and muffins -- the latter three homemade -- were available, also. As if that weren't enough, a family of deer arrived each morning outside the dining room, giving us a chance to see wildlife close up and personal. Hard to imagine a better country inn for the weary traveler.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We have been coming to the Sugar Tree since 1995, we found this Inn in the dark while on a motorcycle trip. The ride up Rt. 56 was only half the adventure, the driveway was the other half, so if we can navigate this in the dark on a motorcycle, fear not!

The Sugar Tree is nestled in the mountains one mile down from the Blue Ridge Pkwy. After we arrived, we settled in and have been regular guest for 15 years.

The Sugar Tree offers a variety of rooms and decor', we started in one of the log cabin rooms for a few years and have settled nicely into the "Sugar Tree" room. This room is located in the main lodge; it has a spa tub and fireplace.

Jeff & Becky are the Inn keepers; you couldn't ask for better folks, they are down to earth and wonderful hosts. My wife and I travel a lot and have stayed in many Bed & Breakfast's... this is the only one we have continued to revisit year after year.

Dining, hospitality, accommodations and of course, location, location, location are what compel us to re-visit the Sugar Tree.

This area of the Blue Ridge Mountains offer so many day trip opportunities, we have yet to visit them all. Heck, one day, we didn't even leave the front porch, we just sat there enjoyed the view and a bottle of wine.

So if it's decompression, relaxation and reconnecting you're looking for, then Sugar Tree should be your next get-away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola, fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

This Inn is quaint and has a great setting in the woods off the Blue Ridge Parkway. The rooms are spacious and have fireplaces...the log cabin aspect is a plus. However, this visit was marred by a shortage of hospitality. A warm welcome and concern for guests was missing.

Food was average at best. On the plus side, the front porch and its rocking chairs lovely, and the rain on the roof set a great mood.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugartreeinn, Owner at Sugar Tree Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Because hospitality and food quality are subjective values and everyone is entitled to their opinions, I will respond to this post simply by stating what we consistently offer our valued guests here at The Sugar Tree
We always try to personally greet each guest, personally interact at breakfast and dinner, and we always make ourselves available during the day.
While our food is not fancy, it is always prepared fresh for every meal using the finest ingredients. This morning’s breakfast included coffee and juice, fresh fruit, frittata, smoked sausage, ham, grits, Becky’s baked oatmeal, and biscuits. Last night’s dinner included home made minestrone soup or garden fresh salad, freshly baked bread, pork with figs, gorgonzola cheese & a port wine reduction or wild caught salmon topped with a mango peach salsa, home made mashed red potatoes, asparagus and choice of four desserts.
With that said, I would encourage Trip Advisor readers to read the other reviews our guests have written concerning our exceptional hospitality and food. And then come visit us to find out for themselves! I know you will find us to be very hospitable and the food to be well above your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had the Tye River room, which is located upstairs in the main building. There is a lounge right outside the room, which was used by a hiking group when we stayed there. As a result, our room was noisy until their meeting broke up. The room is spacious and nicely furnished with unique pieces appropriate to the location. The bath is tiny.

The innkeepers are exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Both dinner and breakfast were good, with generous portions. The WiFi didn't work when we were there.

Please note that the inn is accessed by a long, unpaved one-way drive. We never did figure out what would happen if a vehicle came the other way. Our Ford Fusion rental car bottomed out at least once. However, the hiking group came in a large van, which apparently managed to get there just fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We enjoyed our stay and plan to return in the fall. The Inn is cozy and rustic but could use a little updating. The food was to die for but dinner and the rooms were slighlty overpriced. The wildlife at the inn was too cute and very entertaining to watch. The inn keepers met our needs and were friendly. We reccomend this inn if you are looking for a nice place t relax and unwind. Overall the views and the wildlife as well as the food make this inn worthy of a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Tree Inn

Address: Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Tree Inn, Virginia's Mountain Inn, is a country retreat nestled into a mountainside less than a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here you will discover romantic seclusion in rustically elegant surroundings. Each spacious room or suite offers a private woodburning fireplace, fantastic beds, and beautiful, comfortable furnishings. There are forty-mile views from the front porch rockers, with spectacular sunsets and, during season, more hummingbirds than you can count! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sugar Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Tree Hotel Steeles Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.