We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hidden gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sugar Tree Inn to your Saves list
Sugar Tree Inn
Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
North Lopham, diss, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Found this Inn on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast in mid May 2014. Sugar Tree Inn was ideally located for us just off the Blue Ridge Parkway - great on our Parkway road trip. Our Hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to help us with information on local attractions and wildlife.

The accommodations are just what it says on the 'Tin' - cosy rustic log cabins and main house with welcoming front porch and swing. We found the food very good - both dinner and breakfast - all home cooked. The entrance driveway is challenging ! - narrow winding and a bit rough - but hey you are in the middle of the mountains..!! We found the rooms comfortable, clean and plenty large enough - my husband is 6'4.. We were able to get wi-fi internet in the main house and our hosts were more than happy to let us use the phone to book ahead for our next nights accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    23
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
127
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Slept like a baby in the incredibly comfortable bed and ate like a queen during each fabulous meal. The oatmeal is a must! Loved feeling "off the grid" in the beautiful mountains and yet it was only a quick drive to take in all the nearby attractions. The inn keepers were amazing hosts. Like staying in the home of beloved friends. Amazing experience- can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Located near the Blue Ridge Parkway and Crabtree falls, this rustic inn gives you a taste of history. The Charming rooms and gorgeous views from the front porch of the Lodge offer a great get away. We enjoyed our stay and the ability to enjoy the beauty of the Virginia mountains.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

the main lodge was beautiful! could've sat on the front porch and rocked all day long. loved it being in the middle of nowhere -- very peaceful. sweet sweet innkeepers who truly cared about your stay. highly recommend a kayaking trip down the james river and breakfast at the inn.

Room Tip: if I had to do it over again, I personally would've preferred to stay in the actual inn where th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Sugar Tree Inn is in a quiet small town. The innkeepers are very accommodating and the beds are amazing. Come hungry because they will feed you amazing meals. We look forward to returning for another kid free getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a perfect getaway. Sugartree is a rustic inn which sits in a beautiful setting. Becky and jeff make you feel like family and the food is of the charts. Debi and I will definitely be back. There are great attractions close by and skyline drive is a wonderful experience. Views from this road are breathtaking

Room Tip: Stay in main inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The approach to The Sugar Tree Inn is a long, one-lane street that goes down a steep hill. There is hill on one side and cliff on the other, with no way for another vehicle to pass. The road is gravel and full of pot holes. The inn, itself, while rustic, is clean and pleasant. The bathrooms are very small. They do not supply ice if you want a drink in your room. There is no cable, but they do have a limited supply of VHS movies you can watch on a TV in your room. Dinner was not good at all. There was a lot of it, but it must have been pre-prepared and heated over. The flavor and texture were not good. There are two dinner seatings: one at 6:30 and one at 7:00, and we had chosen the 7:00 seating. When we got there, our hostess asked us if we would like to come to dinner at 6:30 because she'd over-booked the 7:00 seating. We said we'd prefer to come at 7:00. When we got to dinner at 7:00 we noticed that there were only about two other couples there. They were definitely not over-booked. They do serve wine and beer with dinner. It was a chilly evening -- about 40 degrees or so -- and there was a fireplace in the room. We could not use it, however, because our hostess told us that they had closed the fireplaces for the season. It was mid-May. It was a wood-burning fireplace, and the ashes had not yet been cleaned out. All they had to do was open the damper and bring us some wood. I don't know what it means to "close the fireplace." Breakfast was very good -- an egg casserole, hash browns, baked oatmeal -- all very well prepared, not at all like the dinner. I would not stay there again just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugartreeinn, Owner at Sugar Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
While we always hate to hear that a guest was not happy with their stay with us, we have learned over the years that sometimes there is nothing we can do to please some guests. Take, for example, their comment that we do not have ice available. We do have ice available, and they know full well that we have ice available. I know for a fact that they know because he came to our ice machine at 9:30 pm and, unfortunately but necessarily, we were in the process of defrosting it. Becky immediately walked to our house and returned with a bucket of ice for them. And yet they say we don't have ice available? That pretty much sums up their mindset from the moment they arrived, so I'll leave it at that... other than to ask you to please read our other reviews and then come see for yourself. We know you'll be glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Tree Inn

Address: Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Tree Inn, Virginia's Mountain Inn, is a country retreat nestled into a mountainside less than a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here you will discover romantic seclusion in rustically elegant surroundings. Each spacious room or suite offers a private woodburning fireplace, fantastic beds, and beautiful, comfortable furnishings. There are forty-mile views from the front porch rockers, with spectacular sunsets and, during season, more hummingbirds than you can count! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sugar Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Tree Hotel Steeles Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.