We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent adult getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Sugar Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Tree Inn
Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Excellent adult getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Sugar Tree Inn is in a quiet small town. The innkeepers are very accommodating and the beds are amazing. Come hungry because they will feed you amazing meals. We look forward to returning for another kid free getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    21
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
113
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a perfect getaway. Sugartree is a rustic inn which sits in a beautiful setting. Becky and jeff make you feel like family and the food is of the charts. Debi and I will definitely be back. There are great attractions close by and skyline drive is a wonderful experience. Views from this road are breathtaking

Room Tip: Stay in main inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The approach to The Sugar Tree Inn is a long, one-lane street that goes down a steep hill. There is hill on one side and cliff on the other, with no way for another vehicle to pass. The road is gravel and full of pot holes. The inn, itself, while rustic, is clean and pleasant. The bathrooms are very small. They do not supply ice if you want a drink in your room. There is no cable, but they do have a limited supply of VHS movies you can watch on a TV in your room. Dinner was not good at all. There was a lot of it, but it must have been pre-prepared and heated over. The flavor and texture were not good. There are two dinner seatings: one at 6:30 and one at 7:00, and we had chosen the 7:00 seating. When we got there, our hostess asked us if we would like to come to dinner at 6:30 because she'd over-booked the 7:00 seating. We said we'd prefer to come at 7:00. When we got to dinner at 7:00 we noticed that there were only about two other couples there. They were definitely not over-booked. They do serve wine and beer with dinner. It was a chilly evening -- about 40 degrees or so -- and there was a fireplace in the room. We could not use it, however, because our hostess told us that they had closed the fireplaces for the season. It was mid-May. It was a wood-burning fireplace, and the ashes had not yet been cleaned out. All they had to do was open the damper and bring us some wood. I don't know what it means to "close the fireplace." Breakfast was very good -- an egg casserole, hash browns, baked oatmeal -- all very well prepared, not at all like the dinner. I would not stay there again just for the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugartreeinn, Owner at Sugar Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
While we always hate to hear that a guest was not happy with their stay with us, we have learned over the years that sometimes there is nothing we can do to please some guests. Take, for example, their comment that we do not have ice available. We do have ice available, and they know full well that we have ice available. I know for a fact that they know because he came to our ice machine at 9:30 pm and, unfortunately but necessarily, we were in the process of defrosting it. Becky immediately walked to our house and returned with a bucket of ice for them. And yet they say we don't have ice available? That pretty much sums up their mindset from the moment they arrived, so I'll leave it at that... other than to ask you to please read our other reviews and then come see for yourself. We know you'll be glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having never stayed at the Sugar Tree Inn I had only web pictures to go on but it looked like what I was wanting. I wanted a quiet get a way for my husband and I and The Sugar Tree Inn is certainly that. It is very secluded yet within a close distance of attractions (30-45 min). We went there on a Friday afternoon and had dinner at the Inn that night. The menu is limited but has a great variety to choose from > We had the pecan crusted Trout and the beef ribs and were delighted with the quality of food and preparation. The service was fantastic. I felt like I was in a European restraunt where courses are served individually and over a space of time. It was a delightful meal and the atmosphere was pleasant. The breakfast was scrumptious. a side is their oatmeal and as one who does not like oatmeal I took a chance on this one and came back for thirds it was sooooo good. The rest of the breakfast buffet was as delicious .
The Inn has a very welcoming atmosphere and the host Becky and Jeff are very helpful and quit friendly. The only draw back , which was beyond anyones blame were the stink bugs. Not many but enough to have to deal with, we had over the course of a weekend about 15, As long as one realizes they are harmless unless you squash them (they stink) they are no problem.
To get to the Inn you have to go about 1/4 mile on a one lane road in the mountains , it was so NICE. I highly recommend this Inn. Sleeping there was like sleeping on a cloud. Sound.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge and the rooms were big and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We only spent one night, but the stay was excellent. Nice homey room with a view of the Shenandoah Valley. The rockers on the front porch with the babbling water below makes the real world seem very far away. We were lucky in that just as we turned out the lights that night, it started raining. The sound of the rain on the roof made for great sleeping. Dinner was very good, and as everyone else has commented, breakfast is over-the-top. I had seen several comments about the baked oatmeal, and the comments were well deserved. Becky & Jeff were wonderful hosts, guiding us to the nearby Blue Ridge Parkway to continue our journey. A great start to our short vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for the Sugar Tree Country room. Has a beautiful view of the Shenandoah Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Sugar Tree Inn is always way beyond our expectations and this trip was no exception. Owners, Jeff and Becky are wonderful hosts. We stayed in the lodge and it was so peaceful. The living room area and fireplace seemed like home. The food is delicious and plentiful. The area is beautiful. This trip included downtown Lexington. If you are looking for a peaceful, quiet time away - here it is!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I could only stay one night, but the experience makes us want to go back for a longer stay. The room was very nice, the breakfast was top of the line. Our schedule required a "late arrival" that got even later, but Becky and Jeff made it perfect....gave us front door directions and not only had the lights on, but also turned on the heat!! A quick-starting fire and our room was heavenly!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Goshen Pass room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Tree Inn

Address: Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Tree Inn, Virginia's Mountain Inn, is a country retreat nestled into a mountainside less than a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here you will discover romantic seclusion in rustically elegant surroundings. Each spacious room or suite offers a private woodburning fireplace, fantastic beds, and beautiful, comfortable furnishings. There are forty-mile views from the front porch rockers, with spectacular sunsets and, during season, more hummingbirds than you can count! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sugar Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Tree Hotel Steeles Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.