We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Bit of Americana In The Blue Ridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Sugar Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Tree Inn
Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Waynesboro, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Americana In The Blue Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had wanted a special place to spend the night to celebrate my husband's birthday. However, I did not want to travel too far. I went on line and found several Bed and Breakfast establishments. I kept coming back to the Sugar Tree Inn. Sight unseen I booked a room in the small cabin across from the main lodge. We were not disappointed! Beautiful settings, most gracious, and helpful Inn Keepers, and the best breakfast I have ever had in my life! and plenty of it!! The baked oatmeal was a gastronomical delight! If you want a quiet place of reflection, and enjoy the beauty of nature, then this is the place for you! We are so glad we tried this fine Inn, and I guarantee that you will be too. It is rustic, with a country décor, and just plain delightful. Go, and don't forget the "Baked Oatmeal"!!

Room Tip: Try the cabin Lovely décor, great view, and no television!! Great mattresses! Very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    21
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are looking for modernity, then maybe this is not the place for you. If you are looking for peace and quiet and to a laid back lifestyle this is perfect. We stayed in the Goshem log cabin style room and it was delightful. No tv, no telephone, no fridge, no microwave, just a coffee maker. What more do you really need? If you need more than this, please do not consider it. As dinner is only served on Friday and Saturday evening you must be prepared for a thirty to forty mile round trip for an evening meal.This was not a problem to us but I realise that some people may be a little disappointed in discovering this upon arrival. We loved it but I do think that there should be more information on their website as to what is to be expected. I actually think that if this was the case that even more people would be drawn to these idyllic surroundings. From our point of view simply superb. Breakfast, dinner and hosts fantastic. We just loved the forest ambience .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Becky and Jeff provided just the perfect atmosphere for a B&B experience. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We were given a lot of suggestions for exploring the area, and we fell in love with the backroads of Virginia all over again. In about 2 weeks the foliage will be spectacular.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had at The Sugar Tree. It was a beautiful place and Jeff and Becky were so nice. We arrived late on Saturday evening due to being at a football game and reception at VMI. Dinner was being served at the inn but Jeff stopped what he was doing to take care of us and get us settled. Our room was so cozy and the bed was very comfortable. We went to sleep to the sound of beautiful guitar music via the cd player.
After a restful night, we awoke to a magnificent breakfast of fruit, juice, coffee, tea, made to order omelets, smoked sausage, ham and Becky's delicious baked oatmeal. When leaving for the day, we knew we would not need to bother with lunch........we wouldn't be hungry for a long time. The beautiful background music added to the ambiance. Our breakfast companions were also very special.....two does and two precious little fawns as well as a cute chipmunk who were right on the other side of the glass wall.
Our second night was just as wonderful and we arrived early enough to have a beautiful view of the sunset from the front porch. Before returning "home", we had a terrific dinner at a nearby German restaurant recommended by Jeff and Becky. We returned to our cozy room and enjoyed more nice music. It was actually nice to be without the distraction of TV for a couple of evenings.
The next morning we awoke refreshed and had another fantastic breakfast. Our hosts made sure we had travel information for the day and we were off to continue our journey only sorry about one thing..................we only had two nights to spend at the inn instead of two weeks :-) Peg and Henry, Gloucester, Va

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I just want to thank Jeff and Becky for the wonderful nights that was spent on my trip to Pennsylvania and my return trip home. If your looking for a great place to stay this is the place you want to be. The room was nice and clean and the bed was so comfortable that I don't think my head hit the pillow before I was a sleep. I have stayed at the Inn before and I will go back again. Jeff and Becky make you feel like family, not just one of their guests. It is so quiet and peaceful that you feel so relaxed that you forget that there is another world out there. I Highly recommend Sugar Tree Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our third stay at Sugar Tree. The stay was excellent. We met there with four other couples for a board meeting. Everyone agreed that we had a wonderful time. The breakfast was outstanding. We will chalk it up as another delightful stay at Sugar Tree.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sugar Tree Inn is one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed: from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left we felt entirely peaceful, spoilt and happy. The accommodation was breathtakingly lovely and the food each night surpassed our wildest hopes: we love to eat out and Jeff's wonderful meals confidently stand alongside the most highly rated restaurants we have visited. All in all, a magical experience- we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: St Mary's cabin is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Tree Inn

Address: Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Tree Inn, Virginia's Mountain Inn, is a country retreat nestled into a mountainside less than a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here you will discover romantic seclusion in rustically elegant surroundings. Each spacious room or suite offers a private woodburning fireplace, fantastic beds, and beautiful, comfortable furnishings. There are forty-mile views from the front porch rockers, with spectacular sunsets and, during season, more hummingbirds than you can count! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sugar Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Tree Hotel Steeles Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.