We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Sugar Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Tree Inn
Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sugar Tree Inn is one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed: from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left we felt entirely peaceful, spoilt and happy. The accommodation was breathtakingly lovely and the food each night surpassed our wildest hopes: we love to eat out and Jeff's wonderful meals confidently stand alongside the most highly rated restaurants we have visited. All in all, a magical experience- we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: St Mary's cabin is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    21
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
107
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Tremendous experience and my personal advice is come here. You'll know what great accommodations and service is all about. The staff is kind and courteous. The view is spectacular. You'll find rest for your soul, spirit, and body.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and we stayed in the St Mary's cabin. Contrary to a previous traveler's post, the cabin was not about to slide off of a cliff. In fact, it was a lovely cabin and the view was spectacular. The cabin itself was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. The only suggestion we would make is that some sort of wardrobe be added to the room as there was really nowhere to hang anything except a coat rack in the corner. But since we stayed longer than many guests might do, perhaps it isn't that big a deal for others.

The innkeepers, Becky & Jeff couldn't have been better hosts. They were warm and welcoming every time we saw them. Every morning at breakfast they took the time to ask about our plans and to offer suggestions and add color to our thoughts. We appreciated their charm and look forward to seeing them again.

The most notable aspect of the inn for us was the abundance of humming birds we saw while sitting on the porch. I have seen maybe five in my whole life prior to visiting. While sitting on that porch, I saw five in about a minute! The air was thick with them and if you are still, you can sit and watch them for hours. It was a real treat!

We would recommend Sugartree to anyone with our highest regards. The inn and its owners are both gems and trust us when we say that you will have a wonderful stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I like to travel and roadtrips are one way we like to see the country. We wanted to go some place unique and do some outdoorsy adventures as well as stay at a place to get away from the ordinary. We found Sugar Tree Inn online and booked by phone call as soon as we got the chance. We loved the place from the start, the booking. The staff and owners were very helpful and accomdating. They asked questions of what we would like to do while in the area so they could provide us with information to guide us around. The service was excellent and the food served at breakfast and dinner was great. It was almost home away from home without the hustle and bustle. It was also a short drive from the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as Crabtree Falls, which both are a must see.

We stayed four days at The Sugar Tree Inn and hope to return for another visit in this very picturesque portion of the country.

Room Tip: First cabin from the main lodge was beautiful waking up to the sounds of the Blue Ridge Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What is it that keeps us going back to Sugar Tree Inn?

Here are 5 reasons we've visited 5 times for 12 nights total...

1. Tranquility: I can rest at Sugar Tree like no place else on earth.
2. Hospitality: Inkeepers care for guests like they are family.
3. Luxury: Rustic perfection with logs, quilts, and stunning decor.
4. Cleanliness: It's spotless, just like at home.
5. Setting: Mountain views, garden landscapes, and wildlife galore.
Bonus Feature: They've created a hummingbird sanctuary!!

My wife and I have traveled the world. Have stayed in some of the finest hotels, houses, and inns on earth. Sugar Tree Inn is one of our favorites. There is something about those mountains, and that Inn... it keeps us coming back, again and again.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Saint Mary's Cabin. Love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was a great experience being at Sugar Tree Inn. It has one of the best locations. Sun set across the mountains is just so beautiful. Rooms are clean and well kept. Breakfast was also very good.
I can't wait to come back here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was riding my bicycle up the Blue Ridge Parkway and needed a place to stay. I wouldn't normally choose a B & B, but this place was where I needed to spend the night. I'm pretty sure that a cyclist is hardly the typical guest. The owners, Jeff & Becky, went out of their way to meet my needs, even leaving me biscuits and ham in the fridge so I could leave early in the morning. This is a comfortable place in beautiful countryside. But it's the owners that make it a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Tree Inn

Address: Highway 56, PO Box 10, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Tree Inn, Virginia's Mountain Inn, is a country retreat nestled into a mountainside less than a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Here you will discover romantic seclusion in rustically elegant surroundings. Each spacious room or suite offers a private woodburning fireplace, fantastic beds, and beautiful, comfortable furnishings. There are forty-mile views from the front porch rockers, with spectacular sunsets and, during season, more hummingbirds than you can count! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sugar Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Tree Hotel Steeles Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.