We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Treasure!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederick House

Save Saved
You added Frederick House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frederick House
28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shakespeare Package
Ranked #4 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
East Granby Ct
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What A Treasure!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We were travelling to Raleigh,N.C. from Ct. and had planned to stay at a Hampton Inn in Winchester,Va,but having arrived at 2P.M. on Feb.20 we decided it was too early to stop.for the night. We picked up some literature in the Va. Welcome Center to check out BandBs.(On our trip South last year,the description of theFrederick House piqued our interest,but the timing didn't fit our travel schedule.) We called from our car to make inqueries for that nite and Karen was most helpful in helping us to make our decision on a room selection. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Denny ,who obviously takes great pride in this charming,historical little city.He pointed out areas of interest,recommended several restaurants,explained the breakfast detail and took us to the room Karen had recommended----she was right on target--a lovely room with king bed and sitting area. The decor was a perfect blend of antiques with .modern amenities.We never had to get in our car again until we left the next day as everything is within walking distance. We had a fabulous dinner that nite at The Dining Room. Have you ever heard of Sea Scallops dusted with cocoa sitting on a bed of white chocolate risotto?It was absolutely delicious!!! Breakfast is not the typical 1 option menu,but rather offers quite a nice variety. Again,have you ever heard of Apple Raisin Quiche? Try it--you'll like it!! Check-out is a leisurely 12 noon at which time we departed, promising to stop on our way North from Myrtle Beach at the end of March.If we continue to come South in ensuing years,you can be sure this will be a stop for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    39
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
116
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, VA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

This was our second stay, but not our last. There is a warmth and comfort about Frederick House that would sound trite, but it is true. The proprietors are so solicitous without being pushy. Frederick House is made up of several old buildings that have been reborn and refurbished elegantly. Each room is unique, the atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable, the rooms are spit-polished. I was soooo impressed with the Contessa Cali soaps and shampoo with olive oil and Sicilian blood orange - oh what a delicious fragrance. Their adorable assistant, Joe, showed us to our room and was so sweet and helpful. I was thrilled that we could open a window, that it wasn't painted shut. The breeze blew the sheers, oh I was in heaven! The breakfast Karen and Denny serve is outstanding, their wholegrain waffles with flour from the nearby Wade's Mill, and apple raisin quiche are to die for. There are places to sit and relax, the front porches, a common room, tables outside. And Staunton is a lovely little town to visit. So many unique shops and cute restaurants. Oh, and the Blackfriars Theatre, which is the reason we go there!! A must see!! What a talented group of actors! So very entertaining and enjoyable. You can tell we really like this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

The Frederick House is nicely located in the historic district of Staunton. My husband and I arrived at nightfall and were pleasantly surprised to find a small, cozy, comfortable old hotel almost the minute we entered the town.
The rooms were decorated with both old and new. The proprietors were very attentive, efficient, and the food was great! Breakfast in the Cafe.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

My daughters took me to a getaway weekend for my birthday and selected Staunton and the Frederick House. We had a wonderful weekend! The Frederick House was delightful, charming and met our every need. The staff is friendly and helpful. One of my daughters was not feeling well on the last morning of our stay and the staff prepared a basket to take to her in our room, filled with a carafe of hot water, tea bags, and freshly prepared toast. Just what the doctor ordered! Breakfasts every morning at the Frederick House were delicious, different, and interesting. We had fun shopping, attending the Shakespeare Theatre, going out to dinner, and taking a trolley tour of the city. We will definitely come back to the Frederick House and Staunton. I highly recommend the Frederick House.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We originally came upon the Frederick House when we were looking for a bed & breakfast/wine tour package for Valentine's Day weekend. Right from the moment we emailed the owners, Karen and Denny, to ask about reservations and the wine package, we immediately felt comfortable and knew it would be a great choice. Within one day of making the reservation, we received an email from Don, who would be taking us on our wine tour. He explained about the tour, provided us with some reading material, and asked us questions to tailor our experience.

Upon arriving at Frederick House, we left our bags in the car, as the Web site had instructed, and went to check in. Karen and Denny couldn't have been more welcoming. They asked us if we needed dinner reservations, a corkscrew and ice for the room, or anything else. Denny helped us take the bags up to the room. We were a little hesitant about the room because the Web site didn't offer many photos, but it was perfect. The bed was quaint and comfortable, the TV was new, and we had two separate bathrooms. There was even those little shampoos in the bathroom, which I didn't expect from a B&B, as well as complimentary bottled water in the room.

Staunton itself is a small little historic town, with a surprising number of good restaurants for its size. For dinner on Friday night, we went to the Depot, which was down by the train station. The food was delicious and the staff was very good and very friendly. The waitress even pointed us to the one place that we should go for nightlife in Staunton.

The following day was the day we had our wine tour. We went down for breakfast, which was not family-style as we were expecting. We had our own table. Coffee/tea and orange juice was brought over immediately. The breakfast was delicious. We tried quite a few options over our stay and liked every one, particularly the whole grain waffle. While we were down for breakfast, Karen and Denny made sure we were ready for the tour, and offered to give us a ring when Don arrived.

When our tour guide Don arrived we felt immediately comfortable with him. It turned out we had our own private tour. The first winery was about 20 minutes away, so Don took the time to find out our interests, what we wanted out of the tour, about the wine industry in Virginia, and to start explaining about the different wineries. The first one we went to was one of the oldest wineries in Virginia. The owners and the pourers knew Don well, and Don was the one who actually gave us the tour since they didn't do tours anymore. He definitely knew the wine business. Throughout the rest of the day, we went to two more wineries, one of which was one of the newer ones, so it was interesting to compare. Since Don knew everyone at each of the wineries, we felt like we were VIPs and getting insider information. The day also included lunch (a fantastic sandwich) and all the bottled water we needed. Overall, it was a fantastic way to spend Valentine's Day. We had a lot of fun and we learned a lot about wine.

Dinner that night was at L'Italia, and that was probably the only disappointing part of our trip. We had reservations at 8. We got there a little before, and they said they were running behind. We probably had to wait about 20 minutes. When we were seated, the table was not really conducive to romance. The tables were close together, and we were sitting across from each other, but it felt far apart. The waitress left a lot to be desired. She had no idea which wines she had, and also didn't know what they were serving that night (when we ordered something off of their limited menu, she said I don't think we're serving that tonight - clearly they were). She brought one of our desserts before telling us that she was out of the other one. And she just seemed to have an attitude.

Overall, this was one of the best weekend getaways we have had. We would definitely return to Frederick House and go on another wine tour to get a feel for different wineries. There's nothing like having someone drive you around while you taste wine and also educate you along the way!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Warmth is the best word to describe a stay at the Frederick house, the rooms are furnished with a charming old world feel, the beds are large and comfortable, the bathrooms clean and bright. Denny and Karen (the innkeepers) make you feel as if you are part of their family when you go down to the INCREDIBLE breakfast (I am attached to the oatmeal, but everything is fantastic...and the most delicious home made breads you have ever had come with every meal) in the cozy breakfast room. I stay here whenever I am in Staunton, it is a short walk to the American Shakespeare Center (the only recreation of Shakespeare's indoor playhouse) and a short drive to a myriad of wonderful sites in Virginia.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We wouldn't miss the Frederick House on our trips from the Southeast to New England for anything - in fact, we go out of our way. The innkeepers are always welcoming, our room is always ready, and both make certain we are comfortably settled in after a long drive. The rooms are varied, furnished tastefully but not effusively, and they are clean, clean, clean. Don't miss the homemade breakfasts, with the menu shown on your coffee cup. Their central location in Staunton provides easy excursions throughout town, including access (and advance reservations) to several outstanding restaurants for lunch and dinner. The Frederick House newsletters announcing special lodging packages are worth waiting for. This is a great value - don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.