We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring owners made the stay memorable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Frederick House to your Saves list
Frederick House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Caring owners made the stay memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If B&Bs can be judged by the owners, you won't find anyone any more accommodating that Mo and Joe at Frederick House in Staunton. Our room was spacious, with nice bathrooms and amenities. But what really impressed us was the civic-mindedness of this couple who have been active in this community and partially responsible for bringing Shakespeare plays to the town. Their skills at cooking, meeting and greeting, and sharing places to go all made the experience at this B&B one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    41
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
123
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Joe and Evy's Fredrick House last week. The room we had was large with a couch and chairs along with a beautiful bed. Joe impressed us as a historian; his background before purchasing the Inn was teaching. Anything a guest would want to know about the area just start up a conversation with Joe and you will uncover many places in the area you might have missed without his trip suggestions. The Woodrow Wilson library and museum is just a 10 minute walk away which we enjoyed. The breakfast at the Fredrick house was delicious. I would recommend this small hotel/Inn to everyone. It was a delight and we will go again gladly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had stayed there with my husband a few years ago, and this time was with college friends for our Mary Baldwin College reunion. Lovely rooms, quiet neighborhood, and excellent breakfasts. I hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: I would guess that it would be best to ask for a room on 2nd floor (no matter which building you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Frederick House is really a collection of buildings close to each other, sharing a common breakfast/common room. Joe and Edy were great hosts- very helpful about things to see and how to get there. Edy does the cooking and the breakfasts were great- the menus are on the sides of the coffee cups. Our room was big, with a sitting room next door. The rooms are quite varied; it would be worth some time perusing their website before choosing, especially if stairs are an issue. We had a very enjoyable 3 nights and will probably stay there again on an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights here in the McClure house (room 2) which was just one of 2 apartments basically in the building, so LOTS of room & privacy for a B&B. We were traveling with another couple who stayed in a separate building across from us, but next time intend on renting both rooms in this house to have all to ourselves! Great space for families traveling together too who want privacy but want to be close to each other.

Joe & Evy were both great! Joe was a big help with our parking situation because we were driving a large truck with a large enclosed trailer behind it and finding 3 spaces to fit in would have been impossible without his guidance. Evy immediately jumped in suggesting Aoili for dinner & even promptly calling to make us a reservation. We were sleeping above the "best restaurant in town" she said - & she was right! Other than Split Bananas it was our favorite. She even went as far as helping us tote luggage to our rooms upon a late arrival. They are just good people and all the staff we met were too.

This was a great "home base" for all the antiquing we did. We will definitely be back for our next picking trip with trailer in tow!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just returned home today from a weekend getaway at the Frederick House. This was our first stay at this particular small hotel. We have stayed at numerous luxury small hotels and bed and breakfast inns from New England to South Carolina and this one certainly ranks up there with some of our very favorites. Joe and Evy Harman welcomed us with great enthusiasm the moment we walked through the door. Evy is a wealth of information about the area and directed us to some marvelous restaurants within walking distance. Our fabulous room (#35) was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We LOVED all the windows that gave the room such an airy, bright clean feeling. It was very roomy and we loved the old plantation feel. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! Everything made from scratch. Highly recommend the apple & raisin quiche! The service was excellent, food was hot and the portions were perfect. We can't say enough good things about our experience at the Frederick House and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We loved our room #35 in the Patrick House; very spacious, comfortable bed, clean, nice bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for commenting so kindly about your visit to Frederick House. Our goal is to give our guests a clean, comfortable, quiet place to stay and a good breakfast when they visit Staunton and the Shenandoah Valley. Our knowledge of the area that we share with our guests helps them be aware of the opportunities within walking distance of Frederick House for dining, shopping, entertainment, and learning about history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Went to Staunton on a whim, and ended up on the decision to try out Frederick House. We had a great time talking with the knowledgable and interesting owners, who were very accommodating, and also exploring the lovely town. Our room was clean, perfectly spacious for two and charming without overdoing it. Great location for walking around and enjoying all that this fun little city has to offer. Looking forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.