We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Frederick House to your Saves list
Frederick House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We traveled to Staunton to attend several performances at the American Shakespeare Center. The inn is within walking distance of the center. Our situation when we arrived at the inn required several modifications to our reservation. Frederick House not only recalled an employee who had left for the day to clean a room that met our needs, but made us feel like family by waiting until after the performance to make certain that we were properly shown to our room. A superb experience with a human touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    41
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
123
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First time staying here, was great. Nice, clean, friendly. Downtown historic Staunton, so it was within walking distance of many things to see. The apple raisin pie for breakfast was freakin' awesome! The keepers were accomadating, helpful in telling us about the area, and offered discounts to certain attractions. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Personally, when i stay at a B and B, I prefer a private bathroom. Our room had that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A unique Inn in Staunton,VA with a central lovation in historical town. I would definitely stay in.Frederick House again
Fine homemade breakfast with the menu imprinted on coffee mugs. Great idea.I walked to Woodrow Wilson Birthplace
and Mary Baldwin College and a unique synagogue in 10inites from.Inn
The town is hilly so be prepared for some effort when walking.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our kids got us a weekend in Staunton for our anniversary. It included a couple of nights at the Frederick House and a show and tour of the Blackfriars Playhouse at the American Shakespeare Center. The entire weekend was wonderful.
This is not our first stay at the Frederick House and definately won't be our last. This time we stayed in Patrick-27, which I believe is one of the largest rooms they offer. It has a canopy bed and a separate living room. There is a set of doors that can close off the living room and each room has its own entrance from the hall. The room is very large, but it is nice to have a sofa to sit and relax on. Each room has its own television. The living room has a writing desk and a decorative fireplace and there is a small dining table in the bedroom.
When we arrived, there was a beautiful flower arrangement, a bottle of wine on ice and chocolate covered strawberries that were part of the package our kids got us. Very nice.
From our first visit to the Frederick House, we knew that they didn't have a coffee maker in the rooms (which I truly wish they did), so we travel with our own single serving Keurig. The owners do offer coffee and ice in the office, but due to the layout of and the fact that each house is independent, that means that you have to go outside and walk to the office, which may or may not be your "cup of tea".
We love the breakfast, and although we do not have an issue with Gluten, some folks sitting by us did and the owners were very accomodating and gave them what appeared to be a very delicious gluten-free breakfast.
We're looking forward to our next visit to Staunton and our next stay and the Frederick House!

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, make sure that you call and talk to the owners and let them know so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My sisters and I spent three nights at the Frederick House. We had a large suite with two bedrooms and a living room. It was beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious. Everything was great. My only ding is the bar of shampoo. The owners are trying to go green. One of the ways they are doing it is using a bar of shampoo instead of plastic bottles. Unfortunately the shampoo didn't clean hair very well. Very small ding. Bring your own shampoo and everything will be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a series of old homes in the historic section of Staunton. Comfortable old fashioned rooms with plenty of toiletries, towels, reading chairs and lights and a comfortable bed. TV in room. Staunton is built on hills, so unless you are in the main house, you are going to have to walk up steep hills for at least 2 of the homes, and then carry your luggage up steep stairs and also go to and fro to the main house for breakfast. The other homes are closer to the main home, so if this is an issue, ask for one of the closer homes. Joe and Evy really know the town and cant do enough to help you enjoy Staunton, which is charming. They will get you tickets for the Blackfriars Playhouse, which is a don't miss and please dont be daunted by Shakespeare because the cast makes it very accessible. Woodrow Wilson's home is also a dont miss. Evy's breakfasts are terrific and she even went out of her way to get my husband some Virginia ham, which we had been unable to find till then. Restaurants in town were quite good to excellent. A great stop over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is really a great place to stay. Our room was large, clean and charming. This place has all the modern conveniences, but with nuances that were a very pleasant surprise. Also, breakfast was different and delicious. The owners were very helpful and when a serious problem arose, they helped a lot in getting it resolved so we could continue our trip. My brother, who lives in Northern Virginia recommended this hotel for the town, the hotel, and the Shakespearean Theater. We did not get to the theater, but the stopover was great. If you come this way, the Frederick House will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.