We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming, informative & helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frederick House to your Saves list
Frederick House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So welcoming, informative & helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked Frederick House from a Panera Bread in VA after being forced out of our log cabin by a swarm of ladybugs! We got so lucky as Joe & Evy couldn't have been more welcoming. We love Staunton, this B&B and feel totally relaxed. I heartily recommend the AWESOME whole grain waffles for breakfast whereas my husband now wants the recipe for "Strata". Yum!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    40
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
122
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great B&B in old town Staunton, VA, that has grown to 60+ rooms by acquiring several adjacent historic structures and converting them to lodging. We had one of the downstairs suites in the Patrick House unit on New Street, half a block up from the main office. Roomy beyond compare, great high ceilings, nicely appointed, and wi-fi! Only the towels were peculiar. Imagine drying off after a shower, with a velour shirt. A super breakfast is included. Excellent food and service. Hosts, Joe and Evy were very pleasant and helpful, drawing maps, making dinner reservations, as well as scoring advance tickets for the Blackfriars' Shakespearean Theatre. Nearby restaurants to try: Aioli and Zynodoa. Refreshing, restored old-town, great drives in all directions. This B&B gets and A.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby Ct
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have travelled South to North Myrtle Beach in late Feb for the past 7 years. We stumbled onto The Frederick House by chance that first year and were so impressed that we now schedule our route and time frame to include a stay with them.Evie and Joe,the owners,always greet us with open arms,though they only see us once or twice a year. Rooms are spacious,clean and comfortable-(we've been in 3 of them)-breakfast is always a treat (have tried everything on the menu printed on the coffee mug) --and dinner at their restaurant Aioli was memorable. Staunton is one of the most charming,historical cities we've ever seen--all within walking distance from the inn. We truly look forward to our next visit. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and the ability to walk to everythng we wanted to do. The owners are very nice and go out of their way to give you great service. Definitley the feel of a traditional B and B including the nice breakfast they serve. I agree with those that remark on the microfiber towels - I did not enjoy that either but it seems to be a small quibble with an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps you might want to let them know that so they can put you in a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We host groups at Frederick House 2-4 times each year. It is the perfect location for exploring Staunton on foot, which part of what makes Staunton fun. Park the car and forget about it until you leave. Everything is within a few blocks -- restaurants, shopping, museums and theatre. Joe and Evy are not just innkeepers -- they excel at that of course -- they are Staunton's best concierge service. They make sure that you have all of the information you need to hit the ground running to make the most of your time there. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. They are all unique, so make sure that you specify what you qualities you like -- lots of light, privacy, etc. We have stayed at Frederick House many times and continue to eagerly look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Because the rooms are all different -- small, large and gigantic; dark, light and in-between; some t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Two couples checked in. Our room was really nice on the ground level facing a street. But the curtains were flimsy and let the streetlight in. The microfiber sheets were terrible! Not nice to sleep on.
The other couple's room was like a dungeon. Underground, no windows - very cave like. I thought the price of their room was very expensive for what it was. Thankfully we were staying only one night.
The hosts are delightful. The breakfast was homemade and ok. Would have liked a second cup of coffee but another guest had monopolized Joe's attention discussing theatre so the coffee pot never came around to our table.
Great location in Staunton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our daughter is a Freshman at Mary Baldwin College and we have now stayed at the Frederick House twice. Both of our rooms have been lovely - nicely decorated, very clean and roomy. The beds are comfortable with great pillows. Comfy robes and a nice hair dryer are also provided. The Frederick House is right across the street from campus, so it's very easy to coordinate with our daughter. This last time we had a suite, which was wonderful and very homey. it allowed us to have a much more intimate visit with her than if we had been in a regular hotel room farther from campus. The breakfast is fantastic - many delicious home-made choices! The owners, Joe and Evy, are wonderful and can help you with anything you need from directions to restaurant choices.

The Frederick House is right in the historic downtown district of Staunton and there are many great shops and restaurants within walking distance. The American Shakespeare Theatre is also within walking distance and you can get show tickets along with your room - very convenient.

Staunton is very hilly and the Frederick house has four separate buildings. You may need to carry your luggage up stairs to get to your room, but it's a small price to pay for the quaint charm and ambiance of the Frederick House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.