We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in Staunton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frederick House

Save Saved
You added Frederick House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frederick House
28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shakespeare Package
Ranked #5 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in Staunton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Last weekend, my husband and I spent 3 nights at Frederick House. It was a lovely place to stay, but there were enough minor issues that I cannot give it a 5-star rating.
First the pro's - charming, helpful owners, delicious breakfasts and lovely rooms
Then the con's (with explanations of why I find these negatives) - 1) microfiber sheets, pillow cases and towels. This one in my prejudice - I don't like the feel of microfiber linens. They seem to "hot" and I really love the feel of cool, cotton pillow cases. As far as microfiber towels are concerned - they just don't absorb like a plush terrycloth towel. 2) there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms. Since Frederick House is actually several buildings, with breakfast served in the main one, you have to walk - outside - up to a couple of blocks to go get your morning coffee. We were there over a beautiful fall weekend, but this would NOT be pleasant in rain or snow. Besides, I like to have my first cup of coffee while I'm still in my 'jammies. This is not an option. It would also not be pleasant to make a trek through inclement weather to go to breakfast, but we didn't experience that.

That said, I would not hesitate to recommend Frederick House as a place to stay in Staunton, which is a delightful town and a favorite destination of ours for a weekend get-away. Be careful though to chose your room carefully. They are all different and certainly appeal to different tastes.

Room Tip: Check the website CAREFULLY. Also, consider how far you might be from where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    40
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
118
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first visit to Staunton. We stayed one night in the Patrick House building of the Frederick House. Very nice location in the middle of town makes it easy to wander around downtown. The room was nice, breakfast was very good, and the owner made an excellent recommendation for dinner that night. Would definitely stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a nice stay 2-night at the Frederick House. This was our first stay in Staunton and we chose the Frederick House for its location to town. We had the Black Friar theater, shops and restaurants all within walking distance.

We stayed in the Womack House and our room was very cozy - queen sized bed, bath tub and little sitting area. The town is quiet and very relaxing. The breakfast was ok - a nice selection.

We would recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the Patrick House and we loved our room. We had a queen size bed with a little sitting area and a huge bathroom. It was very comfortable and close to the historic downtown in Staunton. It was a nice change of pace from staying at a tradition hotel. We saw a wonderful play at the Black Friar's Playhouse and had a nice dinner afterward. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The owners of the Frederick House love what they do, and that shows through in their business. We stayed in the Bowers House -- we had a private entrance to our room from the outside and a little porch with two chairs. We had a TV with cable so we could watch the Olympics at night. The two bathrobes were nice to have at night. Breakfast was wonderful! I had the yogurt with granola and fruit, and my husband had the strata. We loved our stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I wanted to love this inn. The innkeepers are hardworking, town boosters and their recommendation of a pizza place, Shendoah Pizza, was spot on (fabulous beer list!). The location is outstanding. The Blackfriars Theater and all restaurants are within a few blocks.

Our room, 21, was on the second floor of a building within 40 or 50 feet of the office. We are very active, physically fit 60+ peple. Others might be intimidated by the outdoor stairway from the parking lot to the back of the buildings. In our case, we had another climb as our room was on the second floor and we accessed it via an exterior porch. There were two levels above our room. Hauling luggage up to the top flight might be a bit much for some folks. The room was spacious, but the bathroom was small; dare I say say tiny? The vanity was outside the bathroom, which is fine, but it was low, i.e mid thigh level for me (I'm, 5"9"). On the street side, our room was street level and the road was very close. Staunton is an old city and the sidewalks are very narrow. The road noise was considerable. Pedestrians walked within 2 feet of the windows. The TV was an old, heavy pre-flatscreen relic. It sat at a 90 degree angle from both the bed and sofa. We didn't watch TV, but its placement was not ideal for those wishing to indulge. We travel with laptops and the WiFi was excellent, but there was no suitable work surface in the room.

Breakfast was Ok. We were offered a small glass of orange juice with no refill. There is a choice of breakfast entree and a few, thin slices of fruit (thin oragne slices, thin, small, cutouts of melon) on a separate plate are included. There is no separate toast, etc. Beakfast was not memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed here for 2 nights with another couple. Our rooms were beautiful and furnished comfortably and tastefully. All rooms have a/c and ceiling fans. It was quiet and right in downtown Staunton making it easy to walk everywhere. Breakfast is generous and tasty and included in the nightly rate. The only small complaints I would have are that our bathroom was a bit dark and the combination body/shampoo bar was terrible as shampoo. I tend to pack light and use the provided shampoos etc but next time will bring my own.
Highlights of our stay include chatting with owners Edy and Joe who gave us great recommendations, and a full day of scenic driving including where to eat and what to see, and the South Patio where we sat for hours drinking wine and enjoying the weather. Edy and Joe definitely make the stay worth it and you'll feel like family. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Address: 28 N. New St., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.