We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Old Virginia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Old Virginia to your Saves list
Inn at Old Virginia
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
Ellicott City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We decided to stay at The Inn At Old Virginia based on all the positive Trip Advisor reviews. We have to say that the reviewers were correct, the inn is an excellent choice. It's located minutes from I-81. It's just a few minutes from downtown Staunton, but it feels like a world away. The view from our room was a hillside with meandering cows - lovely.

We were thinking of going into Gypsy Hill Park for a walk after we got settled. Deanna, who greeted us and showed us our room, told us about Bell's Lane, a nearby country road which is used by the locals for walking. We tried it and recommend it. It's a quiet rural lane with fields and cattle along the way. There isn't much traffic so it's very safe.

I spoke with Eve when I made the reservation. I noticed on the website that they would accommodate special diets for breakfast if they knew in advance. I gave Eve our 'special needs', and every breakfast took them into account. The setting for breakfast is a sunny window lined room with views of the countryside. A great place to start the day. It was also a good time to talk with Eve or Deanna if we had questions about the area.

The rooms are spotless. This is a major factor for me in choosing a place to stay. Our room had a sleep number bed. We've never used one of those before and needed instructions. It turned out to be quite comfortable. The beds are triple sheeted and I was told the comforters are washed between guests (another big plus). If you are a late sleeper and are disturbed by noise from other rooms in the morning, I suggest you take a room on the top floor. I prefer soft pillows and there was only one of those in the room. When I asked for more, Eve found another for me. The only possible recommendation I can make is to have robes in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
91
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a lovely B&B! We stayed in the main house for $145 and had a large room with a sofa and a desk nook, not like some really cramped B&B rooms...bathroom was nice and large with awesomely strong water pressure! The innkeepers were so nice and the breakfast area was gorgeous. My only advice would be to request a healthy breakfast as the biscuits and gravy with salty Virginia ham were a bit much! Becky said they had gotten a new chef who was doing richer meals, but i'm sure you could request something lighter. Highly recommend Zyndoa in town for dinner if you go to Staunton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia, which is an excellent B&B in a peaceful setting a few miles outside Staunton, . We stayed for two nights in a very spacious room in the barn. It was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed, high quality bed linens, sitting area and a gas fire. Breakfasts were delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful Bed and Breakfast very close to, but not in, the heart of Staunton, VA. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and charming, the breakfast was delicious, and the atmosphere was relaxed and homey. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Becky welcomed us with a smile and was incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was perfect. I could have spent the entire day in the breakfast room. Other couples were very friendly. Bed was extremely comfortable. Staunton was a great town.

Room Tip: The barn rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are visiting the Shenandoah, the virginia wine vineyards or Staunton this is a delightful little B&B to include in your plans. Just 5 minutes off I-81 and 5 minutes outside of Staunton it is easy to get to. You drive under a private train trestle and find yourself in a friendly litle oasis. The rooms in a barn are comfortable, clean and certainly do not feel like a barn. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. They completely (and deliciously) accomodated my food restictions. They also gave excellent driving instructions to the Blackfriers Playhouse as well as an exellent restaurant (Zynodoa). In short - Go- Relax - Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Barn makes a great place for multi family or friends get togethers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were traveling home to NC from a visit to family and friends in the OH/PA areas and decided to stop at a bed and breakfast on our way home from vacation. While in Ohio, we found the Inn at Old Virginia online. While on the road, we called the Innkeeper, Eve, to inquire about a specific room. However, that room was already booked. Eve, quickly and graciously, offered another room at a discounted price for that night. When we arrived at the B&B, we were warmly and cheerfully greeted by Eve, who made us feel right at home. She provided us with a tour of the B&B, our room, and all necessary information for our stay. She was both thorough and helpful. In addition, she gave us a map with suggestions for that evening's dinner. The B&B is charming and elegant! The grounds are spectacular! Our room was clean, comfortable, relaxing, and peaceful! The breakfast prepared for us was delicious! We highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia. It is a gorgeous B&B. We look forward to a future stay at this B&B!

Room Tip: The renovated "Barn" on the grounds is absolutely beautiful, clean, comfortable, and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Old Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.