We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Old Virginia

Save Saved
You added Inn at Old Virginia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Becky welcomed us with a smile and was incredibly helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was perfect. I could have spent the entire day in the breakfast room. Other couples were very friendly. Bed was extremely comfortable. Staunton was a great town.

Room Tip: The barn rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are visiting the Shenandoah, the virginia wine vineyards or Staunton this is a delightful little B&B to include in your plans. Just 5 minutes off I-81 and 5 minutes outside of Staunton it is easy to get to. You drive under a private train trestle and find yourself in a friendly litle oasis. The rooms in a barn are comfortable, clean and certainly do not feel like a barn. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. They completely (and deliciously) accomodated my food restictions. They also gave excellent driving instructions to the Blackfriers Playhouse as well as an exellent restaurant (Zynodoa). In short - Go- Relax - Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Barn makes a great place for multi family or friends get togethers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were traveling home to NC from a visit to family and friends in the OH/PA areas and decided to stop at a bed and breakfast on our way home from vacation. While in Ohio, we found the Inn at Old Virginia online. While on the road, we called the Innkeeper, Eve, to inquire about a specific room. However, that room was already booked. Eve, quickly and graciously, offered another room at a discounted price for that night. When we arrived at the B&B, we were warmly and cheerfully greeted by Eve, who made us feel right at home. She provided us with a tour of the B&B, our room, and all necessary information for our stay. She was both thorough and helpful. In addition, she gave us a map with suggestions for that evening's dinner. The B&B is charming and elegant! The grounds are spectacular! Our room was clean, comfortable, relaxing, and peaceful! The breakfast prepared for us was delicious! We highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia. It is a gorgeous B&B. We look forward to a future stay at this B&B!

Room Tip: The renovated "Barn" on the grounds is absolutely beautiful, clean, comfortable, and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Staunton VA. We gathered with family and friends to celebrate 3 birthdays. I LOVE this charming inn! The rooms are charming and well maintained, the grounds are gorgeous, and the breakfast was delicious. We saw "Othello" at the local Shakespeare Theatre, and then gathered on the Inn's brick patio to have snacks, wine etc. prior to dinner out. The owner and employees at the Inn made us feel completely at home. We always treasure a comfortable bed away from home, and these rooms even feature the "sleep number" beds. I had always wanted to try one of these and was not disappointed. The rooms are furnished in charming colors and fabrics. I love the window treatments. The glassed in room where breakfast is served is beautiful and charming. This is a perfect get-away for special occasions, or just to enjoy the beautiful Virginia countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Eight friends and I stayed at the Inn on Saturday night, September 7th, but we didn't just "stay" at the Inn. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. We were there to celebrate 3 birthdays and so had wine and champagne in need of refrigeration. We were welcomed to stash our celebration libations in the kitchen in a refrigerator. We stayed in two rooms in the "barn" and the two rooms in the main house. All were exquisite. We elected to have our birthday celebration on the beautiful patio as the weather was glorious - the Inn gladly provided us with stemware for our wine. On Sunday morning we met again in the beautiful breakfast room - a gorgeous glass-enclosed sunroom. The breakfast service was again exquisite - beautiful fine china and silver flatware, beautifully prepared food that was as good as it looked. We were allowed to bring out a bottle of champagne to make Mimosas at our tables to continue our birthday celebration.

The Inn is meticulously cared for. Rooms are spotless - all have Sleep Number beds !! An unanticipated pleasure at a bed and breakfast. The attention to detail is what we all commented on - nothing was left to chance.

We love to come to Staunton for the American Shakespeare Center performances (a must-not-miss if you have never been to the Blackfriars Theatre) and this will be our home away from home on all future trips.

Room Tip: The rooms in the barn on the lower level are more easily accessible to those with difficulty with st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I can only confirm what others wrote before me. We stayed in the Barn in a downstairs room. The room was huge and so was the bathroom. We had an own jacuzzi tub. The mattress was outstanding. You could adjust the firmness with remote controls. By far the best I've ever slept on in a B&B. Also, the place is VERY clean. No dust, no hair...everything seems very new and updated. I loved the sheets they put on the bed: No stains, nothing worn out, very soft.The Inn is located away from the street, so you very hardly hear it. We could see cows and the Shenandoah Mountains from the patio. Dinah is very nice and does everything she can to make you feel at home. It's perfect for a getaway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A really lovely old house and converted barn,set in rolling countryside.Rooms well appointed ,comfy beds and lovely white linen and everywhere tastefully decorated.Tea and coffee available all day.But the noise from the bathroom above our bedroom was totally unacceptable.You could hear everything,loudly . The last straw was when the occupants were using ,what we assumed was a whirl pool bath,the noise was so loud we had to go out! Even in a converted barn we don't expect this level of noise intrusion.

Room Tip: Ask where it is,is there a bathroom above it,or next to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Old Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.