We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Old Virginia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Old Virginia to your Saves list
Inn at Old Virginia
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Lovely property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Inn at Old Virginia while meeting-up with his family who were also staying there. This B&B was recommended to us by our mother-in-law, and we are so happy that we gave this place a chance. It's located about 2 to 3 miles outside of Staunton, so it's a very short drive to boutiques and restaurants.

We stayed in the main house in one of the less expensive rooms. Check-in was a breeze and we were given a tour of the house, then escorted to our precious room. The room was immaculate with a large, spotless bathroom, antique furniture, Sleep Number bed, and a lovely view of the grounds. Both the owner (Eve is hysterical) and the Innkeeper were available and extremely hospitable. All of the linens and towels are top quality, and they provide wonderful body lotions and shower gels by "Bee Kind". Loved that extra touch! Before we left, I asked for an extra tube of the lotion and was happily granted that extra little perk! Breakfast was wonderful and they honor dietary concerns. Upon checkout, if you fill out a little "survey" of your stay, they give you a complimentary gift that included two coffee mugs and some yummy homemade shortbread. What a nice touch! This place is fantastic, so if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay, give it a try.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "Barn" are more expensive, but lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I always stay at this inn when we visit relatives in the area. The rooms are super clean, warm and gracious. We have stayed in the rooms "house" and in the "barn" and found them all wonderful. The main house has a lovely living room when I can get an early cup of coffee each morning--although many of the rooms do have a coffee maker and small fridges.

The Inn serves a generous and tasty breakfast and are very attentive to any dietary restrictions a guest might have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here 5 years ago, and were so impressed, we wrote the first review. We just stayed here again for parent's weekend at JMU, and were reminded why we loved it so much the last time we stayed here. Wonderful, cozy, clean accomodations, with excellent breakfast served by wonderful hosts. The 20 minute drive from Harrisonburg is more than worth it.

We were pleased to see that the Inn won a top choice (sic) award from Trip Advisor - way to go, much deserved!!

Room Tip: The barn rooms were the only ones we have used - all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the upstairs bedrooms of the house for our anniversary and it was perfect. The outdoor views are relaxing and peaceful, much different than lodging downtown (yet only 5 min away). The old house is very welcoming, providing a quiet place to read, converse or rest. The hosts were quite attentive to all our needs and more than helpful in every way. An attractive breakfast was served in the atrium. I would highly recommend The Inn at Old Virginia in every way. While you're in Staunton, take time to visit the Frontier Culture Museum, it was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the house, which I think is a little nicer than the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We liked this place. It was just outside town and we had a view of cows grazing in a field outside our room. As other reviews have mentioned, it is near a highway and rail tracks. We could not hear anything in our barn room which was supplied with a white noise machine that we did not need either. I could definitely hear people in the common room and room next to ours but neither were a bother at night. I think everyone was courteous and aware that sounds carried. The room was comfortable, clean, fresh and pretty as was the bath. The breakfasts were good and the hostesses made sure everything was to our liking. We liked the coffee machine in the main house that enabled us to obtain a hot drink whenever wanted. The black washcloth in the bathroom for removing makeup without staining the white towels was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Level Contributor
558 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great find. The hostesses were wonderful. The setting was beautiful. Everything was just about perfect. We were there in mid-Oct and the trees were turning and were spectacular. Just a great experience in the Staunton area. It was a bit of a task getting used to the Select Comfort bed. Felt a bit like a cross between and air mattress and waterbed. But we slept well so I guess it worked out OK. This was a reeal find on Hotels.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We love the Inn at Old Virginia. We have stayed at many B&Bs in the US, Ireland and Scotland and this is by far the best. Eve is a fantastic Inn Keeper as she made us feel totally welcome. She pays unbelievable attention to details. Our room was immaculately clean and in perfect repair. Breakfast was unbelievable. We will come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
2.9 mi away
Frederick House
Frederick House
#5 of 13 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olde Staunton Inn
Olde Staunton Inn
#4 of 13 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Old Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.