We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious, clean inn just outside Staunton Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Old Virginia

Save Saved
You added Inn at Old Virginia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
north carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gracious, clean inn just outside Staunton Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I always stay at this inn when we visit relatives in the area. The rooms are super clean, warm and gracious. We have stayed in the rooms "house" and in the "barn" and found them all wonderful. The main house has a lovely living room when I can get an early cup of coffee each morning--although many of the rooms do have a coffee maker and small fridges.

The Inn serves a generous and tasty breakfast and are very attentive to any dietary restrictions a guest might have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here 5 years ago, and were so impressed, we wrote the first review. We just stayed here again for parent's weekend at JMU, and were reminded why we loved it so much the last time we stayed here. Wonderful, cozy, clean accomodations, with excellent breakfast served by wonderful hosts. The 20 minute drive from Harrisonburg is more than worth it.

We were pleased to see that the Inn won a top choice (sic) award from Trip Advisor - way to go, much deserved!!

Room Tip: The barn rooms were the only ones we have used - all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the upstairs bedrooms of the house for our anniversary and it was perfect. The outdoor views are relaxing and peaceful, much different than lodging downtown (yet only 5 min away). The old house is very welcoming, providing a quiet place to read, converse or rest. The hosts were quite attentive to all our needs and more than helpful in every way. An attractive breakfast was served in the atrium. I would highly recommend The Inn at Old Virginia in every way. While you're in Staunton, take time to visit the Frontier Culture Museum, it was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the house, which I think is a little nicer than the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We liked this place. It was just outside town and we had a view of cows grazing in a field outside our room. As other reviews have mentioned, it is near a highway and rail tracks. We could not hear anything in our barn room which was supplied with a white noise machine that we did not need either. I could definitely hear people in the common room and room next to ours but neither were a bother at night. I think everyone was courteous and aware that sounds carried. The room was comfortable, clean, fresh and pretty as was the bath. The breakfasts were good and the hostesses made sure everything was to our liking. We liked the coffee machine in the main house that enabled us to obtain a hot drink whenever wanted. The black washcloth in the bathroom for removing makeup without staining the white towels was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a great find. The hostesses were wonderful. The setting was beautiful. Everything was just about perfect. We were there in mid-Oct and the trees were turning and were spectacular. Just a great experience in the Staunton area. It was a bit of a task getting used to the Select Comfort bed. Felt a bit like a cross between and air mattress and waterbed. But we slept well so I guess it worked out OK. This was a reeal find on Hotels.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We love the Inn at Old Virginia. We have stayed at many B&Bs in the US, Ireland and Scotland and this is by far the best. Eve is a fantastic Inn Keeper as she made us feel totally welcome. She pays unbelievable attention to details. Our room was immaculately clean and in perfect repair. Breakfast was unbelievable. We will come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

great B & B in the rolling hills around Staunton VA. Lovely, immaculate rooms with friendly, helpful hosts who pay great attention to detail and serve the best breakfast around. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Old Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.