We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USA Road trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Old Virginia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Old Virginia to your Saves list
Inn at Old Virginia
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“USA Road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We could not give this bed and breakfast a higher recommendation. It was absolutely first class. Eve and Deana are perfect hostesses. Breakfasts were very good.
The main house and nearby barn are beautifly furnished and the ambience of the whole property was elegant and relaxing The extensive grounds are professionally maintained.
We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms in the main house and it was excellent in every respect. We would not hesitate to revisit this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
100
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and the place is absolutely beautiful. Eve and Deana were wonderful hostesses and so gracious. Breakfast was delicious, service extremely attentive. The only glitch is that if you stay in one of the lower rooms in the barn, you will hear the people above you walking around, showering, etc. However, a "white noise" machine is providec to help compensate. Certainly the home and grounds are impeccable.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor if you don't like to hear footsteps bove you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Clean, friendly and a great value. Eve, the owner, is lovely and she shows her love for her B&B in the way she keeps the Inn! Accomodating---to diet needs, late arrivals and special requests. From the wine and shortbread upon arrival to the hearty and delicious breakfasts, The Inn at Old Virginia is exactly what a B&B should be. Plenty of local information available, in brochure form and in Eve's head, which she freely shares. Wi-fi is available, but no "high end" TVs or other modern "distractions" (no fitness equipment or pool), which is part of the charm. Clean and comfortable accomodations (don't look for 300 thread count sheets or opulent hot tubs), and at a great value. The weekend special includes $50 to Staunton's restaurants and shops, making a great value outstanding. Relaxing and geographically well placed for wineries, UVA, JMU and Monticello,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A lovely bed & breakfast a short distance from the southern end of Skyline Drive in Staunton. Owner Eve and her staff are welcoming and attentive. Breakfast is delicious, beds are "Comfort number" cozy, amenities great, and room spacious (we stayed in the main house). Staunton has Woodrow Wilson's birthplace and museum, American Shakespeare Center (performances in Globe-copy theater), and lots of good restaurants. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
339 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we saw The Inn, we loved it. The surroundings are beautiful as are the main house and the barn. An ideal setting, serene and set back from the highway so it is peaceful and welcoming.
Deana greeted us and showed us our room in the barn. Eve had upgraded our room as it wasn't being used and she felt it was more quiet than the one in which we had originally been placed. The room overlooked fields with cows grazing and a lovely lake. It had a balcony which was a wonderful setting to have coffee or a glass of wine.
Both the room and bathroom were large, decorated beautifully, exceptionally clean, and every amenity had been provided. In the room itself there was a refrigerator, sink, plates, cups, etc., a coffee machine and coffee.
The bed was a sleep number and both my husband and I slept very well--very quiet and peaceful there.
At breakfast we met Eve, the Inn's owner and she was very friendly and served us a wonderful breakfast in the beautiful breakfast area. Tables were set with silver flat wear and cloth napkins, lovely china---just as you imagine a bed and breakfast should be!
We've been to many bed and breakfasts and this one is at the top of my list. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We were in the barn---on the side with the pasture and I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

As a B&B owner for more than 25 years, I give Inn at Old Virginia an A+ in all categories.

Eve and Deana's hospitality was the best on our recent vacation and Getta's breakfasts
were simply sublime. The attention to every detail was evident in the relaxing rooms
and gorgeous pastoral setting. I felt pampered. But more importantly, we had gained
3 new friends, which is the attribute of an outstanding B&B! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The upsides: very clean, spacious room (in the main house), decent breakfast, hospitable, acommodating & friendly innkeepers
The downsides: avoid staying here if there is a wedding going on as that dominates the whole place with guests arriving and hanging out everywhere, loud band playing late, etc., room was over-airconditioned and was advised that I should not turn it off (one thermostat for both rooms), the inn is on a busy highway so there is significant road noise. Also, I had never slept on a sleep number bed and I am not impressed by it, felt like a cross between a waterbed and an air mattress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Old Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.