We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taylorsville, North Carolina
1 review
“Very Satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed overnight on a trip to PA from NC. Personel were very friendly and price of room was reasonable. The setting of the inn is beautiful and the rooms were clean considering the inn accepts pets. Only drawback is the railroad tracks run very close to the inn and the trains fun at night making it hard to get a full nights sleep but will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    144
    42
    9
    13
See reviews for
150
126
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Some hotels provide clean rooms, some great prices, some friendly staff....My husband and I ended our 7 day trip to Maine stopping in Staunton, Va. This was by far the best hotel we stayed at. We had a huge breakfast included and it was really and extra treat to be next door to the Famous Mrs. Rowe's Family Restuarant. I want to say a special Thanks to Lanika for being so curteous, showing us the room and telling us about the train behind the hotel. I never heard it during my sleep. She was truly a pleasure for our check in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Needed an overnight stop on a long road trip up I-81. This hotel is a stone's throw from the exit (less then a block from the ramp), and we got a terrific price using the roomsaver website. ...and, we were traveling with our dog. That being said, we just weren't expecting much.

I tried to limit my liability by checking out the lobby and the hotel room before checking in. The place was amazingly clean, and well maintained! The staff was very accommodating, too. The front desk attendant honored the promotional price even though I wasn't able to print it out since we were on the road, saving us $30 off the AAA rate!

She advised the rooms with 2DBLs did back to the railroad tracks behind the property and there would be trains passing 2-3 times during the night for about a minute per pass. There are no scheduled times. I was concerned, but it was a complete non-issue. I don't remember it waking me, and even though it was right off the highway, I did not hear any road noise.

The room decor was a bit dated (80's motif on bedspreads/wallpaper), but everything was spotless and well cared for. The sheets seemed new and high quality thread count. The beds were somewhat soft but supportive and not lumpy in the least. The bathroom was clean, clean, clean! Grout lines scrubbed, tub was pristine, and counters and fixtures were new/well kept.

The complimentary breakfast offering was pretty extensive. They had sweet rolls, mini muffins, bagels, toast, frozen waffles/french toast, pre-made omelets, sausage/biscuit sandwiches, yogurt, fresh fruit (oranges/grapefruit/bananas), canned fruit, cereal selections, oatmeal, apple/orange juices, coffee, hot teas, chocolate milk...and I'm sure there is more I'm forgetting. One very pleasant, energetic, attentive woman kept the entire area running like a well-oiled machine. I was thoroughly impressed. If you couldn't find something to eat in this spread, I'd be surprised.

The staff was kind and easy going. There was no hassle having our golden retriever with us, and *no* extra charge. Let me repeat that, NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE! This is so uncommon, it's worth calling out. We phoned several hotels that charged up to $50 additional (per night) for a pet. I was disappointed that there were some piles of pet poop left in the grassy areas around the back of the hotel. When great businesses "throw us a bone" like no pet fees, please return the favor by being a responsible pet owner and scooping the poop :-/

Facility had free wireless internet and an indoor pool as well, but we didn't have time for either. I did see families enjoying an evening swim though. It was a great way to work off some energy for the little ones cooped up in the car all day.

We had a wonderful experience, and would definitely stay here again, and recommend to friends. They have restored my faith in the Best Western chain. BW may not have invested cash in re-branding themselves (like the updated logo and coloring of Holiday Inn Express, etc), but they certainly made an investment in how to run a hotel the right way--great, honest hospitality and commitment to cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pony01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you very much for the nice comments about our hotel and your stay. We try very hard to give our guests the most comfortable and pleasant stay. I did take your suggestion about the dog problem in the back of our hotel and will purchase the pet station to resolve this problem.
Again thank you and I hope we can satifsy your lodging needs in the future.

Joan M. Rush CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Friendly, clean, nice pool, and a nice breakfast.
mac_Cramer@msn.com

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.
The free breakfast was an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It is a very friendly and clean facility. The indoor pool was very clean and warm. The price was right. There are several good restaurants next door. Our favorite is the Cracker Barrel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed there for a week and had some rather eyebrow raising moments...The refrigerator broke three times and kept insisting to fix it instead of replacing it...the shower felt like I was in a hurricane with the pressure but oddly enough I liked that...and after the first week...we get a note in the room saying that their hot water tank has busted and to come to the desk for your options. Well one of those options was to move across the street to their sister motel Sleep Inn, and things went better after that.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Address: 92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.