We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than advertised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than advertised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped by this location on our way through Virginia on the spur of the moment thanks to the lack of driving skills by those on the road around us. It was clean. Bob at the front desk was helpful, and it has the nicest hotel pool I've seen in a long time. It was a departure from our normal business class accommodations and seems to be aimed at Sr. citizen travelers and families. The TV channel selection could be improved to include age appropriate programming for children. My wife and kids did not like the trains passing so close to the hotel through out the night, but really that was the only draw back. Even though the rooms were pet friendly and likely had pets in them at some point, my daughter did not have a reaction.. this is says a lot about the quality job being done by the cleaning staff as she is highly sensitive to even the slightest dander.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the railroad side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of upgrading our TV channels. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay even thought the train was a little noisy. Please keep us in mind on your next visit to VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    97
    35
    7
    13
See reviews for
102
90
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The pool was in great condition and the perfect temp. Breakfast was fine, and there are several vending machines in the building for snacks and soda. I do wish there was juice in one of the machines as we were traveling with children. My only real concern was that we had 4 trains go by during the night. We were warned that there were train tracks near by and had to sign a form stating we knew, but we had no idea how intense it would be. When the trains would pass it would make our ears pop and it was very painful, I would sit straight up in my bed from sleep when the train would pass. It was pretty scary for the kids too. The hotel was great, but not on my list to stay at again but only because of the trains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I was very happy you found our hotel to your satisfaction except the trains. They are unscheduled so we have no idea how many or when but 4 a night is alot. On your next visit please request a front side room and there will be no issue with the trains. Your suggestion about juice is very good as sodas are not the best choice for children or even adults. I will contact our vendor and see if that is a possibility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Newly renovated, comfortable and exceptionally clean. Loved being able to have our dog stay without a fee. Room was well sanitized and smelled fresh! Would never know pets were allowed. Wanted to stay on our return trip but there was no vacancy. Will definitely book ahead next time. Very reasonable rate too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank for you kind remarks. We try to offer the best guest service possible. We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stop here frequently between our home in Virginia and family in Arkansas. The motel is nice, breakfast is always good, and the people friendly. We also love the fact that it is next door to Mrs. Lowe's!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We hope you will continue to visit our hotel on you trips through VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Whenever I visit my daughter in Knoxville, TN I stop at this Best Western. I have never been disappointed in the cleanliness, friendliness of staff and the location is practical to my destination. The rooms are clean and smell fresh. Just what I need after hours on the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for you comments. It is very nice to hear a guest has a relaxing experience as it should be. I hope you will continue to visit us on your trips to TN.

Sincerely,

Joan M. Rush
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Staunton recently. Hotel was great as usual, and a follow up call to make sure the room was satisfactory was nice to receive! Pool was fine as well as breakfast. Will stay again next time in area, and always recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay. I will pass them along to the entire staff. We appreciate your repeat visit and look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is being completely renovated. Our 3rd floor room was cozy, nicely decorated and appointed, and clean as a whistle.
The front desk clerk, Bob, was wonderful and recommended a super restaurant.
Breakfast was more than adequate.
Two cautions: 1. An active railroad is positioned just behind the hotel. I happen to live near a railroad, so this did not disturb me in the least.
2. There was no refrigerator in our room

Room Tip: Elevator is on premises, so any floor works. You may want to request a room that does not abut the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I appreciate your comments about your room on the third floor and the decorations but we have not started the 3rd floor at this date. If you appreciated the decor now you will be very happy on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Address: 92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.