We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a good budget hotel with an accommodating staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
KY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It is a good budget hotel with an accommodating staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family has stayed here several times over the last ten years for mini reunions and it feels a little like home now. The rooms are decent size, could be re-decorated, but clean and that is what matters. The breakfast is well stocked and managed. The front desk has always been very helpful with suggestions for dining and entertainment. This is a pet friendly hotel and many travelers take advantage of that but I have never been kept awake by an animal but have seen many going through lobby, so if that makes you squeamish, skip it. If you have an animal, there is a nice grassy area beside hotel. well located for convenient dining.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the side of the hotel with the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are doing guest room renovations which should be completed soon. Please keep us in mind on your next visit to Virginia and enjoy our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    106
    36
    7
    13
See reviews for
111
97
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed one night and was a clean comfortable room on the side with railroad tracks. The train did not disturb us. Desk clerk Bob called to make sure room was satisfactory. Nice flat screen tv with decent channel choices. Good location. Nice pool. Great breakfast, and friendly lady tending to it. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I am pleased to read your comments concerning your recent visit to the Best Western Staunton Inn. It is nice to see all aspects of your stay were enjoyable.
The hotel is easily located off of Interstate 81 and just a mile from Interstate 64, with several restaurants and shopping nearby.
We look forward to a return visit from you.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. Our room was clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly. There were a few extra perks at check-in e.g. bottle of water, dog biscuit with bag, and even a rubber ducky in the shower. There was construction on floors one and two but that was not an interruption.

Room Tip: Chose a king size bed and there will be extra room for seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Best Western Staunton Inn. I am pleased your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I appreciate you posting your comments for others to read and hope you will allow us to serve your lodging needs should you return to the Staunton area.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging,, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times on route to Florida and always found it satisfactory. This time we however they put us in the back and the train tracks are feet from the building. We heard several trains and at 5 a.m.the train woke us. The room was kinda dirty around the edges the breakfast was not as good. Just not the same. We were disappointed.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am sorry to hear your recent visit was not satisfactory. I apologize for the rooms not being as clean as they have been in the past. I am going to that hotel today and I will look through some rooms to check for any cleanliness issues. We are in the process of doing some renovations to that hotel and have some rooms blocked for work. I am sorry you were given a track side room and the trains disturbed your sleep.
I hope when you return to the area, you will give us the opportunity to show you the service and cleanliness you have come accustomed to at the Best Western Staunton Inn.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Every year our family gathers at the Best Western in Staunton, VA for A wonderful post-Christmas reunion. this year, things were delightfully the same as in years past -clean, pretty rooms, ultra-friendly staff and nice breakfast! Going there every year is like visiting more family;they welcome us back and go out of their way to meet all of our needs. Go, take your kids (nice pool!), bring the old folks, too!

Room Tip: We like the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Kim,
Thanks for your kind words. I am pleased your family visits us each year for a post-Christmas gathering. We are grateful to be a part of the celebration.
We look forward to your visit this coming Christmas, but you do know you don't have to wait so long to visit us or family. We would love to have you anytime.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at this Best Western five times, the most recent being in November as we travelled back to New York after Superstorm Sandy. First of all, it is always very clean and the rooms are well stocked. It is also in a great location right off of I-81, with restaurants and gas stations close by. What makes our stays great though, are the caring staff. They are exceptional. Everyone from Michael at the front desk to Jacque, who takes great pride in her role as "Breakfast Hostess", work hard to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We really appreciate this Inn and we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us on your trips to Staunton. I will pass along your kind words to the entire staff and to Michael and Jacque who take exceptional care of all of our guests.
We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Address: 92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Staunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.