We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy trains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“noisy trains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times on route to Florida and always found it satisfactory. This time we however they put us in the back and the train tracks are feet from the building. We heard several trains and at 5 a.m.the train woke us. The room was kinda dirty around the edges the breakfast was not as good. Just not the same. We were disappointed.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am sorry to hear your recent visit was not satisfactory. I apologize for the rooms not being as clean as they have been in the past. I am going to that hotel today and I will look through some rooms to check for any cleanliness issues. We are in the process of doing some renovations to that hotel and have some rooms blocked for work. I am sorry you were given a track side room and the trains disturbed your sleep.
I hope when you return to the area, you will give us the opportunity to show you the service and cleanliness you have come accustomed to at the Best Western Staunton Inn.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    97
    35
    7
    13
See reviews for
102
90
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Every year our family gathers at the Best Western in Staunton, VA for A wonderful post-Christmas reunion. this year, things were delightfully the same as in years past -clean, pretty rooms, ultra-friendly staff and nice breakfast! Going there every year is like visiting more family;they welcome us back and go out of their way to meet all of our needs. Go, take your kids (nice pool!), bring the old folks, too!

Room Tip: We like the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Kim,
Thanks for your kind words. I am pleased your family visits us each year for a post-Christmas gathering. We are grateful to be a part of the celebration.
We look forward to your visit this coming Christmas, but you do know you don't have to wait so long to visit us or family. We would love to have you anytime.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at this Best Western five times, the most recent being in November as we travelled back to New York after Superstorm Sandy. First of all, it is always very clean and the rooms are well stocked. It is also in a great location right off of I-81, with restaurants and gas stations close by. What makes our stays great though, are the caring staff. They are exceptional. Everyone from Michael at the front desk to Jacque, who takes great pride in her role as "Breakfast Hostess", work hard to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We really appreciate this Inn and we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us on your trips to Staunton. I will pass along your kind words to the entire staff and to Michael and Jacque who take exceptional care of all of our guests.
We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the small staff are very friendly. If you need anything they take care of you. Fast wireless internet for free. Continental breakfast is soso, but at least they have options on the food. Coffee is just ok, but free all day. I would recommend, good value for your dollar.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are very happy you found our staff accommodating. We strive to offer the best customer service possible. I am sorry the breakfast was not satisfactory. Please consider our hotel in your future traveling plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white stone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. we enjoyed the fresh fruit on the breakfast bar ! The house cleaning staff and front desk staffwere friendly. Patsy was helpful in getting something we left returned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning the stay at the Best Western in Staunton. Our staff strives to offer the best customer service possible and we are happy you enjoyed out continental breakfast. Please keep us in mind on future visits to Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Address: 92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.