We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
white stone
1 review
“GREAT STAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. we enjoyed the fresh fruit on the breakfast bar ! The house cleaning staff and front desk staffwere friendly. Patsy was helpful in getting something we left returned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning the stay at the Best Western in Staunton. Our staff strives to offer the best customer service possible and we are happy you enjoyed out continental breakfast. Please keep us in mind on future visits to Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    125
    38
    8
    13
See reviews for
126
109
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NoVa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here -- as it was close to the highway, had free breakfast & offered the amenities we needed. It is an older property, but it worked for my traveling companion & myself -- as we were out & about most of the weekend anyway.

Front Desk staff was kind & check out was easy. If the free (continental) breakfast isn't your thing -- wake up early before you are hungry & get in line for Cracker Barrel -- as it's next door ;). The free breakfast was good enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your commments and we are happy you found you accommodations satisfactory. Our staff strives to offer the best customer service possible and we do hope you choose Best Western for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolensville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On October 20th, we were traveling from Tennessee to Norfolk, Va. and had planned to stop in Staunton for the night. Little did we know that everything in Staunton was booked and also booked in the surrounding areas. We had someone in our party who was on oxygen and needed to stop for the night so he could use his continuous oxygen container and also to fill up the portable containers we had with us. After checking at several places in the area, he was getting a little nervous (which makes his breathing worse)because we were unable to find a room.

We stopped at the Best Western Staunton Inn and I went in and asked about a room. Of course, they were booked solid. I then asked if there was a room or something where he could plug in his major unit to get some continuous oxygen for a while. They told us we could come in and sit in the lobby and showed us where to plug up his unit.

I just want to let you know that the two people at the front desk that night, Larissa and Bob, went out of their way to help us. They called several places for us trying to find lodging for us. They were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful.

Luckily, someone cancelled right before 10 pm. and we got a room for the night. Everyone was friendly. The breakfast was nicely set up and there was a good variety of foods to eat. I would recommend this Best Western to anyone.

Thank you, Larissa and Bob!!!! May God bless you! Thanks, the Hicks and Armstrong clan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very pleased that my front desk staff went out of their way to help someone in need. I hope you do plan to return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the outside and the lobby, this place looks pretty well kept. Unfortunately, our room stunk, had a broken heater/air conditioner, and worst of all, was infested with dangerous mold. It is hard to describe the odor that pervaded the room, but it smelled somewhat like a combination of heavy cigarette smoke and cheap, musky cologne. Note that this was a non-smoking room. Turning the fan on seemed to help somewhat. Unfortunately, the fan was the only thing that worked on the heater/air conditioning unit Luckily, the temperature outside was very moderate so this wasn't a major issue. However, the black and green mold that we found mold near the front door, above the bathroom door, and in numerous places in the bathroom WAS a major issue as it exposed us to dangerous mold-related heath issues. I informed the front desk of the mold we discovered the following morning at checkout and showed them the pictures that I took. The woman at the desk apologized and asked me what I would like them to do. I asked her to comp the room and she did, albeit reluctantly. Unfortunately, when it comes to mold, especially the very dangerous, toxic black mold, a free night isn't enough to bump this hotel up past 1 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am very sorry for the problem you had with your room - we did have a very unexpected situation with extreme moisture. The problems occuring from the moisture appeared without warning as we would not knowingly rent a room with any discrepancies. We immediately addressed the problem and have it resolved again I am very sorry and wish you would e-mail me so I may address this with you personally. bw48lm91@yahoo.com

Joan Rush
Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a room with two double beds. We'd prefer a king size bed, but none were available this weekend. The room was away from the railroad tracks. It was a nice room and included a small refrigerator & microwave. The breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We hope we can satisfy you lodging needs in the future

Joan M. Rush
Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

clean big room. they tell you at check in about the trains and I think 2 went past but really didn't bother me as I've lived in big cities with worse noises. they accepted our little dog with no problem and have a nice area for her to walk out of the way of traffic and quiet. breakfast was ample and service personnel very pleasant. Its worth staying here to go downtown to staunton for dining. ate at the byers st. bistro and it was excellent. downtown looks like a cute place to wander for a few hours as they have many interesting shops and restored buildings. looks like its still an active railroad town. we will stay here when we come back on I81 and definitely spend a few daylight hours in town.

Room Tip: I guess if you reserve in advance they give you rooms further away from the trains. we came in late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We appreciate you comments. We will be doing major updating of our guest rooms this winter. Yes Staunton is a great place to visit as is the entire area in this part of VA. Please give us another opportunity to be a part of you next visit to VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

After driving all day, was looking forward to the pool. Ladder was horrible. Very narrow, tipped and almost could not get out of pool. Had Texas Steakhouse next door recommended for dinner, awful. Not many restaurants near by. Had to eat in the hall for breakfast! Very uncomfortable feeling with people checking out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am very sorry you were not satisfied with you stay at the Best Western in Staunton, I must mention that the ladder in the pool is standard and has been in the pool for years,
We are working on moving the breakfast bar from our lobby.
Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Address: 92 Rowe Rd, PO Box 37, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#4 Family Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.